Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


297 of 306 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catch Phrase DVD Game
Great fun, just like the show. The kid's can join in with the adults. Real family entertainment and so easy. Just insert the DVD in to the DVD player and you are talked through setp by step.
It was great not to have to read instructions for twenty minutes before you can start the game.
Excellent value for money and good fun. Loads of catch phrases, not had the...
Published on 11 Oct 2005

versus
62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So much potential, so disappointing
I bought this game with high hopes. I was bitterly disappointed :(
The gameplay is excessively slooooow, it takes 10 seconds between each question/answer/score screen, there's no background music at all, the scoring is poor, narration limited to three or four sayings and some of the catchphrases WEREN'T CATCHPHRASES at all!!! This game had so much potential...
Published on 23 Mar 2006 by amazonuser0603


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So much potential, so disappointing, 23 Mar 2006
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Catchphrase DVD Game (DVD)
I bought this game with high hopes. I was bitterly disappointed :(
The gameplay is excessively slooooow, it takes 10 seconds between each question/answer/score screen, there's no background music at all, the scoring is poor, narration limited to three or four sayings and some of the catchphrases WEREN'T CATCHPHRASES at all!!! This game had so much potential to be "fast and furious" but failed miserably. Keep your "ready money round" your wallet. Played it once, won't bother with it again.
NOT recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pants!, 29 Mar 2006
By 
Ms. H. J. Lee (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Catchphrase DVD Game (DVD)
Loved the show so very disappointed in the game. Only takes about 5 minutes to actually play a full game with two teams and quickly gets boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


297 of 306 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catch Phrase DVD Game, 11 Oct 2005
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Catchphrase DVD Game (DVD)
Great fun, just like the show. The kid's can join in with the adults. Real family entertainment and so easy. Just insert the DVD in to the DVD player and you are talked through setp by step.
It was great not to have to read instructions for twenty minutes before you can start the game.
Excellent value for money and good fun. Loads of catch phrases, not had the same catch phrase twice yet after several games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed., 11 Feb 2006
By A Customer
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Catchphrase DVD Game (DVD)
We debated which game to buy for a family get together and decided on this one after reading the reviews etc. Very slow, kept thinking we hadn't pushed button properly on remote and pushed again, but is just dvd being slow and so missed a bit as it skipped due to second press. Thought this game was a let down and probably won't be playing it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that exciting : (, 6 Jan 2006
By A Customer
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Catchphrase DVD Game (DVD)
I was very excited by this game after reading the reviews and the game description. However, I felt a little bit let down when my partner and I began to play. The catchphrases and graphics were good, and the instructions were easy to understand, but it just lacked a bit of excitement. The phrases that the commentator used were quite repetitive and the whole game just seemed quite cumbersome. We have only played this game once, but I would not be in a hurry to put it on again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please rework this game, 18 Nov 2006
By 
Helen (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catchphrase DVD Game (DVD)
Please Roy Walker or Nick Weir could you please remake the DVD game as what Jim and Tony did to Bullseye. Catchphrase is been mashed up by Upstarts, the company that has no clue as to how the original game shows work and the rules. This version is so slow and the same catchphrases appear all of the time. Only thing good about is Mr Chips stars in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Say what you are - Bored, 14 Mar 2006
By A Customer
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Catchphrase DVD Game (DVD)
Avoid this one at all costs. It doesn't translate at all well to a DVD game. Scoring system is basic and flawed... Only play if you have trouble getting to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These guys cannot make a game for toffee..., 6 Feb 2006
This review is from: Catchphrase: Catch Phrase DVD Interactive Game (DVD)
I thought Bullseye was bad but this looks like it was thrown together in a matter of minutes. I recommend you never buy any DVD game made by UPSTARTS. They are badly put together and play really badly. As with no Jim Bowen on Bullseye we don't get any Roy Walker on this one either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the TV show, 16 Jan 2006
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Catchphrase DVD Game (DVD)
I thought this game was going to be great ! A real party winner. But how let down were we???? The game is pretty slow paced, some of the catchphrases bizzare, game play repetative and most of all, lasts about 15 minutes. My partner and I played it and at the end of the game said - Is that it????
Not worth more than £10 of anyones money.
Real disappointment, it could have been a really cheesey, fun game to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No fun at all!!!, 15 Nov 2007
By 
i wrote this "i did" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Catchphrase: Catch Phrase DVD Interactive Game (DVD)
Like most DVD games this is far too slow to be entertaining. The lag between pressing a button on the remote and anything happening on screen sucks any fun that this game might otherwise have promised.
If you really want a fun family quiz game get Buzz for the Playstation 2. It's easy to play, fast past and has a variety of rounds. It's a lot of fun to play, everything that the Catch Phrase DVD game isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Catchphrase: Catch Phrase DVD Interactive Game
11.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews