Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Performance and Value way above it's price
I was scheptical about this machine as the price from Argos at the time was £170(October 2005)which seemed very cheap.However it was just what I wanted, a cheap way to record my security camera over a long period (8+ hours) and then backup to DVD occasionally.

After eight months it is still going strong recording round the clock and has captured several...
Published on 10 Aug. 2006 by S. K. Eccleshall

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm
This is now the third unit i have had and this one has now gone faulty.

The sound from this unit is terrible.

The picture from this unit occasionally goes to a blue tint.

The unit is VERY Noisy.

In fact i'm sure my warranty is not yet up so I think i will replace this one.

In other words avoid buying this!!
Published on 7 Nov. 2006 by Grandmaster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Performance and Value way above it's price, 10 Aug. 2006
By 
S. K. Eccleshall "GreatPark" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodmans X-Pro GHDD177DVDR 80GB Hard Drive Recorder/ Multi Region DVD Recorder Combo (Electronics)
I was scheptical about this machine as the price from Argos at the time was £170(October 2005)which seemed very cheap.However it was just what I wanted, a cheap way to record my security camera over a long period (8+ hours) and then backup to DVD occasionally.

After eight months it is still going strong recording round the clock and has captured several incidents off camera which have been dubbed to DVD for Police evidence.

I generally leave it on all night and then erase the material (takes seconds)if no incidents have happend,then leave it on all day.It is simple to copy to DVD,just put a blank DVD in and us the menu system to select "burn to DVD",it does this at faster than normal speed.The only slight problem is if you have a recording of 8 hours you need to copy all 8 hours to get the bit you want ie you can't select the portion you want to dubb.

By the way it also records off tv,does that time shift thing which is brilliant as you know we all miss the first seconds or minutes of a programme or the wife is still upstairs doing things and you have to tell her whats gone on etc,well no more just press time shift then go and pour the wine and when you are all sitting comfortably press play!heypresto the start of the programme,you can even fast forward it during the adverts and eventually catch up live.

Anyway 10 out of 10 to Goodmans, what a versatile bit of kit,quality pictures and reliability and very cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm, 7 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Goodmans X-Pro GHDD177DVDR 80GB Hard Drive Recorder/ Multi Region DVD Recorder Combo (Electronics)
This is now the third unit i have had and this one has now gone faulty.

The sound from this unit is terrible.

The picture from this unit occasionally goes to a blue tint.

The unit is VERY Noisy.

In fact i'm sure my warranty is not yet up so I think i will replace this one.

In other words avoid buying this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can a machine be more UN-user friendly?, 9 Jan. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans X-Pro GHDD177DVDR 80GB Hard Drive Recorder/ Multi Region DVD Recorder Combo (Electronics)
This machine is truly dreadful. It is slow and very complicated to use. Even a professional I had to call to look at it gave up! I have wasted so many DVD-RW disks because despite the book saying it is DVD-RW compatible it so obviously isnt unless it is a particular brand - the most expensive (what a surprise!).

The machine is going back for a refund! Can't get rid of it quick enough!

0/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars YOU ONLY GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, 4 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Goodmans X-Pro GHDD177DVDR 80GB Hard Drive Recorder/ Multi Region DVD Recorder Combo (Electronics)
IVE HAD MINE AROUND A MONTH AND IVE THOUGHT ABOUT SMASHING IT UP A FEW TIMES
TO PUT IT BLUNTLY , ITS SOOOO SLOW! FROM POWER ON TO ANY DVD SCREENS IS ABOUT 30-50 SECONDS EVEN THE TRAY EJECTS VERY SLOW ITS AS IF THE MACHINES DEPRESSED AND THE TRAY ONLY COMES OUT 80% OF THE WAY, THEN YOU CANT JUST ASIT BACK AND PRESS PLAY , NO! YOU HAVE TO PRESS OPEN/CLOSE AND WAIT ANOTHER 10 SECONDS, NOW YOU HAVE TO HAVE THE REMOTE HAND SO YOU CAN CHOOSE WHAT YOU WANT TO VIEW EITHER FROM HARD DISC, SCART, OR DV, SAME GOES FOR IF YOU WANT TO RECORD YOU HAVE TO CHOOSE THE DESTINATION AND AS YOU ONLY GET ABREVIATIONS YOU HAVE TO CONSTANTLY LOOK UP WHAT YOUR DOING,
ITS MAKES LOUD JERKY NOISES INTERNALY WHILST WATCHING FILMS LIKE SOMEONES MOVING FURNITURE NEXT DOOR
YOU CANNOT RECORD FROM AN INSERTED DVD ONTO THE HARD DRIVE UNLESS YOU HAVE ANOTHER DVD PLAYER PLUGGED INTO THE SCART
(THIS WAS WHY I BOUGHT IT )
YOU CAN HOWEVER WATCH A DVD WHILST RECORDING A PROGRAM
AND YOU GAN PUT A HARD DISC FILE ONTO A DVDR
IF YOUR BABY DAUGHTER PRESSES THE POWER ON BUTTON WHEN YOUR JUST GETING TO THE LAST LINE OF A FILM OR JOKE ON TELE, FORGET IT, YOUVE MISSED IT AS IT TAKES AROUND 1 MINUTE TO GET IT TO SWITCH OFF
MY RATING 1/ 10
A GOODMANS WILL ALWAYS JUST BE A GOODMANS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews