Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clarkson doing what he does best.
Anonther one of Jeremy Clarkson's annual DVD's and, although this one is themed differently and on first impressions appears generally different, it really isn't. It is still highly enjoyable, though, and you can't help but laugh out loud when he buys a brand new car from the dealer then proceeds to smash it up with a sledgehammer right under the...
Published on 14 Mar. 2006 by LA LA

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 10% new material, Come on clarkson
If you are a regular viewer of BBC's Top Gear then I’m afraid that you may be a little disappointed with this DVD. Don't get me wrong, I do enjoy watching monstrously bad cars being Tortured and destroyed as much as the next bloke, but the rest of the DVD is just re-shot reviews of cars that have been on top gear and Clarkson repeating his comments.
Published on 5 Jan. 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clarkson doing what he does best., 14 Mar. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD] (DVD)
Anonther one of Jeremy Clarkson's annual DVD's and, although this one is themed differently and on first impressions appears generally different, it really isn't. It is still highly enjoyable, though, and you can't help but laugh out loud when he buys a brand new car from the dealer then proceeds to smash it up with a sledgehammer right under the salesmen's noses. That car was definitely one of the cars going to hell. It is very childish but this DVD mixes the destructive stuff quite well with the tyre-smoking, exhaust barking, engine thrashing stuff too. As usual then- if you can't get enough of our Jezza (and I can't) then you'll love this. If you don't then you probably won't have even got to this part of the review. Highly enjoyable, good old fashioned, heart warming viewing. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarkson at full throttle, 27 Nov. 2005
By 
This review is from: Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the tv ad for this and thought i would try it as i love Top Gear. This is even better as clarkson goes even further than he does on TV. At one point he buys a brand new car and then procedes to smash it up outside the showroom.
The Stig is also in it and makes a brilliant arrival in a helicopter.
The cars are brilliant and i really love the crazy new TVR and the new baby Aston V8!!
All in all a great DVD for any clarkson fans out there!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clarkson's 2005 Review of the Best Cars of the Year, 13 Sept. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a fan of Mr Clarkson, even though he once slagged off the BMW 130i and was completely wrong about it (I've owned a 130i for the last 3 years and it's been a faultlessly reliable, exhilarating sports car). This is a 2005 collection of Jezza doing what he does best, applying his scalpel sharp critique to a wide range of supercars. He drools over an Aston Martin Vantage convertible, watching it makes you want to reach for the second hand classic car mags and start looking for your own high powered soft top. He slaughters a Triumph TR7, quite rightly too, I owned one at university in 1986 and it broke down 6 times in 5 months, due to electrical faults and engine malfunctions - Jezza is right when he disparages the TR7 as one of the worst cars of all time. He lauds the BMW M5, calling the V10 engine one of the greatest of all time, and slavers over a Ferrari F430, perfectly understandably. He melts rubber in a TVR Sagaris. As always, the camerawork and editing is first rate, and Jeremy applies his trademark acerbic wit to each vehicle. I normally give his DVDs 5 stars, but I knocked one off here because he spends a bit too long on some rather insipid cars, including the Citroen 2CV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jezza rules, 6 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD] (DVD)
Got this for xmas and thought it was brilliant - all 72 minutes of it. Fantastic cars and great demolitions, especially the Perodua which is hammered to death, with a sledgehammer right outside the actual car showroom jezza bought it from.
Great action pieces on the Ferrari 612, the Enzo and the Aston V8.
And the Stig makes an appearance - what more could us Top Gear fans ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 10% new material, Come on clarkson, 5 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a regular viewer of BBC's Top Gear then I’m afraid that you may be a little disappointed with this DVD. Don't get me wrong, I do enjoy watching monstrously bad cars being Tortured and destroyed as much as the next bloke, but the rest of the DVD is just re-shot reviews of cars that have been on top gear and Clarkson repeating his comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best dvd yet, 26 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD] (DVD)
This new Clarkson epic really rocks – as the main man takes a sledgehammer to a brand new car right outside the showroom where he bought it. He also turns a Renault Espace into a convertible, courtesy of a chainsaw. He drives some brilliant cars like the new baby Aston and the Ferrari 612. My favourite bit though is his drag race with The Stig in a corvette and TVR. This is a must for all Top gear fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 141 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Top gear but less good!, 22 Nov. 2005
By 
This review is from: Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of top gear and caught most episodes this year. I think this is one of the main reasons I've given this DVD such a low rating. Its basically an hour an a quarter of wheel spins with cars you've already seen on top gear. It also features smashing up of rubbish cars in yet more old and unimaginative ways. Seriously, how many times can you see cars being demolished and still find it funny.
Its watered down Top gear. Its unoriginal, repetive, the script is stale and he constantly repeats comments he's already made in the tv series. You don't get the amusing rivalry and banter with co-hosts, no interesting off-the-wall features. Just jeremy driving sports cars over and over again, and then it ends. I was truely sick of Jeremy Clarksons voice droaning on by the end of the DVD... And this is from someone who is a big fan of clarkson, top gear and cars! Waste of money, don't bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of heaven, but mostly hell..., 2 Jan. 2006
By 
Optimaximal (Street, Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD] (DVD)
Clarkson is a motoring god... The man can make a Haynes manual sound interesting and his analogies on Top Gear often make be blurt whatever I am drinking at the time out of my nose, but Heaven & Hell leaves a lot to be desired.
The DVD runs for a paltry 72 minutes (~65 once all the music and other fluff is taken out) and is split approximately 70:30 between Heaven and Hell - the shockingly good and the absolutely awful of the motor industry - but there lies the problem with the DVD... It promised so much good stuff involving supercars and so much destruction of the hellions yet fails to deliver on both counts.
The Supercars are just paraded around as if they're on Top Gear with none of the wit, clever writing or set pieces seen in the show and the Perodua is the only 'Hell' car that even gets a proper send off - The Metro is hardly destroyed (instead, they get a stunt driver to recreate a scene from The Driver), the Toyota is just driven into a wall and two others just get involved in a head on shunt.
Basically, this is yet another disappointed venture by the number one motoring journalist when he attempts to do anything that doesn't specifically feature TG in the title... Just watch BBC 2 on Sundays at 8pm and save your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining dross!, 24 April 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD] (DVD)
Nope this isn't as good as Top Gear, but it does feature some superb cars, as well as the rubbish.

FYI the cars are:
Maserati Quattroporte
Renault Espace
Aston Martin DB9 Volante, Aston Martin V8 Vantage
Range Rover Sport
Triumph TR7
Ford Scorpio
Perodua Kelisa
BMW M5
Ferrari F340, Ferrari Enzo, Ferrari 612 Scaglietti
VW Golf GTI
Citroen 2CV
Chevrolet Corvette
TVR Sagaris
Vauxhall Monaro

As some previous reviewers have already said, in places it is funny, but it lacks the spark that Clarkson has when he's working with Hammond and May. He may be the star, and the best thing about Top Gear, but he is not as good without Hammond and May.

Fortunately for me I picked this up very cheap. If I'd paid the normal price for this it would only have got 3 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
Paul (SHEERNESS, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD] (DVD)
Paid a penny for this so can't complain. This is not one of Jez's better efforts. I think he must of made this to to pay his paper bill or something as it's never going to be a best seller. Brings the ex Stig in to help out but this fails in every way. I'm a real Top Gear addict so it gets 2 stars because of the pittance I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD]
Clarkson - Heaven and Hell [DVD] by Jeremy Clarkson (DVD - 2005)
£1.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews