Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2001
This is one of my most favourite albums. The liner notes, both the original unacredited notes but presumbly by producer Jim Davis, and Phil Bailey's reissue notes, are much what you would expect on an album from one of jazz's greatest trios. Pure extascy. Both speak of Peterson's incredible virtuosity, and the seamlessness of the trio. Both compliments are certainly deserved, but the excesive laudation does get in the way of appreciatinq a truly fantastic recording.
That's not to say that the music is not well above par. It certainly is. They even brinq a new face to the Girl From Ipanema. The solo voices are also very well developed. In each tune the soloist actually has something to say - whether it be Peterson, Brown or Thigpen - and the remaining players don't hold him back or try to dominate. Its not an understatement to describe "We Get Requests" as exhibiting the famed synchronicity of the Oscar Peterson Trio's live performances.
pk.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 August 2007
This 1965 recording from the Oscar Peterson Trio is a mostly laid back affair. Although there are a few tracks where the virtuoso Peterson shines through, a lot of the time this is a very controlled set. However on 'Goodbye J.D.' the virtuoso Peterson reminds us just how much Piano he could play. This swings like hell and builds up a real of head steam.

There are quite a few important Oscar Peterson albums you should buy ahead of this one. For example, if you haven't got Night Train, The Trio, Tracks or A La Salle pleyel (1975) you really shouldn't be considering this album. However this IS a fine album that any fan will want to buy, and it would serve as good starter to Oscar Peterson' great talent.

With Oscar is one of his best ever Trios. Ray Brown is on bass and Ed Thigpen is on drums.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2008
We Get Requests is a 'Diet' version of Oscar Peterson. The majority of his albums 'wow' the listener and, sometimes, they are left unconnected and overwhelmed when swamped by Oscar's furious techical ability. Not in this album, however.

If you are new to the world of Oscar Peterson, or perhaps feel as though you would like to explore a different, more sensitive side to his playing then this album is perfect for you. In all the tracks Oscar is contained. He never shifts into a high gear. He seems somewhat limited. But this is all to good effect.

The album is addictve: it is so easy to listen to. The Trio is performing as a unit to the highest of levels. Brown and Thigpen are so tight in the background that they take Peterson's piano to a new dimension. It is unusual, especially for Oscar, that he doesn't explore the piano AT ALL - his left hand provides a chordal accompaniment and his right hand remains in the upper octaves of the piano, but this only increases the 'catchiness' and lightness of the pieces.

Quiet Night of Quiet Stars* is a tremendous start to the album - I personally think Peterson is at his best with Latin/Bossa Nova pieces, and this is proved with his light, yet so effective, playing on The Girl from Ipanema. You Look Good to Me is another delicate yet poignant piece - it demonstrates the Trio's teamwork brilliantly. The album is full of delights and is applicable for all scenarios: background music, personal listening etc.

Overall this is a well crafted and sensitive album. Although Peterson is restrained throughout and rarely demonstrates his full ability he plays for the listener and provides them with a feast of musical enjoyment. An album to acquire at all costs.

*A transcription of 'Quiet Night of Quiet Stars (Corcavado)' from this album is availible in the book 'Oscar Peterson Trios' by Hal Leonard.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 August 2007
This 1965 recording from the Oscar Peterson Trio is a mostly laid back affair. Although there are a few tracks where the virtuoso Peterson shines through, a lot of the time this is a very controlled set. However on 'Goodbye J.D.' the virtuoso Peterson reminds us just how much Piano he could play. This swings like hell and builds up a real of head steam.

There are quite a few important Oscar Peterson albums you should buy ahead of this one. For example, if you haven't got Night Train, The Trio, Tracks or A La Salle pleyel (1975) you really shouldn't be considering this album. However this IS a fine album that any fan will want to buy, and it would serve as good starter to Oscar Peterson' great talent.

With Oscar is one of his best ever Trios. Ray Brown is on bass and Ed Thigpen is on drums.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
These musicians were really inspired when interpreting these tunes. Oscar is great with the piano. Every jazz fan should have this in their collection. The sound is very clear as in everything in Verve. The only bad thing is that it only brings ten songs.

Estos músicos estaban realmente inspirados cuando interpretaban estas melodías. Oscar es genial con el piano. Todo fanático de jazz debe tener esto en su colección. El sonido es clarísimo como en todo lo de Verve. Lo único malo es que solo trae diez canciones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2006
From the opening strum of the piano strings in Corcovado this album just feels right. Wanna know what swing is - this opening track will explain all. There is not a duffer on it, but I will mention what I think are the stand out tracks.
"You look good to me" - lovely interplay between the musicians, subtle brushwork from Thigpen and Browns bowed bass is an interesting variation at the beginning and end of the track.
"D & E" - a friend and I were listening to this one evening(hey Cokey!) and as the opening progressed we looked at each other and burst out laughing(no jokes honest!), such was our joy at how tight and groovy the playing was. Now I can't promise that you will laugh out loud, but you will have to be dead from the waist upwards not to enjoy this - and even if you were, look down and you'll still find your feet tappin', that's how good it is.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
Do not buy this DOL reissue, I had heard rumours online about the rather dubious DOL reissues and the Russian label using edited digital files to create these records, but hearing is truly believing, when around a minute or so into Girl from Ipanema (Track 2 Side 2) I heard a windows 7 ding sound effect. I'm not kidding it's really there. This album however is one of my all time favourites and I strongly recommend you buy it. Just not a DOL reissue.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
This Japanese issue (UCCU-99005) of We Get Requests has a much much cleaner sound than the 1997 Verve Master Edition supposed 20bit digital remaster. There is less tape hiss & less wow & flutter as presumably it is taken from an earlier generation master tape (of the liner notes that are in English just the original 1965 LP text is printed so no details on this). Well worth the money - makes this album a much more enjoyable experience to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Excellent Sound and pleasure a pleasure do do business with you..A+1111111
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
Really good quality recording. Good jazz. Enjoyed listening a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)