Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extensive archive of unique material
4 DVD's packed with classic rock music history from the extensive archives of the BBC, 'The Old Grey Whistle Test' was (and still is) unsurpassed in its range of artists, and boasts a dazzling array of live performances by the best musicians the world has to offer. This boxset represents a significant saving over buying the whole set individually, although some of the...
Published on 16 Feb 2004 by Touring Mars

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much talking
There's some great music on this DVD set. Shame it has all been bulked out with far too much talking by the presenters who introduce the various tracks. The Old Grey Whistle Test was on for years so there couldn't have been a lack of material to fill the DVD's. I discovered that playing the discs on 'Random' cuts out all the drivel, though, and only plays the music.
Published on 24 Aug 2011 by John Jamison


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Live perfomances, 20 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
You will be surprised how many good acts the are on this 3 dvd's. I can recommend Blondie and Edgar Winther.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old grey whistle test, 9 Oct 2009
By 
R. A. Starczewski "r1ckster" (surrey/england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
brilliant, brilliant, brilliant. A very nostalgic trip down memory lane and you forget how inovative some of these bands were and how boring whispering Bob Harris was, bless. Never knew that he co-founded Time Out. Forgot how sexy Ann Nightingale was (or is that just me). Will buy more in this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musical nostalgia !, 31 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Not only a really great line up of rock / pop / folk / blues / soul / country stars from the 60's through to the 80's but performances by entertainers who didn't make it to the dizzy heights of stardom but are nevertheless recognised for their performance(s) on Old Grey Whistle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff., 30 Sep 2011
By 
Stephen Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
What memories.
I've lived in Germany now for the last 30 years and had forgotten how much of these shows I'd forgotten or never seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music, 26 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. A. Mehta (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
As a fan of TOTP and The Tube I had only seen a few repeats of OGWT on bbc2 but when i saw the tracklist on the dvd i decided to buy this box set there are over 9hrs of performances that are great to watch over and over my faves include Alice Cooper,Talking Heads and Tubeway Army.Overall if you love watching classic performances of your fave artists then this box set is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars past times ogwt, 4 Jun 2010
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
the first cd not too good but the rest brilliant! one point however, does any -one remember the days of John Peel who was the original presenter, or was I dreaming!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas, 26 Jun 2013
By 
J. KING (S.E. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Once again,I bought this as a present. Not my favourite artists,or music, but,hey,the recipient is a decade younger than moi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whistle a bargain!!!, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Purchased this following getting vol one cheap.But this DEFINITIVE collection is just that.What value for my hard earned brass!! Fab show, fab dvd , fab value.....JUST FAB!!! Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old days, 16 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Excellent music with some very rare appearances. Delivered promptly and in good order. No complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It came still in the celophane., 23 Oct 2010
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Wonderful and arrived quickly still in it's wrapper. What a great present for my friend. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977]
Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977] by The Old Grey Whistle Test (DVD - 2005)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews