Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best....Hendrix Compilation....Ever.......Period.
I actually own all the hendrix studio recordings, but sometimes (guilty admission) have to skip the odd track or two (little miss strange from Ladyland being a case in point)to get to the real cream, and often found myself wishing I had the ultimate collection of hendrix's songs, back to back, on one CD.
Well not any more, baby! As soon as I saw the track list for...
Published on 11 April 2005 by axmurderer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It is unbeleivable to hear and think that it was indeed
Good CD for the Kids , but they may not like .
Published 1 month ago by Zdenek Hanzlik


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best....Hendrix Compilation....Ever.......Period., 11 April 2005
I actually own all the hendrix studio recordings, but sometimes (guilty admission) have to skip the odd track or two (little miss strange from Ladyland being a case in point)to get to the real cream, and often found myself wishing I had the ultimate collection of hendrix's songs, back to back, on one CD.
Well not any more, baby! As soon as I saw the track list for this bad boy I was amazed. It was just like the compilers of this record had asked me which tracks I wanted them to include! Wish granted! Problem solved! Nothing new obviously (this guy's back catalogue has been raped and pillaged since the 70's)but this package has all the 24carat classics. If you're new to Hendrix, on a tight budget etc, etc, get this beastie while it's still in stock!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another compilation?, 7 Jan 2005
By 
nils (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Experience Hendrix (Audio CD)
5 stars, for sure - after all, this is jimi. but still, just another compilation of jimi's work ... no wonder there is hardly anything from 'Electric Ladyland' on this record. the records published in his life time in their eintirety and some performances - say band of gypsys/ life at the fillmore or the winterland or the berkeley or the san diego or the l.a. forum concerts - that's what really counts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jimi Hendrix - Speaks for Itself, 28 Jun 2011
By 
J. Godding - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's a bit silly writing a review for a Jimi Hendrix album, because virtually everyone looking here will know what they are dealing with, and if you haven't heard of him... where've you been hiding??

Before purchasing this, I was in the camp (being reasonably young) of being a long-term admirer of the legend, but not owning any of his original albums, so this 'best of' fits the bill exactly. Only thing is, there are so many best of's out there, so which to choose from?

Well, my view on this particular example is great selection (pretty hard not to!), but perhaps not the best re-mastering? It might be my personal preference, and I have no experience of other re-mastered Jimi Hendrix CD's to compare to, but sometimes this CD seems to be lacking the rawness of both the guitar riffs and the bass lines you hear on some original recordings, yet the overall treble seems to be quite loud..?

Like I say, it could just be my personal preference, but I feel it could have been done better. None the less, it hardly detracts from enjoying all the brilliant songs created in such an unfortunately short career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hendrix - what else?, 2 Jun 2011
By 
M. P. Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice recordings, I bought this because it was one of the few compilations that had my favourite 'All Along the Watchtower'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rich seam of Hendrix, 20 Nov 2009
By 
Head4Heights (Camberley, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find some of Hendrix's stuff to be somewhat self-indulgent. Brilliant I'm sure, technical masterpieces, but it grates on my ear. This album is mostly excellent with a tolerable amount of "not in my favourites" stuff. It's well worth getting because the good stuff is really very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experience Hendrix, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. M. Sanders "TX41" (Powys, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simply a good collection of great Jimi Hendrix tracks spanning the few short creative years in the UK that Jimi Hendrix was around.

Accompanied by a well written and researched booklet with recollections about each song, only goes to add an extra bonus to what are a collection of great songs.

Probably few realised at the time what Jimi Hendrix was doing musically until he had gone, although those in the know at the time were inspired and amazed.

Jimi Hendrix was ahead of his time and achieved a great sound with by today's standards, limited equipment, that only goes to show his amazing talent that sadly did not have the opportunity to be completely fulfilled, an almost 10 years on from Buddly Holly scenario.

Whilst Buddy Holly in his 3 years recording made music still frequently played today, so with Jimi Hendrix, we find the same high regard and reverance for the talent so sadly cut short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experience Hendrix, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As you have probably gathered this is a very good compilation of Hendrix music. Most, if not all the popular songs are included with a few lesser known tracks (unless you are a Hendrix fan). It also includes the infamous Star Spangled Banner. Perfect for those that want all the good stuff on one disc.

Stick it in the drive, relax and absorb the man's guitar work. Why else would you buy a Hendrix album?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for Newcomers, 17 Mar 2006
Hendrix elevated electric guitars to a higher level than ever. Every great guitarist has been measured by Jimi's standards and most of the new musicians today have been inspired by him.
This is a great collection which shows Jimi doing what he does best, wailing on the guitar. For someone who hasn't heard much of Jimi's work, this album is a brilliant place to start. Alot of his albums are very abstract with endless guitar solos that can be hard to get in to for a beginner, but this collection has all the right tunes and melodies to get that beginner strapped in and ready for some classic guitar rock. Having said that, there are a few songs which feature amazing solos and the casual listener will find these highly thrilling and be comfortable with them.
If you own all of Jimi's albums, this collection is a nice way of having alot of favourites bundled together on one cd. However, these days with mp3 players and computer libraries, it is easy to create playlists of favourite songs or albums and string them together. So, die hard fans of Hendrix would not find it necessary to purchase this as the collection holds nothing new.
If you are a Jimi virgin then this album breaks you in to his best work. Once you have devoured these pieces then you are ready to go out and buy the albums which feature longer, bigger, louder and better solos and visions by one of the greatest musicians of the twentieth century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Review of The best of Jimi Jendrix, 20 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This album contains nearly all of Jimi's main hit titles, including my favourite, Hey Joe. I felt that I got it at a bargain price from amazon and it was dispached quickly and efficiently. This album is a must for all Hendrix fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic compilation, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Experience Hendrix (Audio CD)
Compared to other compilations ( for instance 'Cornerstones 1967-1970') this is very nearly perfect in all respects. 'Axis:Bold as Love' is certainly covered better than on other collections although this is somewhat at the expense of the classic double album 'Electric Ladyland' which only yields 3 tracks here. The posthumous period of Hendrix material is well represented and my only slight gripe is that the old chestnut 'The Star Spangled Banner' is once again included on a retrospective CD ~ 4 minutes that could have been far better utilized in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Experience Hendrix: the Best O
Experience Hendrix: the Best O by Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews