Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable Kung Fu, Authentic Kung Fu, Fantastic Kung Fu!!,
Being a chow fan myself, I must say this is by far the best work he's done. I was absolutely captivated and immediately at home in this very foreign place. This film is so strangely retro and yet tangible. Stephen Chow's name has been around the Chinese cinema for more than twenty years. His special style of dry humor is not only known but also recognized by Chinese...
Published on 29 Jun 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Personally I found this disappointing. However, if kung fu movies to you is flying around on a trapeze kicking out thickly laid CGI effects you will love it.
Published 18 days ago by Kuma


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable Kung Fu, Authentic Kung Fu, Fantastic Kung Fu!!,, 29 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Kung Fu Hustle [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Being a chow fan myself, I must say this is by far the best work he's done. I was absolutely captivated and immediately at home in this very foreign place. This film is so strangely retro and yet tangible. Stephen Chow's name has been around the Chinese cinema for more than twenty years. His special style of dry humor is not only known but also recognized by Chinese viewers as his trademark and uniqueness. It's only until recently with the release of Shaolin soccer did people around the world started to take notice of this Asian pop icon. But when we thought it couldn't get any better, he surprised us with this masterpiece, Kung Fu Hustle. I have never laughed so hard, yet come away feeling as if I had been uplifted.

The effects are fierce, and yet organic. The characters are strong, vivid and effective. The imagery and magic of the story and scenery and amazing overwhelmingly inspired soundtrack blend. It's like this film picks you up and never puts you down, doesn't miss a beat, and never spends a fraction of a second too long in any one spot.

Viewers will find themselves drawn into the fantasy world of Kung Fu with funny, fascinating characters that blow people's mind away. References to Forrest Gump, The Matrix, Silence of the Lambs, traditional Chinese Woosha novels can be found in many scenes. I also find myself laughing so hard in several parts. Most of the jokes are easy to understand for they are usually short phrases or body movements. This allows general audiences around the world to get pass the cultural or language barrier and enjoy the atmosphere it's creating. The action scenes are also visually stunning according to the design by famous action designer Yuen Ho Ping (Responsible for Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon and The Matrix trilogy). But being a Kung Fu watcher, I personally thought it would've been even more superior with less CGI.

Overall I give it 5 stars. It's probably the most entertaining Chinese film to date. This one will sure save a spot for Steven Chow in the history of Asian cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Kung Fu Fans, 2 May 2006
By 
T. C. Haughton "Happy Sparrow" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kung Fu Hustle [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I got this film for my husband as he is into Kung Fu, however I decided to watch it with him and I'm glad I did. I love comedy and this was very funny, but unlike many Hollywood comedies, this film does not take itself too seriously. Although there is an underlying coming of age story, it doesn't engulf the film and make the ending any less funny than the beginning.

This film is kung fu crossed with the matrix crossed with Looney Tunes. The landlady is destined to become a legendary character. Very entertaining - a must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kung fu goes ballistic, 10 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Kung Fu Hustle [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Kung fu hustle is a fabulous whirlwind of action. The characters are inspired and very over the top, the fight scenes are mind blowing and many scenes in the film had me howling with laughter. If your after a film that has you gripped from beginning to end and either on the edge of your seat or rolling on the floor laughing Kung Fu Hustle's the one for you. If you love kung fu and having a laugh don't bother renting it, you'll want to watch it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not a Kung Fu film, 11 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Kung Fu Hustle [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Somehow, I managed to persuade my wife to come to the cinema and watch this with me. Both of us were very glad we went!
It's not strictly a kung fu film. Yes, there is kung fu, there are fights, but there is so much more; constant humour, wonderful choreography (the early dance scene featuring the axe gang, alone, is worth the money) and a chain-smoking landlady.
This is a fantasy adventure, a morality tale which is never preachy and a wonderful, well-made film that entertains and amuses throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 21 Dec 2005
This review is from: Kung Fu Hustle [UMD Mini for PSP] [2005] (UMD Mini for PSP)
One of the funniest films I have ever seen, easily the best Kung-Fu movie around. Great special effects combined with a director who might well be high, and the quirkiness of a chinese film mean that this really is a must-see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not for non appreciative knuckle heads, 5 Feb 2006
This review is from: Kung Fu Hustle [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
if you love good film, you cant fail to like this movie.. the visual style is warm and always interesting. the acting is deliberately hammed up, and to very good effect
some very funny parts also, and exciting fight sequences
if all you want from a movie is mindless action and fighting you might prefer to look elsewhere. if you enjoy good action mixed with style, wit and originality you must see this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kung Fu Hustle, 10 Oct 2009
By 
I had seen the movie Kung Fu Hustle after downloading it on the net. Although I enjoyed it, i could not really get the excitement due to the bad print.

The Blue Ray version is just marvelous with it picture quality as well as audio and sub title options.

Anyone with even a slight interest in martial arts film, or special effects and a sense of humour will enjoy it tremendously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kung Fu Hustle, 14 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Kung Fu Hustle [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
If you enjoy martial Art films then this Stephen Chow production is brilliant. It has a good story line and offers some brilliant fight scenes, as well as its comedic value which will have you laughing throughout. You have to watch it to fully appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrill to the Toad Style and the long lost Buddhist Palm, 31 Dec 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kung Fu Hustle [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
For the most part, I like my martial arts films to be as realistic as possible, but I have no problem taking a walk on the cinematic wild side, especially when the special effects are as impressive as those in this film. Kung Fu Hustle can't be compared to any other single movie or genre. Regardless of its excesses, the martial arts action in the film is something to behold. Underneath all of the comedy and over-the-top visual delights (and it can be almost cartoonish at times), there's also a seriousness to the film. It's all about good vs. evil, self-realization, and stepping up to meet your destiny. And, as much as I hate to say it, I thought the ending was quite sweet. The extraordinary special effects dominate the film and any viewer's discussion of it, but don't let that fool you into thinking there isn't a substantive story behind all of the flash.
The toughest hombres around are the members of the Two Axe Gang; put a Japanese face on John Dillinger, give him a pair of axes, and you've the old-time mobster look and feel of these guys down. They usually leave the slum areas alone, but Pig Sty Alley, run by a seemingly wimpy landlord and the toughest landlady you'd ever want to meet, ends up in the gang's crosshairs thanks to a couple of bad guy wannabes (and perpetual screwups) trying to insinuate themselves into the gang. Sing (Stephen Chow) desperately wants to be a bad guy, having paid a price as a child for trying to live up to his destiny (a rather questionable one, at that) of bringing peace to the world. The landlady's mean attitude isn't enough to hold off untold dozens of axe-wielding gangsters, but the town is saved by three kung fu masters who had moved there in search of a peaceful life. Rest assured there are repercussions, as the Two Axe Gang brings in some of the world's most deadly killers to exact revenge - starting with a pair of musicians with a unique, decidedly deadly playing style. Later, they have Sing engineer a breakout of the Beast, the deadliest killer of them all. He doesn't look like much, but the Beast is an almost unstoppable force. The only person who can possibly take him on with any chance of success is a natural-born, kung fu genius - and those are pretty darn rare.
The special effects of the many fight scenes go way beyond the kind of wire work seen in, say, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, and also out-Matrix The Matrix; on occasion, you'll see stuff right out of Hanna-Barbera cartoons. Does this make the movie too goofy for its own good? Somehow, it really doesn't. If you're going to go to the extreme with your action, you might as well go all the way - and that is most certainly what Kung Fu Hustle does. From a chase right out of Road Runner cartoons to the perfectly ridiculous Toad Style of fighting perfected by the Beast, you'll laugh - but you'll also be in awe at how well the scenes play.
Basically, Kung Fu Hustle is just a complete hoot of a movie. As writer, director, and star, Stephen Chow has produced a pure winner capable of entertaining fans across a range of genres. Even he cannot steal the limelight from Leung Siu Lung, however, as this landlady, with a cigarette perpetually hanging out of her mouth, truly roars - both literally and figuratively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take a box of tissues & a paramedic, 13 May 2007
By 
sam hrt (Lancs, England, Uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kung Fu Hustle [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Absolutely AWESOME!! It left me breathless with laughter & blinded with tears. Thank goodness I'd been to the toilet before I started watching this movie... Highly recommended as it is on of the best/funniest movies I have ever seen. Hollywood can really learn from Stephen. Instead of doing re-makes of classics they should something original. This movie ticks every box for me as it so refreshing. Usually have to watch big blockbusters of Hollywood that either have too much smooching or too much limbs flying about with siblings. This is the first movie that I enjoyed with them in a very long time without 1 squabble. I know it's a miracle ;) Thanks for saving a Saturday night Stephen! Owe you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kung Fu Hustle [UMD Mini for PSP] [2005]
Kung Fu Hustle [UMD Mini for PSP] [2005] by Stephen Chow (UMD Mini for PSP - 2005)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews