Customer Reviews


270 Reviews
5 star:
 (183)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking the rules
Sin City is one of those films that you see posters for, think it looks interesting but don't neccessarily get the point. At least, until you sit in the cinema and get to see the full glory.
That is the word for this film - glorious. Filmed with techniques and a style that haven't been used for a long time, Sin City presents three stories that, whilst not...
Published on 25 Sep 2005 by Jenna Halloran

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Partially Excellent
The whole being greater than the sum of the parts, it was a good film. Running the risk of sounding controversial, I remain uncertain as to the benefit of the colour scheming. It worked in some places (ninja-cannibal and orange man), but not in others (luminous elastoplast).

I also find the Mickey Spillane/ Mike Hammer approach to narration and dialogue...
Published on 17 Jan 2008 by Green Man Music


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow wow wow!!!!, 3 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: Sin City [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I saw this film when it came out in the cinema, with my Dad. We both came out thinking exactly the same...the film is brilliant!! The use of colour, or lack of, just makes the film beautiful rather than gruesome. Because its so violent I don't think I could have stomached it if it was in normal colour, but because its in black and white with bits of random colour you get more of an unreal feeling. The black and white makes it classy, and the true like-ness to the original comic strip is amazing! The characters and the way they move is sooo much like the comic, its extremely clever. Clive Owen who plays Dwight looks fab, and Rosario Dawson who plays Gail looks like shes been literally taken out of the comic and put on the screen. As soon as I'd seen it in the cinema I couldn't wait for it to come out on dvd and now it is, I've lost count already of how many times Ive watched it and how many friends I've shown it too whove had the same reaction as me the first time round that they watch it. This is a true film masterpiece, its shocking and it plays with your emotions...It's wicked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning comic book adventure., 26 Aug 2009
By 
J. Lyne (Forres, Morayshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
From the very first scene of this film I was gripped! I watched it all the way through and then just started again.

The film is actually a series of short stories that link and twist with each other. The film splits these stories into various chunks and changes from one to the other throughout. The splitting is very logical and adds to the tension of the stories. If this is not your bag then the Blu-ray has each story separated and played through in its entirety.

The film is taken from the comic books, but with an incredible eye for detail. The sound and picture are some of the finest I have seen.

The stories are emotional, gritty, far-fetched, sometimes repulsive and shocking but very very good. The acting is good - particularly Elijah Wood who makes quite an alarming transition from a cute Hobbit to a psycopath!

This film will certainly not appeal to everyone due to the stylised nature of the direction and the very graphic scenes. But for me it is a classic which I have watched many times and will continue to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sin City [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A former boxer framed for murder hunts down the real killer of the love of his life. A disgraced ex cop protects a young woman from the evil son of a corrupt senator and prostitutes defend themselves from retaliation from the mob after the murder of a corrupt cop. 3 gritty hard boiled crime stories in this excellent visually stunning adaptation of Frank Miller's Sin City graphic novels. An excellent cast including Mickey Rourke, Bruce Willis, Clive Owen, Benicio Deltoro, Rosario Dawson, Jessica Alba, Powers Booth and Elijah Wood in a role a million miles away from Lord Of The Rings star in stories set in a corrupt city. 2 different versions of the film here, the original superior cinematic edition and a very different recut version showing the stories in chronological order. If anyone says comic books and comic book movies are for kids, this is one of the movies to show them. Strictly for adults only in stunning black and white with dashes of colour thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Partially Excellent, 17 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sin City [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The whole being greater than the sum of the parts, it was a good film. Running the risk of sounding controversial, I remain uncertain as to the benefit of the colour scheming. It worked in some places (ninja-cannibal and orange man), but not in others (luminous elastoplast).

I also find the Mickey Spillane/ Mike Hammer approach to narration and dialogue excruciating, so given that this was the style the film chose to use I had to give up watching it part-way through and come back another day when I was in a better mood.

Nevertheless, elements of the story(s) were brilliantly done; I enjoyed the silent ninja-cannibal entity, and the balances created between the characters, from the impossible-to-knock-down muscle man to Bruce Willis' ailing and vulnerable cop.

And I enjoyed the the ladies costumes, of course.

A good helping of comic book action in the new steam-punk genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 3 Jun 2009
By 
David Addison (Newcastle upon Tyne England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sin City [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
A film with 3 stories.We start off with Bruce Willis's cop character rescuing a little girl called Nancy.She grows up to be Jessica Alba,who Bruce protects from physotic Nick Stahl,and the sinister Powers Booth.The second is with Micky Rourke,a slightly deformed Micky Rourke chasing revenge on the people,who murdered a woman,kind enough to sleep with him.The third story is Clive Owen,who protects the gorgeous,but tough ladies of Old Town,in Basin City,aka Sin City.
It's quite a violent film,and there's no plot.So,it does have a high body count! The film is done in the style of the adult novel,by Frank Miller.It's very enjoyable though.My favourite character was the silent,but deadly Miho,played by the delicous Devon Aoki.The law enforcer of old town!I'm not sure if she has the highest kills in the film,but it's a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Specifications, 24 Jun 2009
By 
Great movie!
Audio:
DTS 5:1 HD: English
DTS 5.1: Italian, German, Spanish

Subtitles:
English, Italian, German, Spanish

EAN 8717418178895
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Faultless, 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: Sin City [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Yes, you need to be able to cope with the graphic violence, but even a surprising amount of that is hidden from sight.

This is a film which takes several interlinked stories and weaves them together brilliantly into a coherent, damning and in some ways very emotionally satisfying movie. Some of the scenes of violence are so amazingly choreographed, it's like an X-rated ballet. Seriously. And some of the dark humour is brilliantly blacker than black-like when they developed a new black ink for astronomy books, or HHGTTG's black spaceship.

All the acting is up to the task, and in a way it would be unfair to pick any out, but Willis, Owen and Rourke have each never been better. The mood is perfectly captured, and while it is incredibly hard-edged, and wholly deserves its 18 rating, it is an awesome, wonderful film to watch.

I have never seen anything quite like this, and in terms of quality for a graphic novel derived movie, it really compares only with "Watchmen", although the excellent "V for Vendetta" runs it pretty cloes.

SPOILER ! much of me wishes the end to Bruce Willis's character's thread could be diffferent, but, like the end of "Vanishing Point", it had become inevitable.

Very, very rarely are films this good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It would be a Sin not to buy!!, 31 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sin City [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is probably one of the best looking Blu-ray discs I have ever seen. If ever there was an advert for the reason to upgrade to the format this has to be it!!! Wont bore you with the details, just take my word for it. This is a gorgeous looking movie on Blu-ray ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meant for Hi-Def, 28 May 2009
This has to be one of the best backdated blu-ray releases, the film was made to be shown in Hi-Def.

The picture is pin sharp at 1080P and the 5.1 is brilliant and sounds crispy and bassy in all the right places.

As far as the package goes, its got two versions of the film, the cinema edit and a directors extended cut plus tons of special features.

Thing is if your looking at buying this then you know the story and what a great movie it is. So all your probably thinking is 'is it worth getting on Blu Ray, when ive already got the DVD', in short the answer is yes and at £12.00 its a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SERIOUSLY fantastic boxset., 22 Sep 2005
By A Customer
I wont waste my breath telling you how great the Sin City film is - instead let me tell about this seriously cool dvd boxset! Apparently it was personally approved by Frank Miller himself and it contains the film and all 3 of the graphic novels upon which it was based. The box itself is made with thick, high quality card - the front design looks great with its shiny white/red finish set against a matt black background. The dvd case inside is held in a black velvet tray with the three books stacked underneath. What you cant tell from the picture is that the box is quite substantial and weighty. The back of it is covered in images from the film and looks fab.
I had to think very hard about whether or not to spend extra money on this boxset but Im glad I have. I havent seen this design on sale anywhere other than Amazon.co.uk which probably means that there will be very limited numbers in circulation.
Great film, fantastic graphic novels, brilliant boxset - dont miss out or you'll see it in someone else collection and regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sin City [UMD Mini for PSP]
Sin City [UMD Mini for PSP] by Quentin Tarantino (UMD Mini for PSP - 2005)
£6.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews