Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No it isn't a remake...
...and aren't you glad? Really? A remake of the original would be a travesty!

Kidman is luminous as always and very funny in moments as a witch who wasn't allowed to watch Bewitched when she was growing up.

Caine is fab. Farrell is bearable. There are some great supporting actors.

This ISN'T an especially clever movie, but it has some...
Published on 19 Mar. 2007 by tiggrie AKA Sarah

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth Watching
You can't compare this movie to the television series because in a way it's nothing like it. I thought when I went to see the film that it was going to be just like the television series, Samantha and Darren are a happy couple but the problem is she's a witch, Darren knows it, her mother keeps getting involved in the relationship and mad chaos begins in each episode...
Published on 17 July 2006 by Adam


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth Watching, 17 July 2006
By 
Adam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bewitched [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
You can't compare this movie to the television series because in a way it's nothing like it. I thought when I went to see the film that it was going to be just like the television series, Samantha and Darren are a happy couple but the problem is she's a witch, Darren knows it, her mother keeps getting involved in the relationship and mad chaos begins in each episode.

But the film is actually about Will Ferrel wanting to remake Bewitched and when he finds Nicole Kidman in a book shop he thinks this is the girl to play Samantha in the remake of Bewitched. What he doesn't know is that Samantha really is a witch and when she overhears how the horrid Will Ferrel is just using her to make his way back into the limelight, she decides to put her magical powers to good use and seeks revenge on Ferrel with very funny results.

The beggining is slow, I have to admit, and at times the storyline does drag a little but if you stick with it I think you'll be pleased and amused towards the end.

But if you are expecting a movie remake of the Bewitched television series, this, sadly, isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One romcom where you'd rather the two leads never met in the first place, 9 July 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bewitched [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
It's rare for a big budget high-concept studio romantic comedy to be a complete disaster, but Nora Ephron's smugly post-modern 2005 update of Bewitched seems to go out of its way to turn the TV show's simple premise into... well, they can't really seem to make up their mind. The end result feels like the script went through dozens of completely different drafts and they kept three pages from each of them and stuck them together in a random order. Instead of being about a mortal who marries a witch who's trying to give up magic, it has Will Ferrell's fading and self-centred movie star inadvertently hiring Nicole Kidman's genuine witch who's trying to give up magic to be his submissive co-star in a TV remake of the show only to eventually fall for her for real. Which happens in the most convoluted, messy way possible as spells are cast, uncast, rewound and whatever as the film tries to make up its mind what to do next. Kidman overdoes the gauche naiveté while Ferrell is reduced to ever more tiresome variations of his hyperactive man child shtick and a badly off-form Shirley MacLaine totters through it clumsily as the actress playing Endora who might also really be a witch. Only Michael Caine as Samantha's perpetually horny warlock father and a last-minute deus ex machina cameo by Steve Carrell perfectly channelling Paul Lynde's Uncle Arthur come out of the increasingly tiresome and unfocused mess relatively unscathed. A few jokes are mildly amusing, but not nearly enough to hide the clueless storyline or the fact that this is one romcom where you'd rather the two leads never met in the first place.

Extras include deleted scenes, cast interviews, trivia track and a couple of featurettes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There's bad.....and then there's Bewitched, 15 Feb. 2006
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bewitched [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
With a cast that included Nicole Kidman, Michael Caine and Shirley MacLaine I expected good things from Bewitched. Boy was I wrong!! I seriously don’t think they could have done a worse job of making this film if they tried.
Will Ferrell plays Jack Wyatt, the washed-up actor who is trying to resurrect his film career by playing the lead as Darrin in the remake of the 1960’s sit-com Bewitched. All he needs is the perfect actress to play Samantha. Then he stumbles upon Isabel who has the nose-twitch that he wants and is just perfect for the part of Samantha. Endeared by Jack, Samantha signs up but it doesn’t take long until it becomes obvious who the real star of the show will be and although Isabel is a real witch she is on a quest to stop using her powers. But when Jack behaves like a ‘jerk’ she just can’t help herself.
Will Ferrell gives the most nauseating performance I’ve ever seen. His switch from bad-guy to good-guy is wooden to say the least. Nicole Kidman forgot everything she’s ever been taught about acting and gave the most mediocre performance of her career as Isabel. Only Michael Caine and Shirley MacLaine give performances worthy of mention. But all in all this film was just abysmal. There was no continuity of thought and nothing seemed to ‘mesh’. Awful is the best word to describe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cursed film to Be Bitched about !?, 17 Jan. 2008
By 
This review is from: Bewitched [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Oh it was always going to be 'touch and go' when playing about with the idea of bringing back the much loved and deeply cherished 'Bewitched' - I am sure there was plenty of goodwill by the viewers, wishing and hoping for a rendition that could recapture the real MAGIC of the tv series.

Nicole Kidman as Samantha was inspired casting - she plays the part very well and one can almost forgive the fact that she is NOT Elizabeth Montgomery because one can tell that she has put in a lot of work replicating characteristics, mannerisms and the downright 'niceness' of Samantha - the respect for the original is all there.

The apperances of Michael Caine (father), Shirley MacLaine (screen mother) and Steve Carell (uncle) are very amusing - one feels that they really should have had bigger parts to play as they lifted the whole feel of the movie when they were in the scene.

What lets this film down is the fact it is trying to be too clever for it's own good - a film about the making of a re-make of 'Bewitched' ?? The entire point of the 60's series was that it was simple. The new film tries to bulldoze us with the comic 'genius' of the day - Will Ferrell and wants us to see how unfair it is having to play Darrin, and thus play second fiddle to Samantha.

The audience always tolerated Darrin because he set up the best scenes for Samantha. Surely it said something when the original actor in the tv series was replaced and the audience wasn't bothered or even noticed !?! This film is almost a film about 'Darrin' (or the actor playing Darrin in the film !?), taking the focus away from Samantha for too long. We then have to believe that Samantha falls in love with this jerk, most detestable man on the planet.

It could have been so good - we all wanted it to be - but it was spoilt by Hollywood Producers who needed another vehicle to show us how 'wonderful' Will Ferrell is (maybe to Americans he is- who knows??)and a chance for Nicole Kidman to flex her Oscar Winning Acting muscles and be a 'Big Name' on the titles.

It had all the right ingredients to cast an enchanting spell over the viewers - but it ended up vexing them, and hexing itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unadulterated drivel. - The worst film I've ever watched !!!, 27 Jan. 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bewitched [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is the worst film I've had the misfortune to endure for a long time , how they persuaded Nicole Kidman Shirley Maclaine and Michael Caine to act in it I have no idea however I'm not surprised to see Will Ferrell in it as he's not exactly what you'd call a serious actor. To say the whole film was childish is giving children's entertainment a bad name. It's basically about making a modern version of the old popular TV program "Bewitched" and accidentally casting a real witch in the role of Samantha. I've never seen such a puerile stupid and idiotic attempt to make a comedy - don't watch unless you want to waste two hours on mindless trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Embarrassing and dull, 10 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Bewitched [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I am a sucker for the odd rom-com, and generally love Will Ferrell's sweet silliness and Nicole Kidman's versatile acting skills. This movie, however, was a complete waste of time. It's not funny, or clever, or even vaguely entertaining. Nicole Kidman appears to be trying to act like Marilyn Monroe, which she does very badly. Her character is supposed to be a gutsy airhead type, but she comes across more as being grossly childlike and unlikeable. Will Ferrell's character is inconsistent and therefore it is difficult to buy the character's transformation. Please do not waste your valuable time or money on this film. This is the first movie I have ever felt so strongly about that I felt I should warn people away from it. Take heed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Dreadfull, 28 April 2008
By 
Mr. T. Evans "Tombo The Great" (Worthing, near brighton, in the UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bewitched [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Im sorry, but for a romantic comedy, this was absolutely dreadfull.
I was literally sat there throughout the movie, sitting there thinking COME ON MAKE ME LAUGH!!! I didnt once!

I was also really very disappointed by the way this movie wasted the best actress in the movie Kristin Chenoweth. She didnt get anywhere near enough screen time!

A very very boring and disappointing movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sooo disappointing, 8 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Bewitched [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I saw Nora Ephron was the director, it also starred Nicole Kidman, Michael Caine and Shirley Maclaine - how could it fail?

Well...Shirley Maclaine was woefully underused, she must surely have been disappointed be the lack of scope in her role, and why oh why didn't they tie up the loose ends on her relationship with Caine?

Nicole Kidman sounded more like Meg Ryan than Meg Ryan - but should be praised for the effort she funnelled into the role.

Will Ferrell was charmless and un-funny.

Aunt Clara (sorry forget the acress's name) was a pale immitation of the original.

The script must have been thrown together.

I've given this two stars, because I did watch it to the end. I only give one star to films I abandon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bewitched but not bewitching., 10 Aug. 2008
By 
Allan Broadfield (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Have been watching the present re-runs of the tv series 'Bewitched', courtesy of Sky tv, and have found it quite amusing for it's time. I can see why it became a success in the sixties, however the recent film version was surprisingly bad considering the money and talent that has been thrown at it. Nicole Kidman seemed to lack any personality at all, in fact she seemed to sleepwalk her way through the proceedings, whereas Will Ferrell had enough charisma and gusto for Jerry Lewis, the Marx brothers, and the three stooges put together, but not in a good way, the way your uncle might act when drunk at your wedding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Lack of Real Magic, 16 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Bewitched [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I thought a movie about a real witch getting cast as Samantha in a remake of the classic 1960's show Bewitched was a wonderful premise and had real potential to recreate the original magic that was created. Nicole Kidman as the witch playing Samantha - wonderful. Michael Caine as her real father - brilliant. But unfortunately most of the movie fell flat. Kidman did well with what she had in a god awful script, and had Elizabeth Montgomery's nose twitch and other mannerisms down perfectly, but her actual character, Isabel Bigelow, was a very poor character. I liked how she wanted to live a normal life and give up magic, and just like Samantha in the show, couldn't help but use her magic to solve some of her problems. But I found her too whimsical and I wasn't expecting Kidman to speak in such a higher pitched voice. Michael Caine as her father was great, I liked how he kept talking to his daughter through various food products at the supermarket. But he rarely had much to do except to advise and console his daughter.

And now we come to the real stickler in this movie. Whilst I LOVE Will Ferrell in the fantastic Christmas movie Elf, he is beyond annoying in this movie. He plays an actor, Jack Wyatt, who is the most egotistical, self centred, biggest jerk of a character ever created. Ferrell was so over the top, and made Jack act like a complete child. Whilst his child-like mannerisms was charming in Elf, he comes across as a complete and utter maniac here. I couldn't understand how Isabel didn't tell him he was a jerk sooner, though at least she did eventually. But what I really found unbelievable was when he apologised to her, asked her to come back to the show and she forgave him, and I'm expected to believe he would change a lifetime's behaviour just like that. And then they start to fall in love. And that was without Isabel using her magic to change him. Eh. And then Isabel decides to tell Jack that she's a real witch. And he completely flips when she proves it to him by making him fly hanging on to her broomstick. Then REM's Everybody Hurts starts to play and we get a sequence of Jack and Isabel all upset. Jack starts to see witchy things everywhere and begins to think being with a real witch would be good. And so Uncle Arthur arrives (HUH?) to persuade him to chase after Isabel before she flies back home. I have to say, Steve Carrell was pretty good as Uncle Arthur, despite his very small role.

Whilst the movie does have some sweet tributes to the original show and their actors, it makes a complete mess of everything. Like Uncle Arthur appearing, another thing that confused the hell out of me was that Isabel had a 'real-life' Aunt Clara who collects doorknobs and messes up her spells. Was the movie trying to tell me that Isabel was in fact Samantha Stevens for real or what? Huh? And then at the end, with Isabel and Jack 'in love' and getting a house together, we have Gladys and Abner Kravitz as their neighbours. So they actually became their characters from the show? Or was that just part of the show they were filming? I guess it was trying to be charming and sentimental to the show at the end but I was just confused.

It was like there were a dozen scripts made for this movie, some terrible, some ok, and were just thrown together. And I must say I got quite bored with some parts of this movie too, and that very seldom happens when I expect to like a movie. I'm afraid to say that I won't be wanting to watch this one again in a hurry. In fact, I may sell the DVD I bought as a blind buy only a couple of weeks ago - it was that bad! I'll just stick to the actual TV show in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bewitched [UMD Mini for PSP] [2005] [US Import]
Used & New from: £7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews