Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absurd genius
this is one of the most exciting, inventive and catchy records i've heard from a british band in years, it goes against the grain of the current crop of po-faced young bands taking themselmes far too seriously and creating banal unimaginative rubbish for music.
They genuinely come across as if they don't care what people think and even heavily critique their own work...
Published on 11 April 2006 by S P A

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special...
For Screening Purposes Only

I found Circle, Square, Triangle on a compilation a while back and had this CD on my wish list for a long time. Eventually I bought it but was somewhat disappointed with the content. Circle, Square, Triangle really did give me fake hope as the rest of the album fails to deliver anything as good as this song. The lyrics are...
Published on 18 July 2006 by SMH


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absurd genius, 11 April 2006
By 
This review is from: For Screening Purposes Only (Audio CD)
this is one of the most exciting, inventive and catchy records i've heard from a british band in years, it goes against the grain of the current crop of po-faced young bands taking themselmes far too seriously and creating banal unimaginative rubbish for music.
They genuinely come across as if they don't care what people think and even heavily critique their own work in the music press, which is a refreshing attitude to see. There maybe accusations of style over content but there is no pretention and ego at play here, just great music, and it is great, even if the band don't always agree :)
It's a real shame they have decided to move on to doing new things as I believe that their future recordings would have more than exceded everyone expectations.
Also, I don't normally review records, but this is a recent personal favourite and I find it terrible that one person is allowed to rate this album with one star on multiple occasions, everyone is entitled to their opinion, but sparky mark keeps leaving his opinion and inturn unfairly reducing this albums star rating, his additional 'reviews' should be deleted!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real shame it's the only album they'll make, 4 Jan. 2006
This review is from: For Screening Purposes Only (Audio CD)
A great album by a great band, one of the few original indie-rock bands to make it 'big' in the music scene for year.

Hearing this album and seeing the attention it gained got me so excited that a new wave of british music had arrived at our doorstep and that the great underground UK bands would finally start to reap their rewards in the mainstream.

Alas no, but at least we're left with what is one of the best debut albums released by a british band in years.

Incisive, imaginitive, angsty and full of hooks and great guitar lines, maybe they'll come back and make another album one day, but I doubt it, they seem like a strong minded bunch and I cant see them changing their decision any time soom.

Let's hope their new bands 'RATATTAGG' and 'Lightspeed Champion' end up being as good as this band were!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than most people would have you believe, 22 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: For Screening Purposes Only (Audio CD)
It must be frustrating being a member of Test Icicles- you recored one of the most refreshing and exciting albums to emerge for quite some time, you take some top thrash metal and punk riffs, mess them up and make them sound fresh, funky, even danceable and then you get slapped with the same tag as radio friendly indie bands like Franz Ferdinand and Kaiser Chiefs.
No disrespect to these bands because I personally think they are brilliant but just because Test Icicles are signed to Domino and get raved about in the NME it does not make them a part of the new wave of indie currently taking the dancefloors and supermarket shelves of the world by storm. The bulk of the critism aimed at this band seems to be coming from the eye liner wearing scensters who were expecting another Gang of Four influenced band for them to pout over down the indie disco and then got all scared when confronted with a punk/funk/metal fusion of truly intense proportions.
Its no wonder they hate it but im sure that there will be people out there who have a more open mind when it comes to music who will really grow to love this album. Yes its loud and unsubtle but listen to a track like Whats Your Damage on full blast and i defy you not to jump around with a huge grin on your face. Then theres Circle Square Triangle, a track that even those who sound like your granny when confronted with this album ("theres no tune! you cant hear the words! turn it down! etc...")will have to admit is a "proper choon" which manages to be brillantly funky and rocking without sounding anything at all like Red Hot Chilli Peppers (hooray!).
The only critism I would really voice is that some of the tracks pass by without making much of an impact and fail to stand out next to the brilliant singles taken from the album. But this is a debut, thats to be expected. The point is, this band are origonal, exciting and, most importantly, have some killer songs to back up their cool hair and snazzy pink guitars. If you like your music loud but dont want to waste your life listening to Slayer, you could do alot worse than seek out Test Icicles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to test icicles. Listen carefully., 7 Nov. 2005
By 
Mr. J. H. Shaw "ziggyshaw164" (Burton on Trent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For Screening Purposes Only (Audio CD)
Well, this album is certainly messed up. I wasn't going to write a review, but the albums been out a week and no1s put anything yet so im going to have to. I just caught these guys at the birmingham barfly on halloween, and they were awesome. I had neck damage for like two days. Anyway, the albums really good, and captures their live show well, BUT this is not the next album for all you sell-out scenesters to bop along to in between kaiser chiefs medleys. This album does have those franz guitars that we love so much, but they are so deeply hidden under screaming, metal riffs and bizarrely, dub beats that bounce off the wall in the middle of 'catch it.' I'd recommend getting the boa vs python single as well as its been remastered for the album and sounds a bit different. Not worse, just different. I really like this album, especially 'pull the lever' 'all you need is blood' and 'party on dudes (get hype)' which sounds like the beastie boys and slayer. Its crazy with like 8 z's (Oh God i sound like the nme) but its really good. Highly recommended, the only reason i didnt give it 5 stars is because i cant see it attaining classic status, but it easily deserves 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best debut albums out there, 30 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: For Screening Purposes Only (Audio CD)
Got this on the day of release expecting something that would only warrant a few listens. But i have to say, it is one of the best and most innovative debut albums there is, up there with Up The Bracket and Is This It? as my favourite debut albums of the 2000's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special..., 18 July 2006
This review is from: For Screening Purposes Only (Audio CD)
For Screening Purposes Only

I found Circle, Square, Triangle on a compilation a while back and had this CD on my wish list for a long time. Eventually I bought it but was somewhat disappointed with the content. Circle, Square, Triangle really did give me fake hope as the rest of the album fails to deliver anything as good as this song. The lyrics are indecipherable and a bit on the pretentious side, the screaming goes a bit too far on tracks like 'Shark' which start of with so much promise but like I said, fail to deliver when it counts.

If, and here I am in danger of sounding like someone Nan, you are into noise, guitar distroying solos and songs about murder's the band obviously haven't taken part in, then this is definately for you. But sadly, as much as I wanted to like this album it just didn't cut it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest band of all time, 1 Jun. 2007
This review is from: For Screening Purposes Only (Audio CD)
Buy this and be amazed. Its impossible to describe in words what this sounds like, without sounding like a journalist that makes up improbable situations. Stop wasting your time and listen to the best album of 2005, and my personal favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Leaves Me Cold, 12 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: For Screening Purposes Only (Audio CD)
Great hair covers a multitude of sins, but this isn’t one of them! This CD will clearly get more use as a beer coaster on my coffee table than it will grace my stereo. I caught these guys at the tail end of a DFA 1979 gig and was intrigued by their hip-hop/ metal/ disco-rawk mash up and so I got the album. Yes, all of the aforementioned elements are present on the album and for that, Test Icicles score high points in the concept dept; however, concept is not enough to carry a band that comes across as a messy music-genre cut n’ paste job. They have some great ideas and fantastic riffs but clearly don’t know how to patch them together in a mastered manner. Their balls-out, fired up performance may lead me to see them live again, but there is no impetus whatsoever to put this on my stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For Screening Purposes Only
For Screening Purposes Only by Test Icicles (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews