Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long lost gem found
This is an amazing album, this is certainly a lost classic. This dissapeared on it's original release due to the bands record label dragging there feet over the release date. The band had split by the time the album was released and with that the label never done any promo either. Massive shame as it's a long lost gem that has finally resurfaced. I and my band actually...
Published on 1 Nov 2006 by D. E. Holt

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all
This album is crying out to be remastered digitally, then we can all appreciate it. the cd doesnt really stand out in the crowd like it should but the last song one of the bonus tracks which are to come out on a new Leafhound album! `too many rock and roll times` in delicious! Do not spend 500 quid on the vinyl copy unless you are a serious collecter.
Published on 20 Jan 2007 by G. G. Saunders


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long lost gem found, 1 Nov 2006
By 
D. E. Holt "Gramalkin" (Chingford, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an amazing album, this is certainly a lost classic. This dissapeared on it's original release due to the bands record label dragging there feet over the release date. The band had split by the time the album was released and with that the label never done any promo either. Massive shame as it's a long lost gem that has finally resurfaced. I and my band actually supported Leafhound last year (2005) and as a fan of early 70's music, Leafhound played an amazing set. They sounded great and still had a feel for the 70's. You should buy this CD, like I said it's a lost gem. DEH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 16 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. K. C. Brook "KevBlut" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Growers of Mushroom (Audio CD)
This band have been so over-looked and therefore under-rated it is unbelievable, but it is typical of vocalist Pete French's (Atomic Rooster) luck. Unusually, I can't remember a weak track on this album, it is that good. Great vocals, drumming, bass and guitar combine to produce some brilliant riffs and great songs. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Driving hard rock with incisive guitar work, 31 Oct 2001
This review is from: growers of mushrooms (Audio CD)
A Hard rock album in the vein of Led Zeppelin. Excellent guitar work with raw & strong vocals. If you're into Progressive 70s. hard rock, this is the one you're looking for.
All tracks on the album are superb - the guitar riff on the opening track is just smashing - and can't make you stop listening to the rest. One track in particulary "Stray", sounds very much like Led Zep.
This is certainly a band worth investigating.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Driving hard rock with incisive guitar work, 31 Oct 2001
This review is from: growers of mushrooms (Audio CD)
A Hard rock album in the vein of Led Zeppelin. Excellent guitar work with raw & strong vocals. If you're into Progressive 70s. hard rock, this is the one you're looking for.
All tracks on the album are superb - the guitar riff on the opening track is just smashing - and can't make you stop listening to the rest. One track in particulary "Stray", sounds very much like Led Zep.
This is certainly a band worth investigating.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boogie for me!, 3 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Growers of Mushroom (Audio CD)
Let me count the ways I love this album. [counting........]. Um, probably about 19 ways but I can't manage that reverse one anymore. But yes, if I could have sex with a record, this would be on my list of conquests.
Of course, you will be well aware of the reemergence of Leaf Hound for gigs and recording, and this reissue contains a bonus track from the somewhat belated second album due later in 2006.
You will also know that said Mr French also did time with Atomic Rooster and Cactus amongst others. You may even know that legions of stoners will point their shaky fingers at this album and mutter words of praise. And for once the dreaded pothead pixies are right. This is a classic.
From the opening "Freelance Fiend" with its delightful riff, cowbell and prot metal grind on into the Zeppelin like ""Drowned" through the Aynsley Dunbars Retaliation weirdo jazz licks of "Work My Body" this is one of those times when the 'magic' of music is patently obvious.
The album ramps up to its original closing with the awesome Sabbath sounding "Stagnant Pool", which still pins me to the wall after all these years before the cowbell makes its comeback for the closing "Sawdust Caesar" alongside a nearly falling off the edge guitar solo. Excuse me while I wipe the drool from my chin.
But this is the ceedee age and that means bonus tracks or guff that wasn't good enough the first time around. "It's Going To Get Better" is utter pants and was rightly relegated to the B-side of the so rare it hurts single "Drowned My Life In Fear". "Hipshaker" was dug up for the original CD issue and is a lo-fi Humble Pie soundalike which is merely alright, in a UFO "Boogie For George" kinda way. Strange to say then that the best of the bonus numbers is the all new "Too Many Rock'n'Roll Times" which shows that Mr French can still blues wail with the best of them, and the tune would have sat nicely in the middle of the original album.
Always welcome round our way, this is irresistible to those of us who can't get enough of UFO - The Decca Years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leafhound - what 70's rock was all about, 10 Feb 2008
By 
M. Mortimore (peterborough, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have owned this album on vinyl since it came out and am still allways impressed by the raw blues based rock you're given here from the pure rock of stray and freelance fiend to the true blues of work my body. for me the band lost the strength of the rhythm section when stuart and derek brooks left. This a classic example of the period and is one of the most sought after vinyl rock albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Growers of Mushrooms by Leaf Hound, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growers of Mushroom (Audio CD)
What a brilliant come back album ! One of the best I have heard in a very long time. If you need to have a copy in your collection !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars by it, 25 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growers of Mushroom (Audio CD)
A band i did now but it was great loved it if you like hard rock you need to by it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Growers of Mushroom (Audio CD)
Buy it, traditional 70's rock, take yourself back to the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zepplinesk, 21 Jan 2006
By 
June (Mossley, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Growers of Mushroom (Audio CD)
A friend at work lent me this cd telling me the tale of how he had the original on vinal and gave it away then realised it was worth £1000 or so - but thanks to modern technology here it is on cd and i have to say its brill, if your a Zepplin fan you will like this but having said that my 12 year old son came into the room where i was playing it and asked me who it was and that it sounded "cool".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Growers of Mushroom
Growers of Mushroom by Leaf Hound (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews