Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pivotal album of the 20th Century
Antonio Carlos Jobim goes down with Lennon/McCartney, Gershwin, Amstrong as one of the most influential songwriter/stylists of the 20th century.

To judge the album on its own merits is one thing. Getz turns in small but perfectly formed solos. Astrid Gilberto's voice is ravishing, complementing husband Joao's voice with that incredibly restrained...
Published on 25 Oct. 2008 by John Ferngrove

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Recording in stereo.
Good recording, but Not with a Multi Channel Layer disc. All Super Audio CDs should be CLEARLY marked if they are Multi Channel, Stereo or Mono...at the point of Sale...
Published 14 months ago by G tech


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pivotal album of the 20th Century, 25 Oct. 2008
By 
John Ferngrove (Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Getz / Gilberto (Audio CD)
Antonio Carlos Jobim goes down with Lennon/McCartney, Gershwin, Amstrong as one of the most influential songwriter/stylists of the 20th century.

To judge the album on its own merits is one thing. Getz turns in small but perfectly formed solos. Astrid Gilberto's voice is ravishing, complementing husband Joao's voice with that incredibly restrained vulnerability that is the essence of Bossa. It is an album of incredible tenderness and instrospection. The studio atmosphere is very intimate with an almost homespun quality. For me its a five star album in its own right.

However, this album has a far larger significance, in the way that Sargeant Pepper did. It changed everything and set off ripples that are still reverberating today.

Each of these songs have been covered thousands of times by thousands of artists and continue to be a top staple for jazz as its played all over the world. They have spilled over from jazz into other mediums. They introduced the wider world to the music of Brazil. Arguably the earlier Getz/Byrd, album put Brazil on the wider musical map but it was this album that exposed it in all its exotic glory.

Brazil is a land in which there are as many genres of music as there are in the rest of the world put together. The influence of Jobim and Bossa and their quintessence as captured in these songs, on this album, continues to be a point of departure and return for any number of musical offshoots in their home country, and beyond, to this very day.

From a musicological point of view the impact of this album is unprecedented. There is no other album which has so vividly alerted such a huge proportion of the world to what was going on in a previously little known lesser part of the world, the repercussions of which are still playing out, with vivacity and freshness, almost fifty years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why did I wait so long........, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
Mr. J. E. Styler "bayleaf269" (Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Getz/Gilberto (Audio CD)
Recently got into Jazz and researched a lot of the albums I bought. Getz/Gilberto kept cropping up and I was not sure, even when I started buying Stan Getz albums. I purchased Jazz Samba by Charlie Byrd and Stan Getz which I loved so progressed to Getz/Gilberto and was delighted with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getz/Gilberto, 7 May 2004
By 
M J BRADSHAW (Rowlands Gill, Tyne and Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getz / Gilberto (Audio CD)
I think you either have an innate love of this sort of music built in or it is something that will be totally lost on you ...if its there and you stumble across it you will never look back..
I already had 7 of the tracks on other cd's but the three i did'nt have are absolutely enchanting and worth the price on their own.
I could listen to this a thousand times and find something new in Stan Getz's incredible intonation every time.
If you hav'nt heard this stuff before,if you have an open mind,like walking on a deserted beach just where the sea meets the sand,if you love living ...you might just love this...
The best Bossa Nova there is.
Mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An historical work, 15 Oct. 2000
This review is from: Getz / Gilberto (Audio CD)
This is simply one of the best musical works of the sixties and years ahead. The poetry is unique, a blend of portuguese, african and american life. Deserves an huge constellation, not only five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece, 15 Sept. 2010
By 
Dp Smith "Darren" (Hopton on sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getz/Gilberto (Audio CD)
What a story, and what an album. Dragged into the studio to record her first vocals/song, Astrid, wife of the Gilberto in the title, produces one of jazz...no, music's...all time great performances. THE Bossa Nova song & album. Fantastic recording & beautiful, sensitive remastering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bossa Nova out there, 1 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Getz/Gilberto (Audio CD)
This album is probably the best and the most well known bossa nova album in the market. I love every song in the album especially Desafinado, Corcovado, and the girl from Ipanema are my favorites. I recommend this album to every jazz fans. This album is a must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect sound quality, 10 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getzgilberto Sacd (Audio CD)
A great record, no need to say that, but this SACD version has sound quality to match! Listen to it in my OPPO player and enjoy for late night listening and beyond!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars confused, 3 Jan. 2014
By 
MBR (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getz / Gilberto (Audio CD)
This edition of the famous Getz/Gilberto album is being confused with other editions, so most of the reviews listed are only partially relevant.
This review relates to the K2HD edition, released in 2009, and is definitely not SACD format, as some reviewers have stated.

Amazon UK & US list an SACD edition produced by Analogue Productions, which was released in 2012. So when you see reviews written in 1998 supposedly reviewing the Analogue Productions SACD edition, as well as this K2HD edition, confusion is inevitable. I just wish that Amazon exercised a little more care over such matters.

I have the original vinyl album and find that the K2HD edition compares very favourably. I have not yet heard the SACD edition and would be interested to know how it compares to the K2HD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Harmony, 24 Aug. 2002
By 
Jonothan B Dempsey (Sale, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getz / Gilberto (Audio CD)
This is probably the best Jazzy Samba albums I've heard, the deep soft voice of Joao Gilberto and quite striking Astrud, blended with a backdrop of Stan Getz sax....Its quite breathtaking....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great latin influence jazz album, 27 Mar. 2003
By 
Adrian "adrianjfrost" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getz / Gilberto (Audio CD)
This album is widely accepted as a classic of its type (that being a latin influenced west coast jazz). Because of that maybe some would argue it deserves 5 stars.
If you already have some Gilberto then this is a fine addition to your collection. As a first purchase of Getz/Gilbertos work or this genre I find the music on Jazz Samba by Getz/Gilberto a bit more entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getz/Gilberto
Getz/Gilberto by Joao Gilberto (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews