Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holy Big Screen Debut Batman!
A world away from Tim Burton and Christian Bale, this first big-screen outing for Batman and Robin is a thoroughly enjoyable piece of hokum. Yes, it's silly and, knowing what we know today, quite primitive but still pretty gripping stuff and historically fascinating. The acting ain't half bad and Lewis Wilson as Bruce Wayne has a certain charisma about him. There's the...
Published on 6 April 2011 by Dirk McQuickly

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars typical 40s serial.
this serial is one of many that hardly gets broadcast in the U.K.

luckily, this dvd release has solved all that, so i can relive my childhood memories of watching "Batman" every morning on BBC 2. altogether, you get 15 episodes on 2 dvds, which totals just over 4 hours.

as always, the acting is variable, the sets are flimsy, subplots are...
Published on 28 May 2006 by Mr. A. E. Ward Davies


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars typical 40s serial., 28 May 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: The 1943 Serial Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
this serial is one of many that hardly gets broadcast in the U.K.

luckily, this dvd release has solved all that, so i can relive my childhood memories of watching "Batman" every morning on BBC 2. altogether, you get 15 episodes on 2 dvds, which totals just over 4 hours.

as always, the acting is variable, the sets are flimsy, subplots are unbelievable and the disguises are just plain silly. did i enjoy it? yes i did.

my only criticisms are: too much footage from the previous episode is shown at the start of the new one, there isn't a batmobile and the sets for wayne manor and the batcave are too restricted.

whilst nowhere near as good as my personal favourite "daredevils of the red circle," "batman" is still enjoyable nonsense all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be very careful....., 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The 1943 Serial Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
It claims that his dvd has HOH subtitles for the Hearing Impaired but these are the American CC subtitles which cannot be played on a multi-region dvd player so if you are hearing impaired then this dvd will be of no use to use, as this has happened to me I cannot review the movie or give any feedback, just be careful if you rely on subtitles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holy Big Screen Debut Batman!, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The 1943 Serial Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A world away from Tim Burton and Christian Bale, this first big-screen outing for Batman and Robin is a thoroughly enjoyable piece of hokum. Yes, it's silly and, knowing what we know today, quite primitive but still pretty gripping stuff and historically fascinating. The acting ain't half bad and Lewis Wilson as Bruce Wayne has a certain charisma about him. There's the usual movie serial stuff: dodgily resolved cliffhangers; an obligatory couple of fistfights per episode - far removed from the stylishly choreographed punch-ups of even the Adam West era - which always seem to result in the villains getting away (some superheroes!). There are also some (unintentionally) hilarious moments which all add to the charm of the thing - fake bats flapping about on clearly visible strings for instance. Interestingly, Batman and Robin are not lone vigilantes but are in the employ of "Uncle Sam" tackling a Japanese spy as opposed to the usual rogue's gallery. Sadly, there is a racist and propagandist element to the way in which the serial portrays the Japanese but it must be remembered that this serial was originally shown in American movie-houses during World War II. (And it's interesting to note that the makers, Columbia, are now owned by Japanese conglomerate Sony.) All-in-all, though, an enjoyable and watchable period-piece and a worthwhile addition to any Bat-collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Childhood memories, 2 April 2014
By 
Mr. A. Watt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The 1943 Serial Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
It is hard to be subjective about any Saturday matinee serial. Watching at home, you don't have a theatre full of kids cheering the appearances of the hero or the booing and foot stomping when the villains are on screen. Nor do you have an usher or usherette trying to keep some order amongst the unruly horde. Anyone who hasn't endured those Saturdays will not appreciate these serials in the way that those of my generation will. Not as camp as the TV series, it is closer to that than the recent dark knight version of Batman. The plots are fool of holes such as a news reporter who is suspicious of Bruce Wayne being Batman, but doesn't recognise that fact that they both drive the same car. It is best to suspend reality and enjoy them for what they were - extended action B-movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Batman Serial DVD, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The 1943 Serial Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The reproduction on this DVD was excellent considering how old this serial is. Some great cliff hanger endings to the chapters and a fair bit of cheating, showing things from the start of a cliffhanger that we hadnt seen in the previous chapter.
Guess its what the writers would call poetic license, after all in the cinema you would have to wait a whole week to see how the cliff hanger resolved itself and would probably have forgotten the exact ending the previous week. Overall a good yarn, a very smug lead actor in the batman roll and a very strange guy in the robin roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Longer than usual cliffhanger, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The 1943 Serial Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Was fine for the first 11 of 15 episodes then the picture stuck and I was unable to play the concluding 4 parts - more than a little frustrating! I have emailed supplier to see what the process is to get another copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the batman, 21 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. J. A. Gebbie "Dancer195" (Sheffield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The 1943 Serial Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Bat, 18 Oct 2007
This review is from: Batman: The 1943 Serial Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I am a BIIIIIIIIIGGGGGGGGGG Batman fan, and I love all the Batman films, whether it's the campy 1966 version, the serious 1989 version, or whether it is Batman Returns, Batman Begins, Batman Forever or Batman & Robin. I've never seen any of these serials - but I would love to. I am planning to buy this and the review above is making me tingle with excitement. Can you believe it? Living in the UK, I've always been disappointed because I have had to always buy Region 2 (or PAL) videos and DVDs, but when I came across this I knew I had to buy it.

So now I'm preparing to buy this and a multi regional DVD player so I can watch it. Honestly, Batman is my life! I can't express the thanks I must say to Bob Kane and Bill Finger for turning my life around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: The 1943 Serial Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£18.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews