Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars55
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 October 2008
Antonio Carlos Jobim goes down with Lennon/McCartney, Gershwin, Amstrong as one of the most influential songwriter/stylists of the 20th century.

To judge the album on its own merits is one thing. Getz turns in small but perfectly formed solos. Astrid Gilberto's voice is ravishing, complementing husband Joao's voice with that incredibly restrained vulnerability that is the essence of Bossa. It is an album of incredible tenderness and instrospection. The studio atmosphere is very intimate with an almost homespun quality. For me its a five star album in its own right.

However, this album has a far larger significance, in the way that Sargeant Pepper did. It changed everything and set off ripples that are still reverberating today.

Each of these songs have been covered thousands of times by thousands of artists and continue to be a top staple for jazz as its played all over the world. They have spilled over from jazz into other mediums. They introduced the wider world to the music of Brazil. Arguably the earlier Getz/Byrd, album put Brazil on the wider musical map but it was this album that exposed it in all its exotic glory.

Brazil is a land in which there are as many genres of music as there are in the rest of the world put together. The influence of Jobim and Bossa and their quintessence as captured in these songs, on this album, continues to be a point of departure and return for any number of musical offshoots in their home country, and beyond, to this very day.

From a musicological point of view the impact of this album is unprecedented. There is no other album which has so vividly alerted such a huge proportion of the world to what was going on in a previously little known lesser part of the world, the repercussions of which are still playing out, with vivacity and freshness, almost fifty years later.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
Recently got into Jazz and researched a lot of the albums I bought. Getz/Gilberto kept cropping up and I was not sure, even when I started buying Stan Getz albums. I purchased Jazz Samba by Charlie Byrd and Stan Getz which I loved so progressed to Getz/Gilberto and was delighted with the purchase.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2004
I think you either have an innate love of this sort of music built in or it is something that will be totally lost on you ...if its there and you stumble across it you will never look back..
I already had 7 of the tracks on other cd's but the three i did'nt have are absolutely enchanting and worth the price on their own.
I could listen to this a thousand times and find something new in Stan Getz's incredible intonation every time.
If you hav'nt heard this stuff before,if you have an open mind,like walking on a deserted beach just where the sea meets the sand,if you love living ...you might just love this...
The best Bossa Nova there is.
Mark
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2000
This is simply one of the best musical works of the sixties and years ahead. The poetry is unique, a blend of portuguese, african and american life. Deserves an huge constellation, not only five stars.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2010
What a story, and what an album. Dragged into the studio to record her first vocals/song, Astrid, wife of the Gilberto in the title, produces one of jazz...no, music's...all time great performances. THE Bossa Nova song & album. Fantastic recording & beautiful, sensitive remastering.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
This album is probably the best and the most well known bossa nova album in the market. I love every song in the album especially Desafinado, Corcovado, and the girl from Ipanema are my favorites. I recommend this album to every jazz fans. This album is a must own.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
A great record, no need to say that, but this SACD version has sound quality to match! Listen to it in my OPPO player and enjoy for late night listening and beyond!!
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
This edition of the famous Getz/Gilberto album is being confused with other editions, so most of the reviews listed are only partially relevant.
This review relates to the K2HD edition, released in 2009, and is definitely not SACD format, as some reviewers have stated.

Amazon UK & US list an SACD edition produced by Analogue Productions, which was released in 2012. So when you see reviews written in 1998 supposedly reviewing the Analogue Productions SACD edition, as well as this K2HD edition, confusion is inevitable. I just wish that Amazon exercised a little more care over such matters.

I have the original vinyl album and find that the K2HD edition compares very favourably. I have not yet heard the SACD edition and would be interested to know how it compares to the K2HD version.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2002
This is probably the best Jazzy Samba albums I've heard, the deep soft voice of Joao Gilberto and quite striking Astrud, blended with a backdrop of Stan Getz sax....Its quite breathtaking....
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2003
This album is widely accepted as a classic of its type (that being a latin influenced west coast jazz). Because of that maybe some would argue it deserves 5 stars.
If you already have some Gilberto then this is a fine addition to your collection. As a first purchase of Getz/Gilbertos work or this genre I find the music on Jazz Samba by Getz/Gilberto a bit more entertaining
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.08

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)