Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eyemouth High S1 give this one Five Stars!
My S1 class has watched `Swimming upstream' and think that the review is too negative! Here are the views of four young people - for whom the film was intended:

`Swimming Upstream' is about a young boy called Tony who has a very hard home life. His father (Gregory Rush) always boozed with alcohol and says he's no good. Also his mother Dora (Judy Davis( is a...
Published on 7 Dec 2009 by Ian Yule

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good but...
The plot is good because is a real story of these people but the video editings reminds of thosen on 80's so that makes it a little bit boring and the film is going slow all the time.
Published on 14 Jun 2005 by spourtis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eyemouth High S1 give this one Five Stars!, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Ian Yule "ianyule" (Dunbar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimming Upstream [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
My S1 class has watched `Swimming upstream' and think that the review is too negative! Here are the views of four young people - for whom the film was intended:

`Swimming Upstream' is about a young boy called Tony who has a very hard home life. His father (Gregory Rush) always boozed with alcohol and says he's no good. Also his mother Dora (Judy Davis( is a kind hearted woman who suffers from Harold's temper. If this isn't bad enough his brother Harold Jnr bullies him and teases him. At the start of the film Harold Jnr is his father's favourite son even though Tony is winning swimming galas and has worked himself up to the Australian Nationals.
My personal favourite scene is when Tony is about to go to college and he talks to his mum at the beach. This is gripping and emotional.
When this film ended I felt sad but really happy ... also thankful! My life is so much better compared to that.
People my age would like this film because it is gripping and exciting.

Hayley Robinson (aged 12)

`Swimming Upstream' is a passionate film about a family overpowered by a selfish drunken father. Tony never really settled in with his dad. As his brother John and Tony battle it out to be Australia's best back stroke swimmer Dora (Tony's Mum) tries to deal with the family's problems. Harold is a biased father who is only in favour of John winning. As Tony progresses to Harvard (America's best university) with a full scholarship Dora manages to push Harold out of the family's life for the better. At his first visit to the school pool Tony manages his best back stroke ever. Young people will jump into this film because it is so encouraging. If you don't try to be number one you'll never be number one.

Jake Crombie (Age 12)

"Swimming Upstream" is about an Australian family who have a very hard life living with their alcoholic father who loses his job. The father, Harold, never supports his middle son Tony and wishes he was never born. Toy had a very difficult life getting beat up by his alder brother and in the end because they are competing against each other he also loses the friendship of his younger brother.
As Tony grows up he struggles to get attention so he uses swimming to get away from his family. His mother, Dora, is very supportive and looks out for Tony. My favourite part is when Dora throws Harold's breakfast over him. I would recommend thus film to young people because it is very exciting and passionate. It's a very good film.

Jamie White (age 12)

"Swimming Upstream" is a very good film about a family living in Australia who are living in poverty because Tony's dad spends a lot of money on drink. Tony's mum Dora keeps the family together by stopping fights in the family and tries to stop her husband from drinking too much. I think their dad should spend more time with his five children and spend more of the money on the children's clothes and food than his drink.
I think the most amazing thing was when Tony followed his dreams to go to the Empire Games then he goes to Harvard University where he keeps up his swimming and gets his best ever time. This is one of the best films I have watched I would give this film 5 stars. You will like this film - be sure to become a fighter not a biter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimming Upstream [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
i loved this dvd it arrived in good condition and is a great film i would recommended to anyone who likes to watch film that have family drama as well as great lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimming Upstream [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This movie is just brilliant I'm sorry I waited so long to watch it. The story unwinds naturally and involves the viewer perfectly. The only negative is that the swimming isn't really going to impress a swim fan. Still it's a movie about a swimmer not a documentary on swimming and most viewers would probably not even notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good human interest story., 30 Oct 2011
By 
C. Robert Clay "rob1957" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimming Upstream [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Jesse Spencer (Billy Kennedy from 'Neighbours') plays a great part as a struggling professional swimmer with an ogre of a father/trainer who does nothing but berate his performances in the pool. Fighting against all odds, he manages to fulfil his goals. Emotional and uplifting storyline based on a real life character. 'Billy' also looks fit as a butcher's dog in his speedos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you love water, that's your film, 26 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Swimming Upstream [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
A small film about an Australian family. Supposedly a real family. But you never know. To get out of the dregs of the working class in Australia, dockworker is the father, out of a family dominated by an alcoholic father who had too many children, but in those days after the second world war it was the norm, and to do it with glory and fame, that's the objective of Tony. He did it, that young son of that family who liked the piano, who loved swimming but only had his escape in mind, becoming the best in order to get to Harvard on a full scholarship. And he did it for sure. The film insists a lot on the rivalry between the two brothers pushed by the father into swimming, and swimming the same style. The father prefers the other son and gets berserk when it is Tony who wins, and that will precipitate the end. Tony's success provides him with the scholarship he wanted and he can go and swimming becomes an exacting hobby since swimming brought him what he wanted and he does not need it any more. The rivalry between the two brothers is pathetic. The father is a disaster of a father. But the escape of Tony is just an escape and does not bring much sympathy. He just goes away. And he drops the tool he worked on for twelve years or even maybe more once he has reached the object of his desire. Something is missing at the end: I guess real life is not always as much fun as a good film and does not make more than average films.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne & University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good but..., 14 Jun 2005
The plot is good because is a real story of these people but the video editings reminds of thosen on 80's so that makes it a little bit boring and the film is going slow all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad2bbc6c)

This product

Swimming Upstream [DVD] [2005]
Swimming Upstream [DVD] [2005] by Mitchell Dellavergin (DVD - 2005)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews