Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
206
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: UMD Mini for PSP|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Underworld, as a film, really starts to come into its own once you have watched the full trilogy and go back and watch it a second time.

With all the different names thrown at you (about characters we don't even get to see in this first instalment) this wonderful Vampire saga can get a bit confusing first time around, but on a second viewing, after you know the whole story, things become clearer.

Kate Beckinsale is pretty much my ideal woman (in joint 1st place alongside Cheryl Cole) and she positively sizzles in her black PVC cat suit. The whole look of the film is very stylised, which I like and lit in a blue/grey manner which looks great and ads to the whole feel of the film, suiting it perfectly.

The film itself has strange mix of elements. Ancient, almost celtic or pagan designs mixed with ultra futuristic technology... it old vs new in this battle that has raged through the centuries. And that's the film's premise: Werewolf vs Vampire. Both, rather fittingly, at each other's throats.

The action comes thick and fast, looks great and is first class - but do not think this is all this film has to offer. The story, as I've already, said is epic and you'll have to pay attention to follow it fully, or you'll soon get left behind as the twists and turns unfold.

I thought the sound was excellent too and really added to the atmosphere of the film, with bullets, thunder and lightning really going bang! The deep bass rumbling my windows and sofa really added another dimension to proceedings and was used to great effect; more so than in many other films. It really made my surround sound system come alive.

Underworld, and the trilogy as a whole, is and are, a very worthwhile addition to any DVD or BluRay collection - as well as being a great addition to the genre of the Vampire movie. They have to be up there as some of the best as, a bit like Blade, they take the idea of Vampires and turn everything we think we know about them on its head.

Underworld brings the Vampire genre up to date in a very credible way, and starts of proceedings for an epic tale of politics and war between Vampire and Werewolf. Underworld is great stuff and even better than I remembered it to be! I'll use a werewolf pun here and say that, it's a blend of styles and stories that's a 'howling' success.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 May 2004
Considering myself a bit of a horror film fan - particularly vampire films, films lately had been a bit of a let down - the Blade films, Dracula 2001 etc. Too much special effects and no story. Underworld had been generally panned when it came out, so I only hired it on impulse one night and was very glad I did.
While it's true that there's not much new in terms of ideas in the film, there has been a real attempt to create something worthwhile, and thoughtful. A larger canvas, a bit akin to the Anne Rice novels. The characters are interesting and the story is generally carefully thought out, and tries to give you some depth, and there are one or two twists in the tail..
I'm not going to say there aren't the usual gun fights, silver bullets, camp baddies etc, but the makers have realised that story is more important than anything else. By borrowing styles and attitude from films like Batman Returns, the Matrix and the Crow it creates a sense of familair yet new. Top marks as well for the most understated but effective romance that I can ever remember in a horror film - just one small kiss - now that's a filmaker with restraint!
Looks great on DVD as well.
Roll on the inevitable sequel.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2004
Having missed the film played out on the big screen, I can only sum up what I thought about it from watching it at home.
Maybe the small screen format suits the film more but I certainly wouldn't agree with the critics in slating the film as I ended up thoroughly enjoying it.
Although hyped as a vampire Vs werewolf warfare flick, what the film delivers is actually a much more realistic representation of the same world offered to us in 'The league of extraordinary gentlemen' and probably the upcoming 'Van Helsing'.
As we enter this world, we are presented with the fact that the vampires are aristocratic members of a night society, having the time of their dead lives in big spacious mansions and running billion dollar pharmaceutical corporations whilst their arch enemies, the werewolves, have evolved into 'street gangs' with the ability to morph at will whilst discovering the key to their biological past.
The premise sounds silly but ultimately comes across much better on screen with both the vampaire and werewolf elements nicely styled.
The arc of the story surprised me somewhat and made the film that much more enjoyable. I didn't see the slight twist in the tale coming which is always quite satisfying.
Kate Beckinsale is great as the fighter vampire and looks like she is having the time of her life. Ably suported by the rest of the cast(though I couldn't help but think of what was going on between her and the director, Len Wiseman, every time she shares a scene with her then boyfriend Micheal Sheen).
Overall, it had the feel of an European arthouse version of Blade.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
This is a pretty crummy release.

As well as the well documented audio deficiency (lossy DTS vs. uncompressed LPCM) vis-a-vis the US version, the UK scores another strike with inferior picture quality (Mpeg-2 vs. Mpeg-4).

It may have been acceptable for the undiscriminating, at £5.00, at any higher price it's a waste of money, especially at the ridiculous current non-Amazon price of £22.99.

It's high time Amazon gave full and accurate technical descriptions of the movies it sells.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2005
This wasnt well received upon its release and fell in for some unfair cricism, which resulted in an average showing at the box office. Starring Kate Beckinsale, its set in the middle of a vampire-werewolf war that has raged for 1000 years. Made as part of a trilogy, similar in style to the Matrix.
This isnt a bad movie and has developed a cult following. Beckinsale is great in the lead and looks fantastic in PVC. The special effects are good and the film has great style. The action scenes are effective and add to the style of the film.
This is only part 1 of 3, but dont let that put you off, this is a stand alone movie as it is. Very dark but entertaining stuff.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 June 2006
In this visually impressive yet thinly-plotted action fantasy, Kate Beckinsale stars as a vampire (AKA as a death-dealer) in a centuries-old war between vampires and lycans (werewolves). When she founds out that the head of the lycans, Lucius, is looking for a peticular human (which is unusual as they only hunt for humans when need be) by the name of Michael, she finds out quickly that he's a decedant of Michael Corvinus, the first true vampire and that Lucius plans to use him as the ultimate weapon against the vampires... Although director Len Wiseman ploughs on the action with fantastic bullet-time flips, dual-pistol battles and brutal hand-to-hand combat, the plot's sadly unfocused and it leads to confusing ends but the casts' performances (Beckinsale, Scott Speedman and Bill Nighy in particular) are truly dynamic and fill the screen with dark, gothic life.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2004
With an interesting blend of elements from both "Blade" and "The Matrix" this fast-paced, modern-day tale of deadly action, ruthless intrigue, and forbidden love, is set against the backdrop of an ancient feud between two tribes in a timeless Gothic metropolis. The story reimagines Vampires as a secretive clan of modern, sophistcates whose mortal enemies are the Lycans - werewolves - a shrewed gang of street thugs who prowl the city's underbelly. The balance of power is upset when a beautiful young vampire and a nascent Lycan - deadly rivals for centuries - fall in love. A tough, fast, and gory addition to the horror-fantasy genre, with impressive special effects and a captivating performance by Beckinsale ("Pearl Harbor", "A Beautiful Mind") in the role of the lead vamp.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2010
I always check these customer bloggs because they are frequently very informative. When I spotted that there were questionmarks regarding the soundtrack (was it HD or only Dolby DTS?) and saw that one customer mentioned that he/she had heard that the US version had PCM (uncompressed) 5.1, I ordered the "US-import" version here at Amazon. Yes, that is exactly what that edition has as its soundtrack. I do not know what has been done with the "Euro-edition", but the US-version has got a pukka h.def soundtrack. I hope that this information will be of help to other buyers here at Amazon. On the assumption that the Euro-version does not have proper high-def sound I am rating it as a 3-star - and that is only because I love the film!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 June 2006
This is not a unique film, but it's well executed, and ideal for those times where you just want to place yourself in neutral and not have to think for a couple of hours. I won't bother dwelling on the story, such as it is; other people have done that in depth, so there's no point in repeating what they have covered. I'll do this in my usual way; acting, direction / technical, and disc.

Actors first. The film's content doesn't place great demands on character development, but what is there is done with some flare. Best of the lot, unsurprisingly, is Bill Nighy, who's clearly enjoying himself. And why not? Kate looks the part in her shiny black latex catsuit. She's not the greatest actress I've ever seen, but she's by no means the worst either. There's little wrong with her performance, though vocally she seems a little strained on occasion; suffice it to say I liked both her performance, and her character. The rest do a pasable enough job. Scott Speedman is unmemorable, Alec Guiness he is most certainly not, but considering the type of film this is, he doesn't need to be anyway. The others are a mixed bunch, from passable to the downright wooden, but there are few major characters anyway, so again, this isn't much of an issue. Overall, I'd call the performances passable enough.

Direction is nothing special either, but does a sound job. Lighing effects are moody, music is used as an addition to the film as opposed to trying to take over, and the pacing is about right. I'd have preferred some more imagination in camera angles, but it's all solid enough. The effects are again relatively believable; nothing that hasn't been done before, but nothing to particularly complain over either.

The special edition is nicely packaged, and loaded with features for those who value them. The transfer is solid, with good definition, contrast and colour. Few digital nasties seem present, and the sound quality and options are excellent. A worthy effort.

Overall, if you want a quick blast of something moody with a touch of horror (or even if you want to see Kate in a skin-tight PVC catsuit) you won't go far wrong with this. It's hardly the greatest film ever made, but it's entertaining all the same. I'd actually give 3 1/2 if I could -a sort of 65% score. Worth investigating.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
I like th rest of the Underworld series however this wasn't one of my favourites even hough its the first one... I found it slow and unnesddary violence which sort of distracted from the story line, however it does set the story up for the next one so I cant really complain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)