Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great but no surprises
The importance of janes addiction as an alt-rock trailblazer should not be underestimated, the '87 live album on XXX and the '88 Nothings Shocking being, in the context of the time, truely groundbreaking. Of course now that's getting on for 20 years ago, but still the music stands on its merits, rather than just the initial novelty - if you're looking for an...
Published on 21 Feb. 2007 by spam

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
I brought this album as a friend of mine said they were a great group and I would love them. I didn't listen to them I just brought this album as it seemed to have good reviews. However I do not like it one bit. I would not say it is rubbish, it is just not my type of music. A fan of them may rate this higher, but for me I give it 2 stars as its not my thing.
I can...
Published 8 days ago by StellaArtois Sr


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up From The Catacombs: The Best Of Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
I brought this album as a friend of mine said they were a great group and I would love them. I didn't listen to them I just brought this album as it seemed to have good reviews. However I do not like it one bit. I would not say it is rubbish, it is just not my type of music. A fan of them may rate this higher, but for me I give it 2 stars as its not my thing.
I can not fault the seller as it was dispatched very quickly and packaged well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great but no surprises, 21 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Up From The Catacombs: The Best Of Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
The importance of janes addiction as an alt-rock trailblazer should not be underestimated, the '87 live album on XXX and the '88 Nothings Shocking being, in the context of the time, truely groundbreaking. Of course now that's getting on for 20 years ago, but still the music stands on its merits, rather than just the initial novelty - if you're looking for an introduction to Janes Addiction, look no further. Having said that, you can get ALL their 6 albums (the XXX release, Nothings Shocking, Ritual, Kettle Whistle, the live & rare compilation and Strays) for a total of about 20 quid these days - this compilation contains nothing new, the difference in sound quality is minor, and if you get the set, you can discover all the wonderful gems that didn't make it onto Catacombs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great best of intro to the band, 8 Nov. 2012
They really are a great band, with quirky vocals and great guitar.
You could just buy the albums, but this is great on my mp3 player, with tracks standing up when on shuffle.
I recently downloaded Blind Man's Vision Sometimes the Light Never Comes, but other wise there is nothing else quite like this band.
Give it a few listens, well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars try not to steal this one, 5 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up From The Catacombs: The Best Of Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
An almost perfect collection of the best songs from Perry Farrell's misfits. If you've ever liked a Jane's Addiction song, but never quite made it to the status of die-hard fan, chances are it'll be on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CD, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up From The Catacombs: The Best Of Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
Good album, now of some age but certainly does not sound like it. I only have this album by them so not sure if its their best work or not, but I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A "best of" cd from a band with only 3 albums???, 10 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Up From The Catacombs: The Best Of Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
OK, I will be the first to admit that technically they released 4 albums, but the first release was just a live album of "Nothing's Shocking" so that don't count!!!

But the point remains, Janes Addiction were an awesome band & wrote great songs for the albums Nothing Shocking & Ritual de lo Habitual. The comeback album Strays was JA trying to be something that they weren't & for me it didn't work.

So with that said it's very hard to knock this best of effort cos it's filled with great songs...it's just if you are looking to buying this album you'll probably have Nothings Shocking & Ritual de lo Habitual already, so what's the point?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...not as big and clever as they thought they were..., 1 Oct. 2006
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Up From The Catacombs: The Best Of Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
Jane's Addiction were never as big and clever as they thought they were. Full of their own self importance, they did, however, manage to come up with 3 or 4 good songs, which is a reasonable return, and more than many bands ever achieve. It seems a reasonable return from four albums until you remember that their first and last albums - "Jane's Addiction" and "Strays" have little to recommend them.

And that is why 11 of the 16 tracks offered on this compilation come from "Nothing Shocking" and "Ritual de lo Habitual". And if you already own those albums, then you don't need anything else.

For the record their good songs are the obvious ones - "Mountain Song", "Been Caught Stealing" and "Stop" - but I've always had a soft spot for "Classic Girl", so I'm sneaking that one in as well. Of the other tracks I'm only drawn to "Superhero" and that's probably because I hear it every week when I desperately try to find ITV2, in order to watch "Entourage".

If you've always wondered about Jane's Addiction, then this does its job. It's a good introduction to their music. Just don't go in thinking its going to change your world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up From The Catacombs: The Best Of Jane's Addiction
Up From The Catacombs: The Best Of Jane's Addiction by Jane's Addiction (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews