Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars18
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2005
HMHB have been playing some of these songs live for a while now. Everyone is a gem, as you'd expect from the boys from the Wirral. With such underwhelming titles as "Joy Diviison Oven Gloves" you know you're onto a winner. To say that HMHB take the pith out of the rounded orange that it is pop is a truism, but one well worth repeating. Listen, learn and laugh. Sheer indie craft at it's best.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2006
How do Half Man Half Biscuit Always manage to outdo themselves?
I didn't think much could top the brilliance of Cammell Laird Social Club, but I was Pleasingly mistaken.
HMHB have always been one of favourite bands, and I had already heard a few of the tracks from this CD from Peel & Kershaw Sessions, like Joy Division Oven Gloves, Corgi Registered Friends, Mate of the bloke and Asparagus Next Left, but the tracks that were new to me, such as the sheer genius of 'We Built this village on a trad. arr. tune', 'S*** arm, Bad tattoo' and 'Restless Legs,' were incredible to hear for the first time, and timeless ones like 'For What is Chatteris..?' and 'Deppressed beyond tablets' make you feel as if you could never tire of HMHB, and you won't.
My advice is, if you see this in a shop and you don't own it, Buy it. If you do, Buy it as a present for a friend.
I give this: 100/100
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2006
To steal lyrics off the last album, this album is definitely more "song based". Although I've loved every HMHB release so far, they have had of late a lot of non-musical tracks. I find these very funny, but I do, in time, find myself skipping them. Not so with Achtung Bono. From start to end, this album is packed with catchy tunes and great lyrics. The more you listen, the more you discover - the great thing about HMHB is that every line means something, it's just that it might not mean anything to you until several years later! What Is Chatteris... is probably one of the best songs they've ever written, a sort of typical HMHB sad yet funny dejection ballad.
If you're not already an HMHB fan, this album is a good intro. It did take eight weeks to deliver, but since all the local shops had either sold out or had their copies nicked, I didn't have a lot of choice. It was worth the wait.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2006
From start to finish this is the definitive HMHB album. There's no fillers here. Nigel is at his savage and witty best and is improving with age. Cult tracks in a band's set are invariably older but there's at least two on this album alone - a fact I witnessed at the Arches in Glasgow last year. 'Joy Division Oven Gloves' and 'We Built This Village (on a Trad Arr Tune)' are probably not the best tracks but they bring out a feverish crowd reaction. 'Upon Westmister Bridge' will go down in music history for the lines:

"Help me Mrs Mendlicott I don't now what to do,

I've only got three bullete and there's four of Motley Crue".

No other band are doing funny social satire to the same degree as the Bicuits. 4x4 owners and will hate it. The rest of us can't wait until their next offering
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Not a single bad track!! From restless legs to joy division oven gloves, certainly a cult classic and lyricaly obscure to say the least
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
Every track is an earworm and the lyrics are excellent. Love it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2007
This album is so good I bought the tee shirt.
I agree with the other reviewers that other albums have oddities in them, which though very good, you do tend to skip after a number of times. This is not the case with this album - the first song, Restless Legs is one of the best they have done, along with the third song Where is Chatteris? They even mention the Quantocks in another song (which they walk up wearing Joy Division oven gloves to give you a flavour of the band). The album opens strongly, has a great middle and a great song at the end.
Its this or their first album, Back in the DHSS which I rate as their best. How many other bands could you say that about?
If you like music and have a sense of humour and you haven't bought a HMHB album why haven't you? Buy this one and see what you are missing.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
This is there best album to date and most accessible to new comers to the biscuits
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Brilliant album, arrived quickly...nice!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2005
One to two weeks? Given that Amazon's delivery estimates are optimistic at best, I'd be a little put off from ordering this from them. I pre-ordered the previous biscuits album from them, and got it over a month after it appeared in high street record chain stores.
They aren't great at supplying things which aren't supplied by the truckload. If you aren't buying a Robbie Williams album, best look elsewhere. Even popular independant music gets very poor treatment here.
22 comments|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£12.40

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)