Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good dvd
I bought this dvd for my mother who loves Michael Flatley. The dvd is excellent but unfortunately there are hardly any sequences with the man himself. If you just like Irish dancing and Riverdance this is excellent but if you want Michael Flatley in particular you need to by something else.
Published on 11 Sept. 2011 by Clarabelle

versus
178 of 178 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best and some bits edited to death
It would be unfair to judge this DVD too harshly just because it's not what I expected. If you purchased a CD entitled 'The Best of Eric Clapton' or 'The Best of Pink Floyd', you'd expect to get a fine selection of their best songs - whole songs, probably from a variety of concerts. That was the sort of thing I was hoping for from this DVD: a simple collection of the...
Published on 8 Oct. 2006 by T. Bobley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

178 of 178 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best and some bits edited to death, 8 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Riverdance: The Best Of Riverdance [DVD] (DVD)
It would be unfair to judge this DVD too harshly just because it's not what I expected. If you purchased a CD entitled 'The Best of Eric Clapton' or 'The Best of Pink Floyd', you'd expect to get a fine selection of their best songs - whole songs, probably from a variety of concerts. That was the sort of thing I was hoping for from this DVD: a simple collection of the best performances spliced seamlessly together in sequence to give the impression of a pleasingly coherent whole. There are a few sections where we're treated to a whole dance and I enjoyed those very much. However, an unbelievable amount of savage butchery was carried out on too many of the dances, making them seem terribly disjointed. In these sections we see a few seconds of a group dancing on say, a brightly lit stage wearing green dresses in one country, then it suddenly changes to a group performing a different dance (or possibly a different part of the same dance) to the same music, wearing red dresses on a darkly lit stage in another country, then it quickly changes again, and so on. This is so horribly disorientating that I stopped watching until the dance finished and the next nice, smooth, unmangled dance was shown. And in addition to this awful jerky presentation, the dances and songs were interspersed with sections where a lady stands or walks about talking to the camera, explaining what the next bit will be about. I wish they'd included a printed programme in the DVD box instead of subjecting us to these constant annoying interruptions. If only I'd known what to expect, I might have enjoyed it more. It's almost like buying what you expect to be a concert and discovering when you get it home that you've accidentally bought a documentary about the concert instead. There's enough on this DVD to make me want more than ever to see an entire, unmutilated and uninterrupted performance of Riverdance. Most of the parts that the editing hackers left unscathed are truly wonderful. So my recommendation to anyone wishing to buy a DVD of Riverdance is, try to get a version that's unadulterated and entire. I see that there are other DVD versions of Riverdance for sale here at Amazon. But if you want a documentary and a montage of Riverdance, this DVD will probably suit you well enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixing of different shows *within* numbers, 15 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Riverdance: The Best Of Riverdance [DVD] (DVD)
The backgrounds, colouring & imagery are lovely and the dances impressive and sparkling.

But I find it necessary to emphasize the mixing/editing as others have done. Some of the numbers contain video from 3 different shows. Therefore (as mentioned) sometimes the colour of the dancers' clothes very noticably changes between red and green whenever the camera view changes, for instance. Of course the lead dancers also often magically change within these numbers.

The music is excellent and runs smoothly. However this means that the music comes only from one show at a time. While the editors have done a very good job, occasionally you notice that the video from one or two of the other shows isn't quite in sync with the music. If the show didn't contain tap dancing, I might not have noticed - unfortunate.

I think Riverdance is excellent and there were several numbers I hadn't seen earlier, but I'd rather have the Live from New York version, which I expect to give 5 stars. Make sure you get the version you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Riverdance Mutilated, 2 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Riverdance: The Best Of Riverdance [DVD] (DVD)
Although I enjoyed most of this DVD - as I enjoyed the show - I was disappointed to see that some of the dances had been edited almost to death. Riverdance itself exists as a heavily-edited version of the Eurovision performance; and then as a collection of two- or three-second snippets clumsily edited together to avoid showing the same two lead dancers.
This is like playing a piece of music with two or three second bits from various performances spliced together i.e. a massive disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good dvd, 11 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this dvd for my mother who loves Michael Flatley. The dvd is excellent but unfortunately there are hardly any sequences with the man himself. If you just like Irish dancing and Riverdance this is excellent but if you want Michael Flatley in particular you need to by something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad editing ruins great show, 12 May 2007
This review is from: Riverdance: The Best Of Riverdance [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunateley this DVD ruined Riverdance for me. I eagerly bought it but, rather than showing the best performance of each itemn, I was presented with edits of three different performances, chopping and changing in mid item with no continuity. I'll just have to hope that the original, which I have on video, is released on DVD (seems a forlorn hope now), or buy the New York show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should of been called River sing, 17 Jan. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riverdance: The Best Of Riverdance [DVD] (DVD)
I was surprised how much this dvd focused on spanish dance, tap and singing considering the show is call RIVER "DANCE". In fact not much irish dancing at all and each scene swaps from show to show to show and does get pretty tedious after a while and you don't actually get to see an entire dance set at all. You have to endure the large proportion of singing and playing of intruments which is ideal if you wanted a documentary on the show. To call this the best of River "DANCE" is Shameful to say the least. IN fact the only good thing about this DVD is the Tap Dancer scene which is amazing and the first time I had ever seen it. If you want to see Irish Dancing in it's glory buy Lord of the Dance or Feet of Flames they are amazing and a complete credit to Micheal Flatley and his team who have worked really hard to produce shows of absolute brilliance which will be hard to beat. Maybe I have been spoilt !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spectacular dance dvd, 23 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Riverdance: The Best Of Riverdance [DVD] (DVD)
Owned this on video tape years ago. Discovered the DVD and ordered a
copy. Had forgotten what a fantastic show this is, entertaining and
mesmerising all the way through. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST OF RIVERDANCE (dvd), 28 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Riverdance: The Best Of Riverdance [DVD] (DVD)
Here's Michael Flatley and his Riverdance team doing their magnificent interpretations of the traditional (and not so traditional) Irish Jig. It's really fantastic what they can do with their feet, and the steps in complete unison in group form are unbelieveable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Riverdance (DVD), 9 April 2009
By 
S. Snailum (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riverdance: The Best Of Riverdance [DVD] (DVD)
A little disappointing in that it consists of several performances cut together rather than one set of "stars". The "Behind the Scenes" Extra was dreadful and not worth including.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Compilation, 12 July 2010
By 
R. Johnson (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riverdance: The Best Of Riverdance [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great compilation of Riverdance performances and is a 'must have' item for lovers of the genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Riverdance: The Best Of Riverdance [DVD]
£17.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews