Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars16
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2008
This is a brilliant album and a must for any lover of Jimmy Smith's groovy Hammond sounds. Lalo Schifrin is the musical director of a top class big band and Jimmy just shines in front of them. The title track comes from the classic French movie Joy Time which stars Alain Delon and Jane Fonda. If you love that real sixties feel then just buy this and enjoy.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
This is a must-have for anyone who appreciates the development of jazz. A big-band sound featuring excellent musicians, including Kenny Burrell on guitar and Grady Tate on drums, arranged and conducted by Lalo Schifrin releases Jimmy Smith to explode with his dynamic Hammond organ through film theme tunes ("Joy House", "The Carpetbaggers")and arrangements of such classics as "St.Louis Blues" - I bet you've never heard it played like this - "Basin Street Blues" and "Blues In The Night". At times pleading and wailing, then driving and demanding but always dynamic Jimmy Smith gives everything and leaves you wanting more. The clincher is the title track, which just has to be the coolest piece of playing I've ever heard and surely inspired many keyboard players with it's funky sound. Hey and the cover is pretty damned cool too !
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2010
Just to add one more endorsement to reviewers' comments above, this album's sixties grooviness goes beyond the three cuts from THE LOVE CAGE soundtrack. Jimmy Smith and Lalo Schifrin's arrangement here of the main theme/titles from THE CARPETBAGGERS (side 1, band 4) is perhaps better known by UK TV viewers as the theme from BBC2 TV's long-running weekly show on finance and economic news, THE MONEY PROGRAMME.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
I struggle to find the words to describe what an amazing record this is. Like '1827grumpy' above, I first heard of it and bought an LP back in the early '60s soon after I started work in an ad studio. I loved all the pop music around at the time, including Beatles, Stones, Who, Beach Boys - but this was something so extraordinarily powerful, brilliant and majestic, I was completely bowled over.

Jimmy Smith's virtuoso playing is the rippling pulse of this music, but the incredible richness, colour, depth and punch that Lalo Schifrin summons from his orchestra? band? is something awesome, and quite unlike any other music I have heard. The whole ensemble generates such tremendous excitement and joyous swing, and it never fails to deliver that explosive power to my ears even after all these years.

Some of the personnel under Schifrin's baton - Thad Jones, Marky Markowitz, Snooky Young, Jimmy Cleveland, Jimmy Buffington, Bill Correa, Don Butterfield, Kenny Burrell, etc, etc., each has a voice and a telling part to play, thanks to LS's truly stunning arrangements, with for me the greatest drummer ever - Grady Tate - weaving it all together with his intricate, clever rhythms and driving beat.

The music is blues based, with some familiar work-horses - Basin Street, St. Louis, Blues in the Night - and a new one 'Delon's Blues' written by Smith, together with some sparkling contemporary themes - The Cat, Joy House, Carpetbaggers and Chicago Serenade.

Even after all these years this is still knock-out and unique music.

As an extra treat - I'm sure Verve must have recognised how special this recording is and have honoured it with a very beautifully packaged CD.

Truly something to treasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
Jimmy Smith is brilliant but the balance of the recording wasn't very good . Consequently the backing band was overpowering the organ on occasions. Otherwise thoroughly enjoyable
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
Jimmy Smith was a hugely influential and successful musician in the 60's and 70's and completely re-wrote the rule book for jazz organ players. He was, if anything, possibly over-hyped in his heyday,but he could really generate some almighty powerful swing from his chosen instrument.Provided with massively supportive big band backings, Smith swings like crazy through some very powerful arrangements on this CD, which certainly has stood up well over the passage of time,and is well worth the modest investment needed to acquire it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Should have bought this 50 years ago!
Bought Monster in the 60's, which has remained one of my favourites ever since, but never explored Jimmy Smith any further until now, when I find my musical tastes have gone full cycle.
The Cat has some great tracks which you can either become involved with or leave as background. Which ever way, you have to wonder at and admire Jimmy Smith's virtuosity on the Hammond organ. This album is as relevant now as it was back in 64.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
I bought this because it had the Cat and Basin Street Blues on but I was delighted to find that the theme to the Carpet Baggers is the music that they used for the original BBC Money Programme. Stick it on headphones and play loud.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
Jimmy Smiths music makes a complete change to everything else and easy to listen to, but its not the modern music of today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
This CD I bought many years ago as an LP, and I loved it then and still do now. Good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)