Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wheres the rest of the series eg,xmas in france
absolutley brilliant but like another 2 point 4children fan where is the rest of the series????
Published on 12 Jun. 2007 by Mrs. D. Hall

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not what i was expecting
was told it was in perfect condition the box is all damage on the corners on the disk's there's a few scratches on them there is also something been spilt on the top of the box not worth the money I paid at all was expecting it to be all sealed the way it was described.
Published 14 months ago by Kelly Halsey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wheres the rest of the series eg,xmas in france, 12 Jun. 2007
By 
Mrs. D. Hall (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Point 4 Children: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
absolutley brilliant but like another 2 point 4children fan where is the rest of the series????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid sitcom, 22 Dec. 2006
By 
Jarle L. Nyvoll (RANDABERG Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2 Point 4 Children: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I find the comedy in 2 Point 4 Children more grounded in real life than most, and the acting is great! However, the first three series were licensed to Eureka! Video, and they promptly released them on DVD. So far, so good. But what happened to the rest of the series? I have tried writing Eureka! on several occasions, but I never received an answer.

Does anyone out there know if the remaining series of this lovely sitcom will surface on DVD? I for one hope so...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best family sitcom, 23 Aug. 2009
By 
Tallulah (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Point 4 Children: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I saw a few episodes of this very funny series when it was first shown on TV and so bought the DVD pack of series 1 - 3. These were hilarious, particularly how the women dealt with the harrassing bakery boss. It's a waste that there are only 3 series on DVD when modern comedy isn't remotely funny and the public would enjoy this.

"Watching" started off with only two series but after many requests from the public the rest are now being produced. So please please, please, can we have all of 2.4 children and rediscover what inventive plots, witty dialogue and subtle humour is all about. It would also serve as a fitting memorial to the late Gary Olsen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my favorite, 30 Oct. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Point 4 Children: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is still one of my favorite shows from the nineties. I keep checking if the next box has come out yet.....but no.
Where are the other remaining series???
a big fan from Amsterdam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please!, 15 Feb. 2010
By 
S. A. Bollongino "Bookaholic" (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Point 4 Children: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
My family and I have really enjoyed 2.4 children; wonderful comic timing, great one-liners and very realistic family life.

There are another 5 series of 2.4 children and the programme just gets better with each one but unfortunately no DVD's of these episodes and the other Christmas Specials. I can remember Aunt Belle feeding the birds from her high rise flat outside ledge, Bill and Rona trapped with the Cobra snakes, a spooky cottage and Shirley Bassey's dresses in a warehouse and of course the brilliant Millenium episode to mention just a few.

Perhaps Amazon can pass customer wishes onto the powers that be for series 5-8 and Christmas Specials to be produced on DVD? PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious - a universally appealing comedy show!, 21 Oct. 2008
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 2 Point 4 Children: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I am one of these people that will flick through Sky and Freeview to watch cheesy old sitcoms for a giggle - and I really like most of them. However, I haven't seen 2 Point 4 Children on TV for a very long time, so I was very pleased to get my hands on this box set. I watched series 1 - 3 end to end and thoroughly enjoyed it. I'd totally forgotten just how daft and hilarious the show was!

Seriously sarcastic Bill lives with her husband Ben, and kids Jenny and David. Her friend Rona lives across the road - and the show follows their lives and the scrapes they get themselves into. It's one of those wholesome sitcoms you can sit and watch with anyone, young or old, and it's likely most people will find it funny. It's PG - there's no swearing, no violence and no sex (well, it's implied but not seen!) - and yet it's thoroughly entertaining, proving you don't need those things to glue people to the screen.

There's not really a lot else I can say to describe this. It's definitely the acting that makes it, and the interaction between them. The family is 'real,' that is, you can well imagine families behaving like that in real life, and having crazy things happen to them. They're all funny, lovable and completely watchable. If you like daft sitcoms, get your hands on this box set and hope, like I am, that Eureka decide to release the rest on DVD soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family sitcom at it's very best.........., 14 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 2 Point 4 Children: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Rarely can it be said that a sitcom has it all, however in the case of "2point4 children" it REALLY did. The sitcom revolves around the Porter family from Chiswick, West London. The show revolves around housewife Bill and childish but loveable husband Ben and thier two children Jenny (the grown up teenage daughter with plenty of attitude) and David (The typical wierd boy with lots of strange habits and like his father very childish). The cast really were superb with great supporting roles from family friend and neighbour Rona (Man-eating women) and Ben's plumbing side-kick Christine. Although writer Andrew Marshall occasionally turned up the wierdometer (not to my liking) you can't help but take to the family. I have recently been watching the re-runs on ukgold and this sitcom really is completely under-valued by the bbc. This was a real gem of the 1990's which aired between 1991-1999. Unfortunately the tragic and un-timely death of Gary Olsen just 9 months after the millennium special episode in Dec'99 was aired put an end to the show which could quite easily have gone on and on. I grew up watching this sitcom and Gary Olsen really did naturally bring warmth to your tv set as loving father Ben Porter. He will without doubt be forever missed. The show was later replaced on the bbc by "My Family" which never could and never will have the same effect on me and many others i'm sure as what 2point4 children did. I'm so glad they are finally bringing the series out on dvd and i can't wait for series 4,5,6,7 & 8.
You really can't go wrong in buying this dvd. You will want to watch it over and over again....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a shame that the following series were not realsed !, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Point 4 Children: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
2 Point 4 Children was a 1990s British sitcom that was created and written by Andrew Marshall. It follows the lives of the Porter family; an average family that is persistently faced with surreal situations and sheer bad luck. The show's original run was from 1991-1999. A total of 56 episodes were made over eight series, including six Christmas specials. Each special saw the cast perform a Christmas or special theme song. Andrew Marshall virtually wrote the whole 8 series.

The first three series were released on Region 2 DVD, by Eureka Video in 2005, however, after insufficient sales, they stated "sales were not good" and that they do not intend to release any more. Despite poor DVD sales a box set of series 1-3 was also made available in 2008, again through Eureka Video.

There are differing reports of why further series have not been released. 2Entertain cite clearance problems in series 7, also stating that one issue (though not music) in an episode of series 7 would interfere with the actual episode. Regarding music clearances, writer and creator, Andrew Marshall, comments that "All 2point4 Children shows were produced also in a clearable Worldwide edition, so I can't imagine what these mysterious problems might be, other than ridiculous BBC internal tariffs."

I was so saddened that the remaining series were not allowed to be released, and I would have through that they would or should have released the remaining series 4-8 plus the extra Christmas edition's, as a homage to the late Gary Olsen who played the child like Ben Porter. If for no other reason this should have been released to show what a good example and role model of fatherhood and how a dad should behave. He gave me at least the view that a father is for life not for Christmas.

Excellent series not to be missed !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dicko Says, 6 Aug. 2009
By 
D. F. J. Dixon (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Point 4 Children: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have waited a long time for this sit-com to appear on DVD and now its
here. Great cast,Great stories could not wish for better. So sad that
Gary is no longer with us but what a memory he as left behind.,
Thanks....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bizzare, but great, 6 Oct. 2007
By 
FJ Martin (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2 Point 4 Children: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this programme, but the best things about it have to be the Christmas episodes, especially the one where they go away to a cottage for Christmas, and it all starts to go wrong.... They would always end it with a song and they were just a joy to watch.

Unfortunately, I don't think the rest of the series will be released because of poor sales of those currently available, which is daft really because it got better as it went on so surely more people would buy the next series'!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2 Point 4 Children: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD]
£99.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews