Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope for the Heartbeat, 21 Sept. 2006
By 
Mr. I. Stephen "dj_dadrock" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Love That Whirls (Audio CD)
One of the few artists to successfully make the transition from the oeuvre of 70's Rock to the realms of 80's New Wave, this was the album that found him emerging from the chrysalis absolutely brimming with ideas, and laying them down in a style that was often intricate, but never fussy. You can hear the influence of Kraftwerk, and of Japan and the Yellow Magic Orchestra in there but the melodies are pure Bill Nelson. Good of course to hear the guitar creeping in over the newer textures, most especially on the sublime 'October Man'

A full on remaster certainly does the job, as it was quite a long album on vinyl - with the three extra tracks it weighs in at over an hour and at a budget price it's an absolute must - whether you're coming back to an old favourite or checking out the man's music for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bill Nelson - The Love That Whirls, 24 Jan. 2006
This review is from: A Love That Whirls (Audio CD)
Bill's follow-up album to 'Quit Dreaming...', continued the sonic experiments with that same cunning pop sensibility. This album displayed glistening instrumental passages hinting at Bill's restless creative nature. Contains the classics 'The October Man' & 'Flaming Desire', with Bill's E-Bow guitar work gliding the relentless rhythms. Essential Nelson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever, 25 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: A Love That Whirls (Audio CD)
One of the best records ever made. Amazingly original - free of the cliches of rock n' roll, of pop, of rap, of hip-hop or whatever - it shows how refreshing a bit of original thought is. And how rare it is.
Over twenty years later it reveals the banality of most popular music before and since.
Devastating.
Bill has never quite got there ever again I'm afraid. But I live in hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Godlike, 8 May 2007
This review is from: A Love That Whirls (Audio CD)
About time !! This,along with "Quit Dreaming And Get On The Beam" and "Chimera" has taken way too long to appear. When it was released back in 1982,I was flat on my back in bed with a back injury,but I lurched slowly to my local Woolworths in absolute agony to get it. And God was it worth it! From the opening airstream rush of "Empire Of The Senses" to the massive slowburn of "The October Man",this is one of the great lost albums of the early eighties.And so are the other two,just buy em!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greats, 23 Dec. 2008
By 
C. Hester "chris" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had returned from seeing The Rolling Stones at Wembley and made a detour to pick this up from town on the day of its release. The reason was that like "Quit Dreaming", the album before it, there was a free second album called "La Belle Et La Bete" (The Beauty And The Beast) included. While that is understandably missing here, this surely remains Bill's finest hour. An incredible mixture of fantastic drum machines, oriental synths and whirling guitars. But at its heart it's simply a collection of outstanding 80s pop songs. Commercial without being nauseous, electronic without being cold, I cannot recommend it enough.

The influences are obvious when you hear it - Brian Eno, David Bowie, Yellow Magic Orchestra - indeed I think it was Yukihiro Takahashi from the latter band that once said about Bill, "You're more Japanese than we are!"

Personally I love the mixture of East and West styles, with Bill's great vocals and clever lyrics. ("Girl with the mouth of microphone, You kiss my lips and I kiss your chrome".)

The track "Flaming Desire" features some of the most amazing stretched keyboard sounds ever. It's as if Hendrix had returned to play the synth. If you can, track down the 12-inch version as it is extended into pure aural bliss!

The only issue here left to raise is that Track 2 should be called "Hope For The Heartbeat", a mistake I've seen on other sites too. Ah well, at least it's now available for download, so if you haven't already bought it, now's your chance to grab one of the best pop albums ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keyboard-driven mantric pop from Bill Nelson's early career, 6 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Love That Whirls (Audio CD)
What is there to say about Bill Nelson in 2008 that hasn't already been said many times? Almost certainly nothing, other than to add one's own personal perspectives on a man who must surely be one of the most under-rated musicians in British rock.

"The Love That Whirls" was issued nearly thirty years ago - seems amazing, doesn't it! I bought the album when it was first released, having followed Bill's career through his Be-Bop Deluxe days, then to Red Noise and finally his recordings under his own name. If I'm not mistaken, "The Love That Whirls" was the second of these, following on from "Quit Dreaming and Get on the Beam".

The development in each of these phases was significant. "Drastic Plastic", Be-Bop Deluxe's fifth and last album, owed very little musically to their first and Red Noise's music was far nearer to the "new wave" that had recently swept the country than it was to that last Be-Bop album. The music however was still guitar-centred.

"Quit Dreaming..." marked yet another shift with keyboards beginning to supplant the guitar in the weaving of some mantric rhythmical structures. The process was complete by "the Love that Whirls" and the album is very keyboard driven. The music, however, is similar with the focus on the same mantric rhythmical structures.

It's very effective and enjoyable and these albums launched Bill on his long solo career - never a dull moment!

My favourite tracks on here are "A Private View" and "The October Man" - I suppose these are closer to his former personae than some of the others and the fact they are my favourites reflects a certain conservatism in my taste.

Good sound on the remastering!

Essential for any Bill Nelson fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nelson at his best, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Love That Whirls (Audio CD)
Have had this album on Vinyl since school days, played it to death, so am very happy to have it on CD with bonus tracks. Electronic pop at its best. Accept no substitutes :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still SO Fresh...., 24 May 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Love That Whirls (Audio CD)
My LP of Bill Nelson's 'The Love That Whirls (Diary Of a Thinking Heart)', along with another, a project of his called 'La Belle et la Bete', which was included when I bought it new, rarely gets a play as my turntable has to be set up specially.

This time, playing, I've decided to order the CD, so pleasantly have I been entertained by so many of his great songs. Bill's slightly off-beat compositional structures sound fresh and revealing and even after playing all the tracks, they're pretty darned good!

I don't really agree about him sounding like Kraftwerk; even his nearest-sounding to them, 'When Your Dreams of Perfect Beauty Come True', whilst electronic and complex, with many rhythms underlying each other, Bill is far more organic sounding, far less robotic and just a bit mystical, eastern, even.

'Flaming Desire', however is not one of my favourites, though it is one of the most commercial on the album. It all gets a little overwrought for my tastes, I prefer his simpler arrangements, such as his slightly OMD sounding 'Portrait of Jan with Flowers'. The wonderfully titled 'The Crystal Escalator in the Palace of God Department Store' is an effective swirly soundscape with a dervish rhythm that pulsates through it and shimmering keyboards that bring it so much to life. The haunting 'Echo In Her Eyes' is like dawn rising above a flock of flamingos....

Finally, 'The October Man', a guitar-led track that's a nice balance between commercial song and something still very Bill Nelson.

I can now look forward to playing the CD rather more often, when it comes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great content, not great remastering..., 13 May 2010
By 
Pete (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Love That Whirls (Audio CD)
I was a great Bill Nelson fan from the days of Red Noise onward and this to me is the pinnacle of his work. The only thing that lets it down is the remastering.

After seeing Synth Brittania a little while ago I've been going back in time and dipping into some of the bands instrumental (no pun intended) in bringing electronica to the fore. However having recently bought Kraftwerk - The Man Machine and OMD, Gary Numan etc I am a little disappointed that the sound quality, particularly the recording levels, do not reflect the quality of the content. I can only think the original recordings were poor.

So if you, like me, have the vinyl Bill Nelson don't expect a bit leap in quality. On the other hand, if like me, your vinyl is sat in the loft with your record deck it's not a good enough reason to pass over this album a second time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Nelson - Simply Brilliant., 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Love That Whirls (Audio CD)
Simple - this is brilliant and timeless.
Bill Nelson is an overlooked hero - please listen, understand and appreciate his genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Love That Whirls
A Love That Whirls by Bill Nelson (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews