Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great action film, with tons of extras!
The first thing I should say is this isn't an extended version of the film! It's a re-release of the film with more indepth extras. So if you don't already own it this is the version to buy!

The storyline if you don't already known follows the battle of vampires against the lycans (werewolves). The lycans are growing in number and the vampires become...
Published on 7 May 2006 by DVD Fan

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack
I always check these customer bloggs because they are frequently very informative. When I spotted that there were questionmarks regarding the soundtrack (was it HD or only Dolby DTS?) and saw that one customer mentioned that he/she had heard that the US version had PCM (uncompressed) 5.1, I ordered the "US-import" version here at Amazon. Yes, that is exactly what that...
Published on 3 Mar 2010 by Frederick Alan Leeson


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great action film, with tons of extras!, 7 May 2006
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first thing I should say is this isn't an extended version of the film! It's a re-release of the film with more indepth extras. So if you don't already own it this is the version to buy!

The storyline if you don't already known follows the battle of vampires against the lycans (werewolves). The lycans are growing in number and the vampires become interested in why they would be searching for a human. Soon the battle commences again with the human at the centre of it.

Personally I think this is a great action film, definitely not a horror. It is up there along with he likes of The Matrix and Blade. All the films have a similar look and feel to them, partly as they all have comic book backgrounds? This is no bad thing as they are all very entertaining films. Full of action, great fight scenes, special effects, cool sound tracks, almost identical wardrobe dept (full length black leather jackets) and good storylines. This is the 1st in a trilogy that could better the other two, with Evolution on DVD soon. This does make it as a good film in it's own right, as well part of a trilogy. This is a well made film that has had a lot of thought, time and energy put in to making it. The idea of vampires having a war against werewolves is a great basis for a series of action films, I can't wait to see the last two!

The extras are all very indepth and cover all aspects of the film and are generally between 10-20 minutes each. Designing Underworld looks at the ideas for the locations, costumes, characters with some detailed concept art drawings. The vampires are very much the higher class, with the mansion, fancy cars and clothes. The Lycans are very much an underground movement with a rough, street feel. The look of Underworld covers the directors vision of how he wanted the film to look. The feel is very dark, with little colour, high contrast so the scenes are almost monochrome. Most of this is done post production digitally to get the right look. The making of Underworld covers finding the right location (Budapest), some of the stunt work, brief interviews with the main actors. There are TV spots, outtakes and a storyboard comparison for a few scenes.

The visual effects covers the make up, cgi scenes, models and weapons used in the film were done. Amazing to find out just how much is cgi you might have thought was real! The creature effects mainly covers the look of the vampires and how the werewolves look was designed and suits made. A lot of work goes in to making and moving one werewolf! The stunt feature shows Kate and the other actors training for their fight scenes, using weapons and wire work. There is also a sort of montage (sights and sounds), a music video. One of the most interesting features is a 5 part Fang Vs Fiction, which covers a lot about the history of vampires and werewolves. How the stories originated and evolved over time, a real bonus. Overall a great modern, cool action film with tons of extras!! 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch this film, and then enjoy its sequel :), 8 Jan 2006
I watched “Underworld” at the cinema quite a long time ago, despite the fact that the critics had dissed it. I think that critics have a tendency to believe that every movie should give food for thought, whereas I believe that some films that only offer good entertainment should be given a chance, too. At that time, and after some gruelling exams, I was in the mood for some uncomplicated fun, and “Underworld” gave me just that.
I hadn´t heard from the director, Len Wiseman, but I must say he did an excellent job with this dark action film that features vampires and werewolves (lycans) fighting a 1000 year war against each other and amid the humans. The story is entertaining and original, something that you will appreciate even more if you have the chance of watching this dvd with the extended cut.
One of the main characters in "Underworld" is Selene (Kate Beckindale), a vampire and a Deathdealer (that is, someone who hunts and kills lycans). Selene discovers some lycans hunting a mortal, Michael (Scott Speedman), and gets curious. Why are them after him? Of course, everything the lycans want, Selene will have, so she decides to find Michael. By choosing to do so, she will discover a vast conspiracy, the truth about her past, and a forbidden love.
If you are fond of unconventional action movies, and don´t think they need to be realistic, you are likely to love this movie. If that is the case, try to watch it soon, because the sequel will be released on January 20, and from what I could see in the trailer, “Underworld: evolution” will be great. So, don´t wait, GO and buy or rent it now :)
Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not perfect but good enough for me, 24 July 2009
This review is from: Underworld [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The audio is indeed dts 5.1 sound making me think that someone at Entertainment In Video told their production crew at the last minute that they really should remix the sound from the original dvd from DD 5.1 to at least dts as this is the high-def version of the film. Also included is a sub audio track of director's and actors' commentaries of dolby 2.0, exactly as appears on many standard dvd audio tracks these days.

There are also english subtitles available but curiously,for a blu-ray disc , no other audio or subtitles are available. ( you won't be able to practice your dutch icelandic czech or hungarian listening or reading skills with this disc ) and the picture quality is pretty average for a blu ray - nothing will knock you out but then again, nothing will have you crying "foul" which does lead to the suspicion "is this just the dvd transfer upscaled to 1080p and molded onto a blu-ray disc " ?

At the moment, we will give them the benefit of the doubt given that this was a hugely successful yet low budget film and not blessed with a multi millions budget for effects and sound etc ( you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear )

The special features are perhaps the best of the disc in terms of getting your money's worth , all are in standard dvd definition and sound is dolby digital 2.0, running times are in brackets....divided into the following sections

1) Creating Underworld...featurettes which include

a) Designing (10:40)
b) The look of (19:54)
c) The making of (13:04)
d) Storyboard comparison (6m46s) (which compares storyboard artist conception shots on top of certain scenes from the film)

2) Behind The Scenes...which includes

a) outtakes (3:44) ( including a hilarious opening scene where Kate breathlessly exclaims that in the subway "there could be dozens of dykans down there "
b) Visual efefcts of (9:57)
c) Creature effects featurette (12:31)
d) Stunts featurette (11:43)
e) Sights and sounds featurette (9:08)

3) Promos which includes

a) TV Spots ( 1:08 )
b) Music Video "Finch - Worms Of The Earth"(2:46)
c) Fang vs Fiction Documentary, a cheesy american history type documentary about the myths and legends and modern day evidence for existence of vampires and werewolves ( as such it is directed slightly tongue in cheek in a lot of parts but is quite good fun to watch) (in 5 parts )
part 1 (11:02)
part 2 (10:50)
part 3 (9:19)
part 4 (10:04)
part 5 (5:56)

Finally , the film itself ( no point reviewing it as we all know what it is about ) is transferred to blu ray with the AVC codec , level 4.1

I think it's worth buying this version for the budget price and the extras on it.

One final point , the size of the disc is 34.6 GB making it dual layered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, actually, 22 May 2004
By 
m "macey" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Underworld [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Considering myself a bit of a horror film fan - particularly vampire films, films lately had been a bit of a let down - the Blade films, Dracula 2001 etc. Too much special effects and no story. Underworld had been generally panned when it came out, so I only hired it on impulse one night and was very glad I did.
While it's true that there's not much new in terms of ideas in the film, there has been a real attempt to create something worthwhile, and thoughtful. A larger canvas, a bit akin to the Anne Rice novels. The characters are interesting and the story is generally carefully thought out, and tries to give you some depth, and there are one or two twists in the tail..
I'm not going to say there aren't the usual gun fights, silver bullets, camp baddies etc, but the makers have realised that story is more important than anything else. By borrowing styles and attitude from films like Batman Returns, the Matrix and the Crow it creates a sense of familair yet new. Top marks as well for the most understated but effective romance that I can ever remember in a horror film - just one small kiss - now that's a filmaker with restraint!
Looks great on DVD as well.
Roll on the inevitable sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampires v. Lycans, 13 Sep 2005
By 
This review is from: Underworld Special Edition [UMD Mini for PSP] (UMD Mini for PSP)
Even though this film got panned at the box office by the critics, the public loved it and I feel it is one of the best Vampire movies around. I cannot wait for the sequel, Underworld: Evolution to come out in January (20th). The PSP allows you to watch the movie on the move and the picture quality is brilliant. The 8 mins of extra footage also adds a little bit more to the characters. The only problem is the volume, when listening to it through the headphones, but this is not down to the UMD but down to the PSP itself as the headphones have a restricted volume of 90db which does take away a little bit of the ambience of the movie. Over all though a great film on a great format for a brilliant console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic!, 22 Jun 2004
This review is from: Underworld [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is one of the best films I've ever had the pleasure of watching. It combines a simple idea with a great cast, fantastic effects, amazing fight scenes and truly fascinating weapons. A perfect mix between a fantasy world and reality.
It has aspects similar to that of The Matrix but I prefer Underworld because it has more style, flair and horror. There's not much to write but simply: See it. You'll understand then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable if derivative, 5 Feb 2005
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Underworld [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
True there is nothing original about Underworld - it starts like a Matrix copy (long black coats and slow motion gun fights), then throws in a bit of Blade, Buffy & Romeo and Juliet (no really), and some of the acting is a bit ropey (Shane Brolly step foward). After half an hour my finger was drifting towards the off button. However, I stuck with it and I'm glad I did.
The film looks great - all black and grey and gothic, and Kate Beckinsale looks even better in skin tight PVC! It rollocks along in a predictable fashion which stops you thinking too much about the detail (would vampyres and lycans really fight with guns?) and there is actually a half decent plot though it takes a while to become apparent.
All in all an enjoyable way to spend a Friday night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Doggy, 2 Jun 2006
Directed by Len Wiseman, starring Kate Beckinsdale and Scott Speedman and largely filmed in Budapest, "Underworld" hit the big screen in 2003. It's a very stylish `monster' movie, though - a little unusually - humans are neither the heroes nor the victims. (The film doesn't stop for 'lunch').

Beckinsdale plays Selene, our 'heroine' and the 'good' vampire. She's a Death Dealer - a vampire soldier - in a war against werewolves that has lasted for around a thousand years. As time has passed, the weapons used by both races have been updated - there are no stakes or crossbows in sight, while the traditional silver bullet has been modified. The current battles are being waged with throwing stars, guns and grenades - all enhanced to target the specific weaknesses of the intended victim. However, tradition hasn't been entirely sacrificed - vampires are still stylish and pale, while the vampire clan still lives in an old-fashioned, classy mansion. (Like the weapons, however, it does incorporate some 'modern' aspects). Selene very much looks to Viktor for guidance - Viktor is one of the vampires' three elders and something of a father figure to Selene. However, as the film opens, he is in hibernation and the day-to-day running of the vampires' affairs are in Kraven's hands. Kraven, somewhat power-hungry, also has designs on Selene - however, she ins't even remotely interested - she regularly disobeys his instructions and doesn't believe a great deal of what he has to say.

Werewolves have officially been on the defensive for around 600 years, since Kraven killed their greatest leader, Lucien. However, they have never been fully defeated and, from early in the film, it seems the vampires have been lulled into a false sense of security. As well as the updated weapons, werewolves - or lycans, as they're known throughout the film - can now transform at will and no longer have to wait on the full moon. They appear to be in full control of their actions and can also heal more quickly while in wolf form. Where the vampires are pale and stylish, the werewolves are more animal-like and live underground. However, this hasn't stopped them performing 'medical research', with a particular interest in a family called Corvin. As the film opens, a couple of werewolves are stalking Speedman's character, a doctor called Michael Corvin. Selene, who's been on patrol and sees what's happening, is puzzled by this - it's clear the werewolves aren't just hunting for food. Her interest develops much further as the film progresses to the point of romance. This brings her a great deal of trouble when it becomes apparent the werewolves have 'turned' Michael. (It's also brought the comparisons with 'Romeo and Juliet' - a romance between two warring houses). As a result of the romance, she learns a great deal more about the origins of war and the night she was sired by Viktor.

This is a very enjoyable and stylish film, with some very impressive special effects. Although technically, I suppose, it's a 'supernatural' movie, there's a strong thriller element to it, with plenty of gunfights, political intruige, treachery, twists and turns...and if that's not enough, it's also got Kate Beckinsdale !! Absolutely recommended for those who love vampire movies. However, despite the comparisons with 'Romeo and Juliet', I can't really see it convincing your Shakespeare-loving aunt to start watching the Hammer films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I is loving it also, 28 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. P. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Underworld [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I can't believe how many people are criticising this movie, I thought it was excellent. Ignore reviewers getting upset that they are breaking the laws of vampires and werewolves, like vampires having reflections and the Lycans being able to run on walls. Hollywood made up most of those "laws" and they've been tweaked and changed in countless movies. Plus "ITS A MOVIE! ITS NOT REAL!"
The dark look of the movie is fantastic and not as blue as the theatre release, more The Crow darkness than Blade darkness. The action and special effects are highly entertaining and focus more on gun play rather than scratching and biting. No CG overload, the wolf suits and other make-up effects are very effective. Kate Beckinsale looks amazing, as sexy and pouting as you could ever want from a hero in film like this. The script isn't ramming the exposition down your throat like in a lot of movies, you can work out what's going on yourself or wait as the twists unfurl towards the end of the movie. Overall I really enjoyed the story element of this film; I was expecting it to be a bit more shallow.
So, if you like gunplay, gripping action, a good story, fangs, claws and cooly sexy ladies who pack heat, then watch this movie. Please make this a series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over the moon about Underworld, 10 Jun 2004
This review is from: Underworld [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Underworld is a great movie for an nice, exciting and not-overly-intellectual evening: there're stunningly black-PVC-ed vampire ladies, palely chic vampire blokes, rugged werewolves and a nice soundtrack.
Since the vampires live off cloned blood in neat little picnic plas-sacks, there're rather less than normal kinky 'vampire on balcony' scenes with half-naked victims (sorry guys), but the werewolves make up for it, scattering blood and guts wholesale, and to replace the normal fangs and wings scenes, there are some nice pitched gun battles with bullet-proof opponents.
The actual storyline is a nice new twist on an old idea for horror fans: the werewolves and the vampires terminally don't get on, and for thousands of years, an undercover war has raged between the two species, with humans happily unaware of the entire thing. Selene (Kate Beckinsale) is a vampire warrior who hates werewolves, and the film kicks off with a gun battle on the Underground, when she and her partner run across a pair of werewolves.
The fact that the werewolves were following a non-descript medical student arouses Selene's curiosity, and she discovers a werewolf plot to end the war and forever change the game: the medical student is the keystone to the genetic alteration that will end the two species' differences.
There is a nice bit of romantic interest involving the doomed med. student, but over all the storyline isn't too challenging. In case anyone doesn't get it, they wake up one of the ancient vampires, who dissects the entire tangled web for you with his superior insight.
All in all, a lot of nice special effects, kinky costumes in the Goth/punk style, a good soundtrack, and a nice, easy plot to follow while you're admiring the fight scenes (or Kate Beckinsale's ass in black PVC). Definitely one to get for the pizza evenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Underworld Special Edition [UMD Mini for PSP]
Underworld Special Edition [UMD Mini for PSP] by Len Wiseman (UMD Mini for PSP - 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews