Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Flamenco Guitarist
Paco de Lucia is without doubt one of the greatest guitar players in the world. On this double CD are many of his greatest recordings from 30 years of his life. If you only want one example of flamenco guitar in your collection - this is the one.The range is wonderful from solo guitar to duo to small group to guitar and orchesta, from pure Traditional to Nuevo Flamenco to...
Published on 21 Aug. 2009 by Andrew C. Mitchell

versus
1 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good to listen to unless you are learning to play guitar
No tunes just guitar music and some local songs sung wildly I cannot see how this can be recommended to anyone other than those who live in his country
Published 19 months ago by Terry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Flamenco Guitarist, 21 Aug. 2009
By 
Andrew C. Mitchell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
Paco de Lucia is without doubt one of the greatest guitar players in the world. On this double CD are many of his greatest recordings from 30 years of his life. If you only want one example of flamenco guitar in your collection - this is the one.The range is wonderful from solo guitar to duo to small group to guitar and orchesta, from pure Traditional to Nuevo Flamenco to Jazz fusion and Classical Music, from interpreting written notation to inspired improvisation. There is the high energy of Almoraima to the tenderness of Tio Sabas and the popular Entre dos Aguas. If like me, you know very little of the world of flamenco then this is a lovely intro to the Solea,Taranta, Rumba, Malaguenas, Sevillanas, Bulerias, Tanguillos, Fandangos. This double CD is spiced on ocasions with a little singing, hand clapping, and foottapping and the use of the maraccas. Other great musicians appear on some of the tracks eg. Chick Corea, John McLauglin and Al Di Meola and Paco's Sextet including Jorge Pardo on flute, Carles Benavent on bass, Rubem Dantas on percussion and his brothers Pepe de Lucia and Ramon de Algeciras. But having drawn attention to these marvellously vital aspects of this experience, at the centre of it all is the immense technical prowess, the emotional intensity and the exploring musical soul of Paco de Lucia. This is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best pick as the only recording from the master, 28 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
Paco de Lucía is silent of this anthology in his webpage, but as 10 out of 12 of the records that these songs are culled from are among his favorites, it might be safe to claim, that you could do worse when collecting a group of songs from the long career of this music master.

About the sound: in many ways the overall sound (not sound quality!) alters significantly from one track to another. To me, it is only the excess of room echo in many tracks and somewhat thinner sounds (compared to the good 1967-1981 recordings) on some more that is a nuisance, not the style variation itself.

About the music: This compilation proves that throughout his career the guitarist is a most virtuosic, melodic and compositionally & improvisationally inventive musician. Only a couple of pieces [the classic 'Entre Dos Aguas' & a terrible filler 'Rumba Improvisada'] are the clichée iv-III7-II-I7b9 -type of flamenco kitch, but they too are well played. So, some pieces, or, as it seems, some records, are better than others, but the virtuosity never fails to come out. Also the touch on the guitar is a crispest, strongest touch possible, only diminished by some recording technologies not so favourable to flamenco. The other musicians play (or tap or clap) well, as are the singers and the string orchestra (on one piece) good.

About the instrumentation: Paco de Lucía is _the_ man famous for bringing the flute and the cajón and the congas/bongos to flamenco, but luckily, to me, this compilation is for the most about one or two guitars, palmas [the hand claps] and zapateado [the foot taps]. Only on a few pieces there is a fretless bass or Latin percussion. Three peaces feature briefly the Arabic oud, a few others the flute, and one piece has (a useless) piano.

The one track [Chiquito] from J. McLaughlin-Al Di Meola -collaboration 'Passion, Grace & Fire' is a good pick. You might want to check the record in question, or 'Friday Night in San Francisco'.

If there's nothing but one compilation that you'd like to buy from Paco de Lucía, you might as well consider this, for it has more tracks than the elsewhere commended 'Entre Dos Aguas' and is cheaper than the anthology Paco compiled himself. The music is great and gives a good scope of what this master of flamenco guitar has done over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold..all shiny!, 20 July 2009
By 
Mr. P. Di Matteo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
Paco De Lucia is a grandmaster on classical guitar. From the 60's he's been wowing the world with amazing technical ability which flows seamlessly from his dexterity and rhythmic laden hands, he really is a genius, and this compilation has captured very well the essence of Paco De Lucia and gives you a comprehensive example of his collective musical ability. Open a San Miguel, sit back in the sun, and be swept away by the shear technical brilliance which Paco has unleashed upon the world for 40 odd years now. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Came to this via Cafe del Mar tapes and glad I did, 29 Jan. 2013
By 
Derek Ian Elder (Edinburgh, Sotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
If you enjoy Spanish guitar, this should be in your library. Two Paco de Lucia tunes thread their way through Jose Padilla's catalogue from Cafe del Mar in Ibiza: 'Entre Dos Aguas' and 'Aranjuez', the final two tracks on Disc 2 [look them up on YouTube to get a feeling for the music here].
I have those two tunes on a few Cafe del Mar tapes from the early 1990s but it took me a while to learn who was playing guitar. Paco de Lucia was credited by the composer of the Concerto de Aranjuez with giving the best interpretation of the work and that's an indication of the quality on this CD. There are tunes from about a dozen albums over a period of twenty years and in several musical styles - tango, fandango, rumba and others I wasn't familiar with.
For those who care about these things, the booklet with the CD is very detailed about the music, the player and the others he's played with - John McLaughlin, Pat Metheny, Larry Coryell... and Placido Domingo. Good company, I'd say.
Final comment: postal delivery was a little slow, but the actual CDs and jewel case are of good quality rather than the flimsy that's common nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anthology, 19 Oct. 2011
By 
Paul Magnussen (Campbell, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
Firstly, I should say that I do not own this collection. However, since I either do own or have heard all the pieces on it, I venture to add some information.

Firstly, an enlarged track listing, showing the styles of the pieces and their sources and dates:

01) Bulerías «Almoraima» from Almoraima (1976)
02) Canción de Amor from Zyryab (1990)
03) Soleá «Gloria al Niño Ricardo» from Siroco (1987)
04) Tangos «Sólo Quiero Caminar» from Solo Quiero Caminar (1981)
05) Fandangos «Punta Umbría» from Fabulosa guitarra (1967)
06) Rumba «Río ancho» from Almoraima
07) Danza Ritual del Fuego [Falla] from Falla (1978)
08) Bulerías «Compadres» from Zyryab
09) Taranta «Fuente y caudal» from Fuente y Caudal (1978)
10) Tanguillos «Casilda» from Siroco
11) Bulería «Cepa Andaluza» from Fuente y Caudal
12) Rumba Improvisada from Recital de Guitarra (1971)

01) Zyryab from Zyryab
02) Guajiras de Lucía from Fantasía Flamenca (1969)
03) Sevillanas «El Cobre» from Almoraima
04) Colombiana «Monasterio de Sal» from Solo Quiero Caminar
05) Rumba «Caña de azúcar» from Siroco
06) Alegrías «Barrio La Viña» from Duende Flamenco (1972)
07) Tío Sabas from Zyryab
08) Alegrías «La barrosa» from Siroco
09) Rondeña «Cueva del Gato» from Almoraima
10) Chiquito from Live... One Summer Night (1984)
11) Malagueñas «En La Caleta» from Fabulosa guitarra
12) Rumba «Entre dos aguas» from Fuente y Caudal
13) Concierto de Aranjuez [Rodrigo]: 1. Allegro Con Spirito from Concierto de Aranjuez (1991)

This shows it to be a fair sample of Lucía's career from 1967 (his first solo album) to 1991. The order, however, is chronologically a jumble, which will lead to some jarring transitions. Commendably, it excludes the early pot-boilers such as the Latin American albums; but perhaps it would have been nice to include some of the better duets with his brother, and with Ricardo Modrego.

The only other thing that raises the eyebrow is the inclusion of the Allegro from Aranjuez, rather than the ever-popular Adagio.

These reservations apart, it looks like a good sampler. You could certainly do a lot worse, for example the frightful Mi Historia. You might also consider Flamenco Virtuoso, which is cheaper but only has 17 tracks; and Entre dos Aguas (14).

I make the total time 117'35".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paco, you are the greatest, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
The late Paco de Lucia was and is in my eyes the greatest flamenco guitarist of the time, and a "general" guitarist of no ordinary merit. His interpretation of the Concerto de Ajanjuez set a new standard in my view (and also in the view of the composer by the way...) . The flamenco as played -- and composed -- by Paco de Lucia is often the most moving, and at the same time the easiest for non-gitanos to grab. Some of its compositions (Almoreima for example) can already be considered highlights, classics and summit of that music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent birthday present for work colleague!, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
My work colleague is one of those genuinely inspirational guitar teachers in his spare time and I wanted to get him a birthday gift which would show I actually put some thought into buying a gift; I also wanted it to be practical, not just a box of chocolates or a bottle of wine - so, I opted for this amazing CD and was not wrong - it was so well appreciated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lucia is one of the masters of the Spanish guitar, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
His playing is masterly. This is a disc for the collectors. Much is guitar-only, but there are various accompanying effects, some full orchestra. The harp features as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Paco de Lucia's work, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Margaret Skelton (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
This album contains a lselection of the best of Paco de Lucia's work throughout his career. It shows his tremendous range as well as his amazing skill and artistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paco de Lucia Gold, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
A very good selection of this superb players repertoire. We have truly suffered a great loss of a great guitarist with his passing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gold
Gold by Paco de Lucia (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews