Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2005
If you missed the outing of this excellent series on the Beeb, then you missed out on a viewing treat. With the clutter on TV these days, this stood out as being fresh, funny and accessible.
Discovered that I wasn't the only one to think so when at a dinner party a couple of weeks ago. There were 4 couples all talking on current TV programmes. The usual suspects were mentioned (X Factor, Strictly Come Dancing, etc) then Love Soup was raised and we all launched into our favourite bits and fell about laughing for half an hour.
Honestly, one of the best series we've seen in awhile. Recommend it highly!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2006
In fact, there will be a second series. The figures weren't spectacular, but consistent, and the Beeb has a job to appeal to everybody. Good work guys.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
This first series is funny, darkly witty and very affecting - especially if you are the kind of person who occasionally takes a step back from life and wonders what exactly is going on. This isn't just about laughs - some moments in particular are strikingly poignant. Also, worth buying simply for the fantastic and upbeat 1920s jazz soundtrack.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
I missed this when it appeared on TV and bought it on the strength of the Amazon reviews.

This is only just a comedy although it does have laugh out loud moments: there are slight overtones of "The Office" with as many embarassing moments as well.

Well acted, well written and available at an absurdly low price: fantastic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2006
What a brilliant comedy writer David Renwick is, he is simply in a class of his own. With the plethora of poor comedies and down right tripe on TV today, this series stood out as a refreshing, funny and intelligent change. Apparently it didn’t get the viewing figures and another series is unlikely. Shame on the viewing public!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2006
i really loved this show so when i found out it was on dvd, i went straight out and bought it. i really hope there will be a new series for us loyal fans who loved the show. The ending of the last show was to good to leave it just like that!

The characters were totally relatable, and many people find themselves in such similar situations, not knowing that the 'one' is so near. i really was rooting for these guys to meet! please bring on a second series BBC!!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Bought this after remembering how much I had enjoyed it when shown on TV.

It's an underrated gem, although beginning to look dated.

Nothing like it on TV at the moment so definitely worth purchasing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
If you haven't see this show, please watch it!! I adore Tamsin in this and enjoyed all her romantic adventures, along with those of her daft mates. A grown up comedy from the writer of 'One Foot in the Grave'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
Interesting, but rarely laugh out loud.

Excellent value for the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Simply brilliant, gentle irony, great characters superbly cast, great jazz score.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)