Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ageless and Evergreen
When Barbra and Barry Gibb released Guilty in 1980, it became an instant smash, and gave Barbra her only #1 single ‘Woman In Love’ (recently destroyed by the blonde one from Atomic Kitten). Since then, it has remained one of her best loved albums by fans and her best selling disc. So when Columbia Records announced in early 2005 that the duo were to reunited...
Published on 25 Feb. 2006 by Dan

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed put CD in player last night and it jumped ...
CD arrived in a smashed plastic case, only a sticker to keep closed. Very disappointed put CD in player last night and it jumped consistently on the first track so put another CD in player to see if it was the machine however that played perfectly.
Published 5 months ago by moles


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ageless and Evergreen, 25 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Guilty Too (Audio CD)
When Barbra and Barry Gibb released Guilty in 1980, it became an instant smash, and gave Barbra her only #1 single ‘Woman In Love’ (recently destroyed by the blonde one from Atomic Kitten). Since then, it has remained one of her best loved albums by fans and her best selling disc. So when Columbia Records announced in early 2005 that the duo were to reunited in the studio for Guilty Too (or Guilty Pleasures in the US), the excitement amongst Streisand fans was high. Could Barbra and Barry match or even better their original Grammy award winning accomplishment?
Well, in an answer – not quite – but full marks for trying. The truth is Guilty One (that’s what I call it now) is one of those albums that cannot and should not be improved on. It was released when Barbra was basking in the glory of her late 1970’s smash hits with Donna Summer and Neil Diamond, and found a new fan base with her movie ‘A Star Is Born’. On Guilty One, Barbra’s vocal performances on tracks like ‘Promises’ and ‘Make It Like A Memory’ (a personal favourite) have stood the test of time, and following the decline of disco music in 1979, The Bee Gees needed a voice and production that could showcase their musical abilities.
But what Guilty Too has accomplished is bringing two talents back together for the sheer enjoyment of each others company and appreciation of their talents.
Guilty Too has standout tracks, in particular ‘Stranger In A Strange Land’, giving Barbra one of her greatest vocal performances for some time. Her cover of ‘Our Love Don’t Throw It Away’ is outstanding and should have been pushed as a single. ‘Night Of My Life’ sees Barbra doing dance – yes dance! - Why surprised? she did have successes with ‘No More Tears’, ‘Main Event’ and ‘Emotion’. If you are able to obtain the single for ‘Come Tomorrow’, you will have the Love To Infinity remix of ‘Night’, which is a great and should have been included on the bonus disc. ‘Letting Go’ is simply brilliant. Reminiscent to ‘Answer Me’ from ‘Streisand Superman’, Barbra’s control on the high notes shows that her voice is still immaculate. Other highlights include ‘Above The Law’, a sort of sequel to ‘Guilty’, and in my opinion should have been the single instead of ‘Come Tomorrow’. Both of these tracks are duets with Barry. ‘All The Children’ has that rock feel much like ‘Life Story’ (from Guilty One) and ‘Golden Dawn’ is superb.
Guilty Too has attained platinum status in the UK and has sold well worldwide. I would recommend this to all Barbra fans as this will no doubt be a valued edition to that collection. However, if you just starting your Streisand CD collection, I would recommend you purchase the original Guilty before trying this.
Guilty Too is a wonderful album and deserves success. It is great to hear Barbra perform on a pop orientated album – and Barry Gibb has risen to the challenge of producing whom many consider the greatest female vocalist of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her best for 20 years... a guilty pleasure, 23 Sept. 2005
By 
This review is from: Guilty Too (Audio CD)
As anyone who loved 1980's 'Guilty' is aware, few producers understand Streisand's voice as well as Gibb. He presents THE VOICE in musical landscapes, rich in mood and atmosphere.
'Guilty Too' presents the evolution of 2 great talents 25 years after their the first collaboration and the results are mesmerising (i have to say i was shocked at how good this album was!!)
Every track is a standout with single potential. From the dramatic chord changes and haunting melody of 'Stranger in a Strange Land' to the mellow samba of 'Hideaway' Streisand has rarely sounded better since the 70's.
The 2 Gibb duets 'Come Tomorrow' and 'Above the law' are pure gold, both reigniting the magic they shared on 'Guilty'.
Other standout cuts are the awesome dance track (yes Streisand doing dance!!) 'Night of my life' a deep-base floorfiller already being mixed for the clubs by renound DJ Junoir Vasquez and the George Michael inspired 'Golden Dawn' with its sensual brazillian feel.
Also the stunning 'With or without your love' with a soaring Streisand vocal and the albums beautiful closer 'Letting go' possibly Gibb's finest composition which Streisand performs to perfection.
This is more than a reunion or sequel album, its a stunning project in its own right. I can honestly say its probaly the finest Streisand album for 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilt-Edged Security, 14 April 2010
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Too (Audio CD)
"Guilty Too" (2005) was a twenty-fifth anniversary follow-up to the original "Guilty" album that saw the marriage of the two giant creative talents that are Barbra and Barry. The original was one of those rare albums where virtually every track was a classic. "Guilty Too" is not in that league, and my initial reaction was one of disappointment. But in fact, there are no duff tracks on this album at all, and three songs are worth five stars, in my opinion.

At sixty-four Streisand is still sounding good. Most of the songs are written by Barry Gibb with two of his sons, Ashley and Stephen. The production, led by Barry Gibb, is of the usual high standard, and had to be, for in his biography `Barbra; The Way She Is', Christopher Andersen says that Streisand "once again demanded retake after retake after exhausting retake" in her quest for perfection. There are excellent and varied arrangements: for example, the laid back `It's up to You' leads into a disco `Night of My Life', before we then have a cocktail-baresque `Above the Law' and then an Andrew Lloyd Webber-sounding `Without Your Love'. But all of these are within a consistent overall soundworld.

Like the original album, there are two duets with Barry Gibb, the first `Come Tomorrow' is no `Guilty', but it has strengths nevertheless, whilst the other `Above the Law' has some wonderful lines, like "The end of my rainbow is outside your window". The Gibbs' good lyrical sense is also present in the opening of `Hideaway' and also in `Night of My Life'. The single `Stranger in a Strange Land' benefits from vocalised brass pulses, as does `All the Children'. This latter track ends brilliantly and powerfully as Streisand's voice repeatedly rises up and drops down over a sustained chord in the orchestra, a sustained rhythm, and Barry Gibb's vocal line. And we have a bonus in the shape of Streisand's rendition of a 1970s Bee Gees classic `(Our Love) Don't Throw It All Away'.

In my mind, this is one of the best Streisand albums in years, and one hopes it is not too long before these two powerhouses get together again for a third album, `Guilt-Free'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Pleasures, 10 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Guilty Too (Audio CD)
Being fan for many years(since Guilty) I was glad to hear these two greats were teaming up again. The ony reason that this album and the two(so far) singles haven't been best sellers of the year is because of her lack of promotion in he UK.
That aside, I have nothing but praise for this album and at the moment the standout track, for me, is Our Love(Throwing it all away), call me old fashioned but these are songs you can sing along too and share with your partner. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bee Gees fan, 22 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Guilty Too (Audio CD)
Played it once, love it. In fact, on the first listen it is actually better than any Bee Gees album after one play. Despite all the tradegy in Barry Gibb's life, he has bounced back with a set of truly fantastic songs, aided by Streisand's excellent voice. Go and buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars faultless, 27 Sept. 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "hamble" (somewhere in west europe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guilty Too (Audio CD)
anyone who has a titter of wit will feel indifference towards streisand the political agitator, the mouthpiece, the drama queen, the egotist.

but few can have anything but respect for streisand the artist.

each song in this album is a little gem, with streisand the perfectionist cutting each jewel of a track till it shines.

1. "come tomorrow" - a country-tinged disco duet with barry gibb, simply arranged and beautifully sung
2. "stranger in a strange land" - soft and romantic and crafted for the streisand voice
3. "hideaway" - one of the album's highlights. deceptively simple, but with a gorgeous saxophone solo at 2:28
4. "it's up to you" - pleasant and soothing
5. "night of my life" - streisand does disco. it sounds a little forced and old-fashioned by today's standards, but it sits suitably into this album
6. "above the law" - the natural follow-up track to "guilty". another duet with barry gibb, this flows along well
7. "without your love" - a pleasant enough ditty, with an easy flowing b-section at 1:20
8. "all the children" - more rocky, more ascerbic. i'm not sure what the lyrics mean - probably very little - but still a good song
9. "golden dawn" - another of the album's highlights. gently flowing, somehow reminding me cabaret on a cruise liner (not necessarily a bad thing)
10. "our love (don't throw it all away)" - a cover of andy gibb's hit, but a much better version. could have been a single.
11. "letting go" - my least favourite track - without the streisand voice you wouldn't spit at this track; with the voice it is lifted from mediocrity to somewhere very special

"guilty" was a great, enjoyable, eminently listenable-to album. "guilty too" follows it in spades.

"guilty three" would be a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not guilty 2! but close!, 20 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guilty Too (Audio CD)
anyone who has ever had the pleasure of listening to guilty will know its a huge event! perfect beyond perfection!

after 25 years babs and barry try to relive the same formula - its good very good...but a the spark of perfection just isnt there!

barbra and barrys voices blend perfectly! barbra swoops and soars in her amazing vocal range like no other can! "guilty 1" was so amazing nothing would get close....and although i cant put my finger on it..something is missing..something magical..spiritual!

its a great album! perfect vocals! it may sound a bit formulated! its been done before and nothing could compare! however its a great album and i hope they try guilty 3!!! however its the best album by miss babs since "guilty 1" and if the first album wasnt so amazing im sure this would be up there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a follow on, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Too (Audio CD)
I am in total awe of these two exceptional people.

Buying the first 'Guilty' album donkeys years ago I never believed it could be bettered, and I was right, but the sequel is not trying to better the first. In the words of Barry Gibb "We didn't want another Guilty, only to have some fun". Boy, once I realised this was not to be a clone of the first I listened with new ears, and do I love this album.

To be fair to these artists, whatever they did would be compared with the first album. If it was the same people would complain "It's just a copy of the first". If different they would complain "It's not like the original one".

Dammed if they did and dammed if they didn't.

Listen to it with new ears and you can immerse yourself in the delight that is the magic between them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty of a wonderful album!, 29 Sept. 2005
By 
Mr. D. J. Woolrich (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guilty Too (Audio CD)
After "Guilty" all those years ago, it would be a hard act to follow. However Barry and Barbara has managed this. Although the songs are quite "wordy" Barbara's voice and Barry's backing vocals really do work wonderfully. It is so nice to have an album that is absoltely new without any tired old covers. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Streisand's Finest Solo Album Since 'Guilty'!, 23 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Guilty Too (Audio CD)
There was much hype and anticipation surrounding the release of 'Guilty Too' and the album certainly lived up to those expectations! Streisand and Barry Gibb's second album collaboration presented a well produced collection of songs across several musical genres. From the power ballad 'Stranger In A Strange Land' to the high charged disco number 'Night Of My Life', to the soft bossa nova feel of 'Golden Dawn'. A personal highlight was Streisand's cover of the Bee Gees / Andy Gibb song '(Our Love) Don't Throw It All Away' which Barbra truly makes her own. The closing number 'Letting Go' is extremely touching and sentimental.

All in all, 'Guilty Too' ticked all the boxes and stands up as one of Streisand's finest album achievements,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guilty Too
Guilty Too by Barbra Streisand (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews