Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars9
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2015
A great introduction for first timers to a groundbreaking and original band. Get this, love it and then get the studio albums too. The sound quality on this is far superior to the original studio albums (which were great) but everything is much clearer and reveals more of the music if you listen. Its a shame that the original albums have not been given the same treatment, 'cmon Rhino. I don't think the originals have ever been remastered besides the 'Gold' HD edition of 'Nothing's Shocking' which was available in limited quantities through some mail order club which I don't own, yet .These are overdue compared to the number of Led Zep re--issues with each increasing in price that we seem to be subjected too But based on how this sounds I will look to get that too at some point. Has anyone else noticed that the song 'Superhero' is not listed on the artwork or cd besides the sticker on the front? Oh and be sure to check out Warrior Soul cds (another underrated band of the same period, more punk/metal than JA and from NY but just as good)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2007
The importance of janes addiction as an alt-rock trailblazer should not be underestimated, the '87 live album on XXX and the '88 Nothings Shocking being, in the context of the time, truely groundbreaking. Of course now that's getting on for 20 years ago, but still the music stands on its merits, rather than just the initial novelty - if you're looking for an introduction to Janes Addiction, look no further. Having said that, you can get ALL their 6 albums (the XXX release, Nothings Shocking, Ritual, Kettle Whistle, the live & rare compilation and Strays) for a total of about 20 quid these days - this compilation contains nothing new, the difference in sound quality is minor, and if you get the set, you can discover all the wonderful gems that didn't make it onto Catacombs
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
An almost perfect collection of the best songs from Perry Farrell's misfits. If you've ever liked a Jane's Addiction song, but never quite made it to the status of die-hard fan, chances are it'll be on this album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
They really are a great band, with quirky vocals and great guitar.
You could just buy the albums, but this is great on my mp3 player, with tracks standing up when on shuffle.
I recently downloaded Blind Man's Vision Sometimes the Light Never Comes, but other wise there is nothing else quite like this band.
Give it a few listens, well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
Good album, now of some age but certainly does not sound like it. I only have this album by them so not sure if its their best work or not, but I like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
I brought this album as a friend of mine said they were a great group and I would love them. I didn't listen to them I just brought this album as it seemed to have good reviews. However I do not like it one bit. I would not say it is rubbish, it is just not my type of music. A fan of them may rate this higher, but for me I give it 2 stars as its not my thing.
I can not fault the seller as it was dispatched very quickly and packaged well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
Plenty of hits, good value album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2006
OK, I will be the first to admit that technically they released 4 albums, but the first release was just a live album of "Nothing's Shocking" so that don't count!!!

But the point remains, Janes Addiction were an awesome band & wrote great songs for the albums Nothing Shocking & Ritual de lo Habitual. The comeback album Strays was JA trying to be something that they weren't & for me it didn't work.

So with that said it's very hard to knock this best of effort cos it's filled with great songs...it's just if you are looking to buying this album you'll probably have Nothings Shocking & Ritual de lo Habitual already, so what's the point?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Jane's Addiction were never as big and clever as they thought they were. Full of their own self importance, they did, however, manage to come up with 3 or 4 good songs, which is a reasonable return, and more than many bands ever achieve. It seems a reasonable return from four albums until you remember that their first and last albums - "Jane's Addiction" and "Strays" have little to recommend them.

And that is why 11 of the 16 tracks offered on this compilation come from "Nothing Shocking" and "Ritual de lo Habitual". And if you already own those albums, then you don't need anything else.

For the record their good songs are the obvious ones - "Mountain Song", "Been Caught Stealing" and "Stop" - but I've always had a soft spot for "Classic Girl", so I'm sneaking that one in as well. Of the other tracks I'm only drawn to "Superhero" and that's probably because I hear it every week when I desperately try to find ITV2, in order to watch "Entourage".

If you've always wondered about Jane's Addiction, then this does its job. It's a good introduction to their music. Just don't go in thinking its going to change your world.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.78

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)