Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Libra" is Toni's most consistent effort
After "The Heat", Toni Braxton released two albums in quick succession - the holiday album "Snowflakes" and then "More Than A Woman" after having taken 4 years break in between each of her first 3 studio albums. Although these two albums from 2001 and 2002 were not disappointing, I felt that they were slightly rushed and did not benefit from being released so close...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by Amillionmiles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars toni braxton
Libra... IAM NOT SURE ABOUT THIS CD, I HAVE PLAYED IT A FEW TIMES NOW AND IAM A BIG FAN OF TONI BRAXTON, BUT THIS CD JUST DOES NOT DO IT FOR ME, NOTHING STANDS OUT AND EVERY TRACK JUST SEEMS TO RUN INTO EACH OTHER... JUST SEEMS TO GO ON AND ON AND ON, DONT LET ME PUT YOU OFF' ITS JUST WHAT I THINK................ENJOY
Published on 1 Jun 2010 by ross-fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Libra" is Toni's most consistent effort, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Libra (Audio CD)
After "The Heat", Toni Braxton released two albums in quick succession - the holiday album "Snowflakes" and then "More Than A Woman" after having taken 4 years break in between each of her first 3 studio albums. Although these two albums from 2001 and 2002 were not disappointing, I felt that they were slightly rushed and did not benefit from being released so close together. However, 3 years later, her sixth studio album "Libra" brings the quality back and proves that taking the time to write and choose new material for a new release really pays off.

"Please" is an edgy, urban R&B track with an addictive beat, sexy vocals and clever arrangements making it an instant highlight. "Trippin'" is a hip sounding R&B slow jam with soothing vocal harmonies and "What's Good" is a suave Jazz inspired cool groove. The Richard Marx-penned "Suddenly" is a sensual love ballad with romantic lyrics whilst the Rich Harrison-penned "Take This Ring" is a punchier, sexier, more soulful and better sung derivative of the hit single he wrote for Amerie, "One Thing". "Midnite" is another gentle mid-tempo R&B track with deep sensual vocals which is followed by the highlight of the album "I Wanna Be (Your Baby"), a beautiful soulful ballad with sweet lyrics and vocal harmonies. "Sposed To Be" is an atmospheric and sexy R&B groove and "Stupid" is a Jazz ballad that suits Toni's vocals like a glove whilst "Finally" is another foot-tapping slow jam and "I Hate You" is a typical Toni-style ballad with soothing melody and vocals. On "Shadowless", you can really hear just how beautiful and special Toni's deep sensual voice is accompanied by just a simple acoustic guitar. The album closes with a third highlight "Long Way Home", a melodic and infectious Soul ballad with a wonderful gripping chorus.

I have always loved the tone of Toni Braxton's voice - a really deep soft soulful voice with quite an astonishing range. "Libra" showcases her vocal ability and shows how versatile she is as an artist and singer. The songs are all very well written and varied which provides us with a consistency that was missing from the last two releases. Welcome back Toni!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's On Fiiiire & Definately Hasn't Lost It, 3 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Libra (Audio CD)
Ive never really been much of a Toni Braxton fan...until now that is because this album is definately smokin'. With her husky voice and smooth lyrics shes definately on to a winner here and for me has to be my fave r&b album of the year so far.
Another thing that makes this album so lovable is that there just isnt any bad tracks - the whole is off the chain and there hasnt been many albums recently i can say that about.
If you buy just one T.B. album you have to make it this one without doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHE'S DONE IT AGAIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 21 April 2006
By 
D. D. LEIGH (Perth, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Libra (Audio CD)
It has been a few years since Miss Toni's last release.Her last album failed to produce any hits even though it contained a version of "Me & My Boyfriend", (far better than Beyonce's "Bonnie & Clyde" & using the same Tupac sample from "Me & My Girlfriend").

Toni's latest offer "LIBRA" (her star sign), is the strongest album she has ever released! With a new record label, a new baby and a new /fresh sound, Miss Toni is getting better with age.

The album has only 10 tracks, but they are all a decent length! You dont feel like you were cheated once the album is over because it comes close to an hour of music.

The most important thing about this album is that there is NO FILLER!!!! Not even one weak track!!!! The album starts off strong and is consistant the whole way through. In years to come, we may very well look back at this album as the highlight of her career...but going by the quality of this album we may look to this as the start of the most creative years of Toni Braxton's life! This album could be the start of album after album of pure, creative, pretty music people!!!

EVERYONE NEEDS THIS ALBUM!!!

I am writing this from Australia, and just like England, LIBRA has not been released here. I bought it while in America. We don't even have a release date for the album!!! I have no idea why this is but take my word: If you dont buy this album, your a bloody idiot!!!! Go on-spend the few extra dollars (or Pounds) to get this as an import.

Enjoy it everybody!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toni fans shouldn't have any trouble appreciating this album, 5 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Libra (Audio CD)
Balancing motherhood and her career can be tough but she mange's to pull it off by this album. I think she did a great job in her part but her promoters were slacking in there's. If she ever chooses to do another album she should consider on hiring a new crew. I have always loved Toni's music and this album reminds me as to why. I was a bit disappointed with `More Than A Woman' but `Libra' puts her back to where she belongs.

The lead off single "Please" is fantastic. It sets the album off in a good way and delivers her back into the game rather nicely. The second single "Trippin (Thats The Way Love Works)" is also strong. The next song "Whats Good " is smooth and enjoyable. On the song "Take This Ring" it's very evident that Amerie's producer wrote this song but holds out very well and adds diversity to this album. The songs "Midnite" and "I Wanna Be (Your Baby)" are really good because it showcases her signature voice beautifully. "Sposed To Be." "Stupid," are great as well. "Finally" and "Shadowless" show you the old Toni and it takes you back to her debut album.

The length of this album shouldn't deter anybody from purchasing this especially when most of the tracks are listen able and beside it avoids using your trigger finger from hitting the skip button. Toni's lyrics are honest and the production isn't overdone. This is a nice piece of art to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Comeback For Toni, 24 Jan 2006
By 
S. Mangan-Taylor "strawberrybounce2005" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Libra (Audio CD)
It's been 3 years since her last studio album 'More Than A Woman' and that wasn't a massive hit although it was one of her strongest albums to date.
In 2005 Toni returned with 'Libra' and although the album only contains 10 tracks, there are all of high quality.
The album opens with 'Please', the first single to be taken from the album. A great uptempo track but I think there are better tracks on the album like the excellent ballad 'Trippin', 'What's Good' and 'Sposed To Be' which sounds a little like Mario's 'Let Me Love You'
The best track on the album has to be the amazing 'Take This Ring' produced by Rich Harrison (the man behind Amerie's '1 thing'. It's so unbelievably catchy!
The other stand out track is the mid-tempo 'Midnite', a song about a cheating man!
If I had to make one bad point about the album, it would be that there are too many slow and mid-tempo tracks and although they are all of high quality, the album just need 2 or 3 more uptempo tracks.
Overall, a high quality album and a brilliant comeback. I just hope that 2006 will be the year Toni sets the world on fire again just like she did in the 90's and early 2000's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At night with ur lover..., 5 Nov 2007
By 
Jevgenijs Kozlovs "Aaliyax" (Latvia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Libra (Audio CD)
I'am not a fan of Toni Braxton... but after this one my mind changed!
It's worth to buy this UK edition, because it incluedes 3 new tracks! I would like to say, that all the tracks are in very HIGH QUALITY - there are R'n'B, Soul, Dance and Pop at this album, that it makes it special. Well done, Toni! A best R'n'B album of 2005 and great music in hot night with ur lover...it's worth it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It smoothly rocks., 1 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Libra (Audio CD)
This album rocks. Toni has outdone herself, you dont have to be a fan to enjoy this. To have an album with one good track after the other is rare!!! The voice, the arrangements, the instruments, the smoothness.... Its all there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toni's Comeback!!!, 19 Nov 2005
This review is from: Libra (Audio CD)
Libra is Toni Braxton's first album since 2002's More Than a Woman and was worth the wait. Her style of music is much the same big ballads mixed with the up-tempo RnB hits. Since changing her record label to Blackground, she has being working with different producers such as: Scott Storch, Rich Harrison and The Underdogs.
My Top Tracks Are:
1. Please
2. Trippin'
3. Finally
4. S'posed to be
5. Shadowless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Toni Braxton does it again., 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Libra (Audio CD)
Another well written and well sung album. Heart strings always played when Toni Braxton sing the songs we loving hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic,Album,and Timeless, 2 May 2012
By 
Ms A Moore (Howden,East yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Libra (Audio CD)
I have every album Toni has done,infact I have 2 copies of each album,simply because,the earlier one's ,will eventually not be around to buy,for instance,her debut album,is now 19yrs old,as for this album,I have just recently started playing it again,as I wasn't too struck on it,when I first bought it,but oh, boy, how I was wrong!,it is incredible,and it is a real slow burn,but it just grows on you,every time you play it,I now love it,and am now ordering this again,just to get the three extra bonus tracks,if you do decide to buy this album,don't do what I did,and give up on it,as it will grow on you,I promise.I am just looking forward now,to her brand new album,supposedly,out this month,and have heard her new track from it called I heart you,and it is Fantastic,you will just want to get up and dance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Libra
Libra by Toni Braxton (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews