Customer Reviews


264 Reviews
5 star:
 (224)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Day Cinderella Romantic Comedy with a Twist
For anyone who hasn't inhabited Earth and missed this one then it comes highly recommended as one of the best fantasy Romantic Comedy drama's with a fantastic soundtrack ranging from Roy Orbison's "Pretty Woman" from the title and Roxette's classic "It must have been Love"...Richard Gere plays an ultra wealthy business property tycoon Edward Lewis obsessed with the kill...
Published on 10 Jun 2008 by M. C. Crawley

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Impressive
It's 19 years ago now since Gary Marshal made this call girl-come-girlfriend movie with the likes of Jason Alexander and Richard Gere, often criticised for being too glamorous about the street girl, but this is more of a fantasy than a reality; and it's quite a nice film - Roberts as Vivian is pleasing and she's funny and attractive. Gere is great as business tycoon...
Published on 16 Aug 2009 by DL Productions UK


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Day Cinderella Romantic Comedy with a Twist, 10 Jun 2008
By 
M. C. Crawley "Martin Crawley" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty Woman (15th Anniversary Special Edition) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
For anyone who hasn't inhabited Earth and missed this one then it comes highly recommended as one of the best fantasy Romantic Comedy drama's with a fantastic soundtrack ranging from Roy Orbison's "Pretty Woman" from the title and Roxette's classic "It must have been Love"...Richard Gere plays an ultra wealthy business property tycoon Edward Lewis obsessed with the kill but lonely enough to employ the services of an apprentice hooker in Vivian Ward played by Julia Roberts only to find that love can be sought in the strangest places....Welcome to Hollywood and what's your dream...well Vivian wanted all or nothing whilst Edward just wanted a short hire and fire with no strings......what followed was one of the most chemistry based modern romantic comedy drama's of today..it's hard to believe it celebrated it's 15th Anniversary recently....The glamour, glitz, humour, highs and lows are enough to make a grown woman weep which may happen as it's that type of film but with a twist...Pretty Woman is one of those films that stand the test of time with a lot of chemistry mixed with a touch of class....buy it...you'll love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 13 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Pretty Woman (15th Anniversary Special Edition) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
If you've not seen Pretty Woman - where have you been?! I absolutely love this film! I watch it all the time - I often just put it on in the background because I know it off by heart anyway!

This is definitely a chick flick, but my goodness it's a fabulous one! Every woman who watches this wants to be Julia Roberts, just so that she can be swept off her feet by the marvelously rich, sophisticated, and romantic Richard Gere! Both actors play their roles superbly in this movie, and the soundtrack really sets it off too. If you've never seen this, or if you love this movie but don't own it yet - buy it! You won't regret it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant love story, 12 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pretty Woman [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
i wasn't expecting this film to affect me so much, but it was excellent. i'm a man, and men arn't usually supposed to like romantic films, but this just took my breath away. to my brothers annoyance, i've watched this film many a time, and it just gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Impressive, 16 Aug 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pretty Woman [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's 19 years ago now since Gary Marshal made this call girl-come-girlfriend movie with the likes of Jason Alexander and Richard Gere, often criticised for being too glamorous about the street girl, but this is more of a fantasy than a reality; and it's quite a nice film - Roberts as Vivian is pleasing and she's funny and attractive. Gere is great as business tycoon Edward - who falls in love with the lovable Vivian when he gets lost down town in Hollywood. The film is light entertainment which isn't overly crude and shows us how others perceive women of the night and how sometimes we can be very wrong about them.

This Blu-Ray isn't great, but I think it's mainly to do with the grainy film used in the first place, and not really to do with bad transferring technique; but yes, it's frustrating especially when you see what splendid work they can do; for example Dirty Harry which is 21 years older than this looks fantastic, I guess it's all about preservation and the media used.

The audio is fantastic though, and comes in many languages including French, Spanish and Portuguese; so there's something for everyone. There's also quite a lot of subtitles so you can follow the film in different languages or just in English if you're hearing impaired.

Real pity they didn't do better, but it might well be this is the best we can get from this old romantic film, at least it's better than SD DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What you get, 6 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. M. G. Walker "Cowboy" (South Humberside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty Woman (15th Anniversary Special Edition) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This is a lovely film. It gently touches on a prostitute (Julia) who happens on a meeting with a successful businessman (Richard) when he is out in a friends sports car and lost. He asks for directions and Julia gets her break. The theme has a fairy story background, with some good music, excellent support cast (The hotel manager is something to be believed!). It is highly entertaining with lots of clever laughs, one-upmanship, personal morality and interesting storyline. Buy this DVD... It rates as one of my top three ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD, 11 Mar 2009
By 
old movie lover (N.W Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty Woman (15th Anniversary Special Edition) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
If you don't know about this movie you haven't lived. Truly watchable over & over with nice glass wine & chocs. For a simple film this is one of the finest. A timeless movie, great acting by all and Julia Roberts looked stunning. The scenes showing class differences are simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neverland meets suburbia., 1 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. Jonathan Mf Bradshaw "jonnyb9113" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty Woman (15th Anniversary Special Edition) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Ever dreamt of being swept off your feet by some riduculously rich handsome man?

If you have, then this may just be the ideal film for you.

Pretty Womman captures the harshness of modern day life and flips it over into a world of fun, love, romance and laughter.

Meet Vivian, a young woman who has taken the wrong path in life, prostitution and scrambling around for the weeks rent.

Meet Edward, an unbearably handsomly rich man, own his own business yet is unhappy.

When the two meet the chemistry is clear, and the audience is plunged into a world of fantasy.

And the rest they say is history.....

I can only urge you to watch this film, some may hate it others will love it, but i certainly love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So "Chick Flik" yet my boyfriend liked it!, 10 July 2006
By 
Ms. R. Barnes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty Woman (15th Anniversary Special Edition) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
The film is about a wealthy businessman, (Richard Gere), who inadvertently meets a prostitute, (Julia Roberts).

He hires her not just for the night but as a companion for an entire week!

Typically, it's fantastically 'Chik Flik' because of the love story between the lead couple, within the film. And yes, it obviously has a smushy romantic ending that makes every girl's heart melt :)

But I found that this film isn't your average light-hearted Rom-Com, purely because, when dealing with the subject of a prostitute, it would be hard to make it all sunshine and smiles...

I liked the fact that I found this film 'intelligent'. They look at some of the prejudices that Julia Roberts' young character would encounter.

(Please note this was also picked up on in my school and clips of the film were shown to us while we were studying prejudice and discrimination!)

As expected from such seasoned and successful actors, both lead characters are convincing and extremely likeable in their roles. Support actors are also well-played.

I have just one final comment and that is, my boyfriend is generally not a fan of the 'Chik Flik' genre- didn't like Dirty Dancing and Love Actually didn't rock his world- but he has commented on several occasions on how much he enjoyed watching this...

And that just says it all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 26 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty Woman [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great for a saturday afternoon when its raining..The Blu-Ray edition though isn't as good as thought it would be, picture wise..Still a great film with a good feeling to it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everlasting logos, 28 Mar 2009
By 
Anthony Whitfield "Tony Whitfield" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty Woman [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This disc, is as you would expect, much clearer than the regular dvd - but not as good as you might hope for. It is clear but soft, but with a fair amount of grain. It's also annoying in operation. If you pause the movie, the bottom 1/3 of the screen is covered with a wide, white onscreen logo. If you forget about it while you go and make coffee, then perhaps a snack, take a phonecall in another room, then your plasma won't be happy. Extras, well I wouldn't call them that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pretty Woman (15th Anniversary Special Edition) [DVD] [1990]
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews