Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good fun
I have not played a turn taking strategy game before and was expecting this to be both boring and slow, it is neither.
This game is great fun for both fans of LOTR and newbies. You control either the goodies or armies of Mordor, building up your teams as you go (all of the main characters from the book and film are featured). You can choose which of your group to...
Published on 26 July 2007 by Mr. J. J. Taylor

versus
38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better
I hesitated quite a bit before buying this game because of the poor reviews, but being a big fan of games like Fire Emblem I took the plunge.
All in all this isn't a bad game and it's a definite improvement on EA's GBA handheld strategy LOR game they released last year.
Buy or not to buy? I would say it's a buy but only if you are willing to...
Published on 8 Jan 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good fun, 26 July 2007
By 
Mr. J. J. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP) (Video Game)
I have not played a turn taking strategy game before and was expecting this to be both boring and slow, it is neither.
This game is great fun for both fans of LOTR and newbies. You control either the goodies or armies of Mordor, building up your teams as you go (all of the main characters from the book and film are featured). You can choose which of your group to use on what mission and use money to give them better powers and more fun extra spells, to use along the way.

Each level consists of a section roughly connected with the film and you move around a large 'board' of squares basically killing each other with various powers, swords, arrows etc.

It sounds dull but it's great, you really have to use your brain on what to do in each mission, who to use from your squad and when to sacrifice various characters. It often comes down to the last bloke in your team smashing away at the enemy with the last of their energy.

I also always find PSP games too easy but this is pitched just right for adults and once you completed it with one side you can go back and try again with the other.

I would go as far to say that this is the best, most engaging and fun game I have played on the PSP. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 8 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP) (Video Game)
I hesitated quite a bit before buying this game because of the poor reviews, but being a big fan of games like Fire Emblem I took the plunge.
All in all this isn't a bad game and it's a definite improvement on EA's GBA handheld strategy LOR game they released last year.
Buy or not to buy? I would say it's a buy but only if you are willing to put up with a few faults.
1. The game freezes up, so make sure you save after each battle.
2. During the battles there are a few glitches which mean for some reason you are unable to move or order your characters to attack and to add to the frustration you get an on screen message telling you you haven't issued orders to all your soldiers.
3. As with all EA games, the instruction booklet is minimal, so you have to pick up a lot of things as you go along. If you don't know who characters like Legolas are and you don't know what the different spells do (EA seem to assume everyone has read the LOR Trilogy) then the game can get a bit confusing.
On a more positive note, there's quite a bit a replay value, graphics aren't too bad and there are lots of cut scenes from the films.
It's a shame that big companies like EA don't put just a bit more effort into their games before releasing them. A bit more work on Lord of the Rings: Tactics and it could have been up there with the likes of Fire Emblem and Advance Wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor man's Field Commander, 11 Jun 2007
By 
YaromCMG (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP) (Video Game)
This game plays through scenarios representing some of the scenes in the LotR movies. It pits the heros of the movie against dark riders, orcs, goblins and other various badies.

The problem with the game is that the scale is two small. I was expecting to see characters like Legolas and Aragorn fighting against and slaying numerous orcs. But instead you will tend to find that there only a handful of soldiers on each side when a major battle is supposed to take place. This spoils my sense of realism.

If you like LotR then you may like this. Otherwise I would recommend as a better option if you like this sort of game but on a bigger scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my 7 yrs boy and i, 24 Nov 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP) (Video Game)
both my 7 yrs boy and i love this psp game: no violence, easy to play, fascinating but not too mesmerizing; the perfect game if you love the film, with all the images from our beloved movie. my boy really really love it and when he finished it he started againg as a bad one: you can choose the side you play, the level... and when you call for your son playing this game he can leave it whitout too much hesitation even during the war action because it is tactics! even when you are inexperienced starting the game and sometime you choose the wrong move so that you are stucked and can only suffer for your enemies moves, even then you can enjoy the game, getting nicely angry and improving your ability for next actions.
we love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good game!, 26 April 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP) (Video Game)
Fun to play and can be quite addictive. Parents be warned! Good game for the PSP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalgia...but..., 28 Feb 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP) (Video Game)
Great to be able to play the old favorites and even better playing as the bad guys-something you don't see enough of in my view!
Its good for the first few weeks of gameplay-depending on how much you play!- but towards the end of the game you find how repetative it really is and start noticing that the creaters of this game must not have a lot of imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves this game, 17 Jan 2014
By 
M. P. Guard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP) (Video Game)
My son did the research on this game and has not been disappointed. It arrived quickly and he is very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars purchase for sons birthday, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP) (Video Game)
I purchased this game for my sons birthday. He enjoys playing rpg games and enjoys the lord of the rings book also. Therefore I thought this would be a great choice for him. I was right, he played it and loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ok, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP) (Video Game)
I am not big fun of tactics (like fallout tactics) but this game is good nice easy and keep you busy till the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Turn based at it's best, 9 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP) (Video Game)
I've always enjoyed turn based games but was a little hesitant at buying this as it's a movie tie in and they aren't exactly known for their quality. However, after the first battle I was hooked and glad I took the plunge.

Plot: Tactics involves you playing through different parts from the three films. Before you start each battle, you're shown a clip from the film and then you're off. The clip showing helps move the story along easily and does well with helping you keep track of where you are within the plot.

Graphics: The game graphics look just like a quality PS2 game and film clips are the quality of a DVD. Not much to fault here.

Gameplay: There a multiple requirements for the battles. Sometimes it may be a simple way like capturing the flag or survive so many turns and sometimes a little harder like escaping the enemy or wiping them off the grid. The variety helps keep the game fresh.

Controls: They make use of the PSP layout well. You use the analogue stick for the camera and the direction buttons to move. The bumper keys are used to select enemies and the shape buttons for use of different abilities. Nice and easy to learn and for once doesn't suffer from the usual camera problem most PSP games are plagued with.

Lifespan: Not a huge game but there is varying difficulties to complete it on, the option to play the game as the enemy and a multiplayer option too which apparently gives the option of four people to battle each other across WiFi.

Overall: Don't be put off by the film tie in as for once it actually makes the game better. I enjoyed it immensely and would say it's one of the best PSP games I've played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP)
The Lord of the Rings: Tactics (PSP) by Electronic Arts (Sony PSP)
£26.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews