Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Heartwarming.
I am a bloke and I enjoyed this; maybe I'm too metrosexual for my own good, but I found this to be easy going, light entertainment. Yes, it is predictable (did you think it would end like Seven?) Yes, it is cheesy. But this film does exactly what it is supposed to do - it's a romantic comedy and it makes you laugh (it's all good clean fun) and it tugs at...
Published on 27 Feb. 2006 by MrShev

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A basic DVD conversion
If you are expecting to watch high definition, don't buy this disc.
All Sony Studios have done is convert the file from DVD to Blu-ray.
The video has not been remastered, nor has the audio.

If you have the DVD version, don't purchase the Blue-ray version.
Published on 5 Mar. 2007 by Mr. R. K. Garland


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Heartwarming., 27 Feb. 2006
By 
MrShev "mrshev" (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hitch [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I am a bloke and I enjoyed this; maybe I'm too metrosexual for my own good, but I found this to be easy going, light entertainment. Yes, it is predictable (did you think it would end like Seven?) Yes, it is cheesy. But this film does exactly what it is supposed to do - it's a romantic comedy and it makes you laugh (it's all good clean fun) and it tugs at the old heart strings. There's nothing revolutionary going on here but if you wanted that then you are looking in the wrong section of Amazon.
What makes this film stand out is Will Smith. He is such a likeble, charismatic character that he keeps you watching and his natural joi-de-vive keeps you hooked.
This is a date movie or a night in with popcorn. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitch, 7 Nov. 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hitch [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
“Hitch” is a harmless and amiable romantic comedy that is well executed and extremely watchable if a little on the long side.
“Hitch” is the nickname of Alex 'Hitch' Hitchens (Will Smith) who provides a consultancy service with a difference. He’ll dispense advice on matter of the hearts for lonely lovesick bachelors who are desperate to make the first move on the lady of their dreams. He careful screens his clients ensuring that their intentions towards their target ladies are honourable and worthy.
Sara on the other hand is the career driven gossip columnist for a New York tabloid, always in the know and one step ahead of the rest of the paparazzi pack when hunting down the latest celebrity rumours. She and Hitch meet up at a stylist New York club where Hitch proves he can take a huge gulp of his own medicine by charming Sara into coming out with him.
Where the two main characters get their wires crossed is that Hitch’s latest client is the bumbling but cute Albert, who is pining after millionaire socialite Allegra Cole, someone who Sara is all too desperate to get on her front page day after day.
The plot doesn’t really need to be studied anymore, for this type of film it’s just about the right side of contrived rubbish but there’s several gaping holes of which no attempt is made to fill and it’s really just best not to pick too far beneath the storyline’s surface.
Will Smith is one of those actors who can charm an audience no matter how weak the material and with ample opportunity to dazzle us all with his beaming smile, good looks and wonderful patter in opening lines he just can’t fail to win here. The support, likewise makes a good impression with Eva Mendes coming over as approachable and friendly no matter how hard she plays at work and Amber Valletta and Kevin James providing great mileage as the film’s odd couple.
As I say it can be criticized quite rightly for being about 20 minutes too long, the ending sequence with it’s trite and much repeated formula, (“and this is my brother in law!” WOW – Really?) could have really been cut without any harm to the film. That said the couple of obvious slapstick comedy moments are quite priceless, Smith’s allergic reaction to food is belly laughingly good.
All in all a great film not only to watch but also to score many brownie points by watching it with your better half!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light hearted romcom, 15 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Hitch [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Will Smith is funny and likeable in this comedy. Even got a few laughs out of my miserable boyfriend! Great for a lazy night in front of the telly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A basic DVD conversion, 5 Mar. 2007
If you are expecting to watch high definition, don't buy this disc.
All Sony Studios have done is convert the file from DVD to Blu-ray.
The video has not been remastered, nor has the audio.

If you have the DVD version, don't purchase the Blue-ray version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect movie for the middle aged, 10 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Hitch [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
If you hate violence and love happy endings then this is the film for you. Will Smith is a consumate actor who makes his character come alive and carries the rather thin romantic plot. A very easy going, unchallenging, enjoyable and relaxing evening is in store for you if you pick this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitch & Miss Congeniality 2, 21 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Hitch [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I did have doubts about Will Smith's latest offering, but was pleasantly surprised! The plot is a bit predictable, but very enjoyable none the less. Its that situation of those who are good at helping others with their love lives, being totally useless with their own! All the family enjoyed it very much. Many funny moments, but the gag reel could have been better! ( as I am sure there were many more bloopers while making this!)
Miss Congeniality 2
Sometimes the second film is not very good, just a way of making more money on the back of the first film, but this film stands alone in its own right. The plot is similar to the 1st one, but different enough to be enjoyable. Some very funny moments. Good to see A list celebs taking the mickey out of themselves! A very good family film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Smith as Cupid, 20 May 2007
This review is from: Hitch [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
THE FILM

Will Smith stars quite admirably as Cupid in this romantic comedy about "the basic principles" of love (claiming, at the end, that there are none, is just the movie being modest; it really is about showing the broad lines of those principles). It is well-written, keeps your attention and does contain several really good bits. There is also the usual sentimental fluff to keep the hopeless romantics in the audience happy, but this movie is also for guys. The previous comment claims that the movie paints a flawless image of women - this is completely wrong. The very climax of the movie is to criticize women for the way they condemn men for using tricks and tactics in the romantic process, when women are themselves far more guilty of the same thing. Men are usually being looked down upon for planning how to snag a girl because the assumption is that he's only doing it for sex. Will Smith's character in this movie is the other side of the coin, demonstrating a much needed truth to women who think that men are just pigs: some men actually want relationships and not just non-committal sex. Of course, some men *are* pigs, which the movie also makes a point of showing, thus being a balanced account of the real world. But it's also showing that most of the problem about getting a relationship off the ground is the way women needlessly mistrust men - and how this mistrust can get way out of hand and undermine true love. Especially when coupled with the despicable tabloid press, which, while often looking harmless, is the very definition of shallow. I mean, Smith and Mendez' characters really are quite shallow and superficial. The couple we care about is the awkward and overweight accountant and the not-unattainable-after-all heiress, who are the ones not only getting something extraordinary, but fulfilling their most hopeless yearnings, showing that nothing is impossible.

SPECIAL FEATURES

Watch out for the Making Of...where Will SMith is teaching Kevin James how to dance...The outtake is hilarious...with Will telling James 'Never ever dance like that in front of me again'. Shows you that the casting for this light hearted comedy is indeed excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Doctor Discovers He's Not Immune Either, 20 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Hitch [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
As soft and sweet as a marshmallow and about as interesting, ''Hitch'' is one of those romantic comedies that make the most of New York's recent transformation from a sleazy, hard-edged, interesting city into a mating ground for good-looking loft-dwellers with fascinating jobs. Unlike other examples of the genre, this one was at least filmed almost entirely in the city (mainly in the fancy pseudo-bohemian enclaves of Lower Manhattan, with an excursion to Ellis Island thrown in for good measure), which should gratify residents and tourists tired of the Hollywood habit of commuting, from one scene to the next, between Midtown and Vancouver.
In addition to savoring the neighborhood scenery and a few trendy gathering spots that have opened up since ''Sex and the City'' went off the air, audiences can enjoy the pleasant, easy company of Will Smith and Eva Mendes, two utterly charming screen performers pretending to tremble on the brink of love.
Ms. Mendes, whose slightly gap-toothed, dimpled smile will make short work of even those hearts resistant to her other lovely features, plays a newspaper gossip columnist named Sara Melas. As is customary in this kind of picture, Sara is determinedly single, offering a cynical shoulder and moral support to her obligatory insecure friend (Julie Ann Emery), even as Sara's kindly boss (Adam Arkin) worries that his star reporter is working too hard and letting her personal life languish. When she returns early from a vacation with a hot scoop, he pleads with her to take the rest of her allotted time off. This man edits a newspaper called The New York Standard, to which I'll fax my résumé as soon as I'm off deadline.
Mr. Smith's character is Alex Hitchens, also known as Hitch, who makes a handsome living teaching awkward, nebbishy men how to seduce women who are much better looking than they are. A player-coach in the Manhattan dating game, Alex works behind the scenes to help his hapless clients put their best selves forward, schooling them in the finer points of dress and demeanor. In some ways, he is a discreet, heterosexual version of television's beloved Fab Five, though I guess calling the movie ''Black Eye for the White Guy'' would not have created quite the impression the filmmakers were aiming for.
The potentially sleazy implications of what Alex does are dispensed with quickly. Though he suffered an early heartbreak (related in a flashback that gives Mr. Smith a chance to act goofy as well as effortlessly suave), Alex bears no grudge against women and makes it very clear that his services are not available to cads or users. His own promiscuity is discreetly handled in a single scene (and it's all talk anyway), after which he settles down to the cautious pursuit of the equally cautious Sara.
Just to keep things moving along -- and to provide the necessary misunderstandings that will temporarily derail the central couple on their way to happiness -- there is a parallel plot involving one of Alex's clients, a tubby accountant (Kevin James) with his eye on a willowy heiress (Amber Valletta). Mr. James, best known for the sitcom ''The King of Queens,'' is a fine comic sidekick -- a shambling, flailing Jackie Gleason to keep Mr. Smith from getting too relaxed in his Rock Hudson/Dean Martin bachelor vibe.
The script, by Kevin Bisch, is rarely laugh-out-loud funny and tactfully avoids anything that might offend the audience by being too clever. The director, Andy Tennant (''Sweet Home Alabama,'' ''Anna and the King''), keeps things moving with perky smoothness. If you've seen ''How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days'' or ''The Wedding Planner,'' you pretty much know what you're in for -- an average romantic comedy put together with enough professionalism to keep your cynicism momentarily at bay, featuring good-looking actors who also, in this case, seem like pretty nice people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitch, one for everyone, 20 May 2005
By 
K. Tasker "taskmasterk" (Northants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitch [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This may have been overheard as a chick flick but this is really a great movie for everyone. Its charming and classy yet incredibly funny. Guys will love it for the very cute Eva Mendes and Ladies will love it for Big Will, The Fresh Prince. Both give this film a lot and its very well scripted. Definately one for a night in with your loved one or even a night in with your pals for a good laugh. Pop open the bubbly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HITCH, 29 Jan. 2015
I love this film and for me this film made Kevin James(mail cop), plus this is my personal favourite will smith film. This film makes you think about all those horrible first dates, and a part of me just wishes I had a tutor like Alex Hitchen(smith) to advise me, there are loads funny moments when Albert(James) is being guided by hitch on how to be cool on his date, i mean the kiss routine on the steps was hilarious, plus when he goes on a date with Allegra cole(Amber Valletta) who is way out of his league,or is she?. A great film which shows that anyone has a chance, when it comes to love.

***FEATURES BELOW***

Blooper Reel
"Dance Steps Made Easy" Featurette
"The Dating Experts" Featurette
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitch  [UMD Mini for PSP]
Hitch [UMD Mini for PSP] by Andy Tennant (UMD Mini for PSP - 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews