Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars66
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2005
Jim Rockford was fallible, vulnerable, got hurt and often ended up on the losing end of the deal - so different from most American cop and private eye shows. Intelligent scripting and quality acting won this series a clutch of Emmys over several years and James Garner gave the role of Jim Rockford his own persona. Great to see Season 1 on DVD (roll on Season 2). And check out the different answering machine message in the opening credits of each episode - very clever and very funny. Incidentally, the boxset claims to have 22 episodes - there are in fact 25 in the boxset, including the two-part pilot.
55 comments|85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2010
Not being old enough to remember the series first time around, I first discovered The Rockford Files when repeats appeared on Wednesday afternoons in the mid-90s, courtesy of the good old BBC. It caught my attention as a bit of an enjoyable retro novelty so it was interesting to see if having aged another 15 years or so it could still cut it.

Well, I'm pleased to say that it still does do!

As 70s detectives shows go, Rockford is actually very run of the mill in basic concept; it was also highly predictable in so much as that, per episode, there will be at least one car chase, a kidnapping of some form or other and Rockford will inevitably get a bash or two on the head. Also if an episode does end with victory for Rockford it is usually pyrrhic. I'm not sure that an answering machine and a mobile home on the beach front were really enough to mark the character out as anything different (or maybe it did in 1974, I don't know, but they're really not important now).

But what does make the series stand out above most others however is the presence of James Garner; it was absolutely superb casting. Garner brought a unique charisma to this character, which he fitted like a glove. I'm not surprised it ran for several series.

It's fair to say that the whole thing was generally well put together -- if you can overlook some obvious (and amusing) car chase continuity errors that is -- it's well produced and directed stuff; seriously, I don't think there is a clunker amongst any of the episodes. That said, I think did lend itself better to the 2 part episodes and the series opener, Backlash of The Hunter, is my personal favourite.

I think what really says it all is that, having watched all of these episodes, Series 2 is now at the top of my must buy list. You won't be disappointed.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2006
What can I say? the best ever PI series comes to DVD, complete with original pilot episode,looking as fresh and new now as it did in the 7O's.
Intelligent, off-beat scripts, realistic location shooting and of course the sublime laid back charm of James Garner which keeps it all together.
Shame the region 2 version doesn't include the Garner interview available on region 1, maybe with season 2 ?
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2005
I am thrilled that the Rockford Files has made it's way to DVD at long last. James Garner was and still is a fantastic actor who played Rockford for around ten years.There where seven series spanning the 1970's to the early 1980's with some tv movies. James Garner quit the role after a bout of ill health and back problems.Rockford was an ex-con framed for a crime he didn't commit and then he decides to take to being a private eye.The reason isn't given in the series or why he lives in a caravan by the beach. He is layed back and has a strong sense of duty to his clients and a respect for the police.He drives a gold Pontiac Trans-am which as a car nut is a bonus for me alone.On the DVD we have 22 episodes uncut but there are no extras which is a real shame.I hope this set sells well so Universal Pictures will issue the rest of the series soon.There is also a brilliant book published in the USA all about the series which is worth a look.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
For all those who love 70's nostalgia you will love this. Good old Jim Rockford in his checked sports jacket and high waist band trousers, driving his gold Pontiac
to pursue the baddies in sunny California. It always seems to end in the customary car chase. Great stuff
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
I purchased this dvd for good old fashioned entertainment. I remember watching this series many years ago when bad language, sex, were never part of every day viewing. This sort of entertainment sadly is a thing of the past.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
This is a great series. I am a fan of 70s shows beacause i remember watching them as a young child. When you do go back and see some of them though they do not stand the test of time. I believe one of the few exceptions is the Rockford files the show really stand up . James Garner was always excellent and the scripts were of the highest quality. I think this is what makes the show stand out. As for the DVD the quality as you would expect is excellent but there are no extras which is a little disapointing but this is a quality show and i would recommeded it to everyone not just fans of 70s TV.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A formulaic but enjoyable detective series, well acted by James Garner. This is the work that made him a household name and the series was very popular. There are 23 installments to series 1 and this early box-set is good value. the character, Jim Rockford, is not quite a soft-hearted do-goioder, but he works hard to make a buck and is often left holding the tab for his clients who fail to pay-up. He is dogged rather than heroic, gun averse and not a stranger to the jailhouse: the plots are simple, familiar, but in a way, quite compelling and I find I can watch a complete disc of 4 episodes one after the other without feeling bored. Set and made in the 70's, it doesn't look to out of date, although all of the cars sound terrible, even a Rolls-Royce, which is in one episode, compared to modern versions. He sometimes gets the girl, but this looks awkward and is usually forgotten in the next episode. The opening titles are great, but not the clips advertising scenes from the episode and it doesn't look kitche in the way of Starsky and Hutch: entertaining, watchable without being in any way demanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
The Rockford Files is a programme,like Streets of San Fransisco,I grew up with.But,thanks to spaces in empty schedules and specialising channels showing,for example Quincy,there is a new interest in these age old series.Harmless sleuthing with no bad language and minimal violence and interesting storylines.Lest we forget the brilliant theme by Mike Post and Pete Carpenter.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2011
Great to see this series again. James Garner is simply superb in this type of role and the whole thing has an easy-going lightness of touch that you just don't get in 'cop' shows these days, from either side of the Atlantic. All they seem concerned with is trying to out-do each other in the levels of gore that they can drum up, to no particular effect as far as I am concerned since the plots are usually rubbish. 'Rockford' is much better - sheer entertainment.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)