Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic post-hardcore rock, 23 Aug 2002
This band rock and if you're into the likes of Thursday, Deftones, Finch and Taking Back Sunday you will love this band.The vocals are an acquired taste but personally they rock! Get tracks "Delerium Trigger", "Devil in Jersey City" and "Neverender" and then buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of the art-form, 29 Nov 2007
Coheed & Cambria are, in every sense of the word, artists. They write stories, write music about the stories and then write comics about the music. At least, that is the approximate order. In fact it may just be a grand coagulation of pure, unabashed creativity. I'm a little bit ashamed to say that I'm very slow getting to know them, at time of writing it is 2007 and this album was released in 2002. I am, however, unturning the albums in the correct order, as so to put them in context.

I don't give many albums five stars. They have to be consistent, exceptional works of art which do not sag anywhere or lose themselves in their own sound.

Real opener "Time Consumer" instantly hit home for personal reasons (my name is Matthew). There is a lot of energy in the song. "Devil in Jersey City" is a poppy yet completely unique song which grabs attention right from the silly voices at the open. "Everything Evil" is possibly the best track, with looping, bloopy guitars and as it progresses into a more hardcore sound you lose yourself in what it creates. I really like the ending loop "Clau-dio-oh, Clau-dio-oh" because it throws a spanner in the works at the last minute. "33" is a plodding, machine like number which is probably the most different to anything else on the album. It's fairly simple, with a basic rhythm repeated throughout, but is executed to perfection. The last two tracks are "Neverender" and "God Send Conspirator". The first is another controlled frenzy of ingenious intertwined guitars with stop-start sections. The second is another great track in which we are smugly told "this town's not big enough for the two of us". We and the band know, we're onto something special.

The vocals are absolutely first class, Claudio simply has a beautiful voice free of any falsness or cringe-inducing whining. It's good that while so many completely false acts (most of them out of North America, let's be honest) are badged as "emotional music" while they are flat and lacking in any sort of innovation or rapport with their audience, the real emotion and beauty lies with bands like this who are actually passionate about what they do rather than about what they wear. I was warned about Claudio's apparent ridiculous opuses of self-importance, I heard speak of pointlessly intricate and ultimately selfish guitar solos which are lost on the audience. I was wary, and I found no sign or evidence of this. What we actually have is a series of songs which are all brilliantly written, constructed and performed. Every song hits you like a blow from a hammer, one after another we are bombarded by signatures of genuine greatness. They may not be wholly original - (there are obvious influences from the likes of Rush, post hardcore and some of the structures remind me slightly of some of Sunny Day Real Estate's output, which isn't a bad thing), but this shouldn't, and doesn't, matter.

I should also mention that depending on which version you get, you are subjected to some great b-sides, the best of which is the absolutely beautiful IRO-Bot, which is split into several parts and appears to tell the story of a bad robot who is going to be deativated. It's sad but beauiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars progressive emo, 27 Feb 2004
Coheed and Cambria are one of the few bands out there who fall under the catergory of prog-emo. Many emo bands are thought to wirght their songs as or like poetry and coheed and cambria are no exception. With beautifully mastered lyrics and riffs coheed and cambria have done their genre proud. This album is amazing and you find a pattern in many songs where they build up to climaxes through quiet pieces of singing. Slighty better than their recent release though only a touch. A great album definately worth a listen to any emo fans. If you like my chemical romance,a static lullaby,thursday or maybe you may like them if you like the likes of sunny day real estate or mineral aswell. Whatever just listen to this band and you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emo... post-hardcore..... who cares! ITS ACE!, 29 Dec 2003
This is one of my favourite albums of all time. This is emotional hardcore-style rock music.
The vocals are intersting on this album and i initially thought the singer was female but it becomes obvious that this is from a male point of view. The songs are generally around the 5 minute mark with great breakdowns and interludes. Its refreshing to see a band who really think about their music and provide a song which gives you a journey, rather than a short fix.
The music is not overly heavy but has enough of a kick to keep any rocks fans happy. The sense of melody on this album is amazing. The vocals are interesting and range from melodic singing to harsh screams (courtesy of the bassist).
I listen to a lot of metal and this album is a welcome break for me from all that aggression. There is anger here, but its more refined. This is just quality music!
Who are they like? they have a pretty unique sound but if u want an idea of the genre then i would say: Dead poetic, brand new, funeral for a friend.
Check it out of u get the chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The more I listen the more I'm impressed., 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Stage Turbine Blade [Reissue Bonus Tracks] (Audio CD)
This album grows on you. I was (albeit mildly) disappointed on first listen - not any more.

Buy. Listen. Enjoy. You won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wacky, original and pretty damn good, 7 Feb 2012
By 
J. King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Coheed and Cambria's first album is based around a post-hardcore/pop-punk sound, which is very different from their later work (don't expect anything like Welcome Home here). I enjoyed it greatly, especially Everything Evil, Devil in Jersey City and Time Consumer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coheed And Cambria - The Second Stage Turbine Blade, 26 July 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Coheed And Cambria's debut studio album The Second Stage Turbine Blade was released back in 2002. On this; their first ever album, the band's music wasn't as developed or progressive as it would eventually become, and the vocals haven't developed as fully as they are on the band's later efforts but it is no less of a strong record.

If you have only heard the band's later work, it may take a good few listens to adjust to the style and especially to get used to the production, which isn't as polished as the later albums, but you'll be well rewarded should you choose to preserve and allow the album to grow on you.

The Second Stage Turbine Blade is a great record, the songs are all enjoyable and the lyrics right from the off are as inventive and interesting as they ever became. If you watch the version of this album performed live on the Neverender DVD you'll soon come to appreciate just what a good album this is and how well it still stands up today even despite its production and Claudio's vocals.

Highlight moments include the opener `Time Consumer,' and `Delirium Trigger,' which foresees the direction the band would take on their next album and `33,' which is a fun almost pop punky song that sounds utterly unlike anything else the band would ever release.

To conclude; Coheed And Cambria fan should never overlook or write off this album just due to its age or lack of hit singles. Its still full of good songs that fit in with the band's overall catalogue better than you'd expect and is worthy of inclusion in any fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars T'will rock your butts, 29 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. M. R. S. Vince "siamesegimp" (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't like the idea of this being a concept band but I've got to say this is amazing. I now have every album and the live dvd Neverender. These guys are now one of my favourite bands. in keeping the essence of grunge with its dynamics in sound and volume and a story to keep you gripped. The passion of rock/metal and an amazing voice. Not to mention the killer riffs on every damn song!! Check it ooot!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Total Classic!, 18 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Second Stage Turbine Blade [Reissue Bonus Tracks] (Audio CD)
This is a total masterpeice! A classic album from a great band.
This is the first album from Coheed and Cambria and in my view their best.
Highlight tracks are: Everything Evil, Delirium Trigger and 33, but every track is excellent, unlike later albums which for me always have one or two duff tracks. If your new to the band then this is the place to start.
The sound is hard to pin down but its a got a progressive, rocky, grungy, indy kind of thing going on, sadly the grungy, indy thing disappears on later albums. If your into any form of rock whatsoever from lofty pretentious 70's prog to punk and thrash give this a go you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Coheed And Cambria Album. And One Of The Best Albums Ever Made!, 23 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. Nicholas Tuck "Nick Tuck" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Second Stage Turbine Blade [Reissue Bonus Tracks] (Audio CD)
Buy this album thebonus tracks are amazing. ever single track on this is meaningful and are absolutely mind boggling and brilliant. if you love sci-fi then you are bound to love this. this is coheeds best album and my favourite album of all time. you have to listen to this before you die. they are highly inspired by pink floyd and i love them for it. coheed and cambria are my favourite band and they deserve a place in history as geniuses of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Second Stage Turbine Blade [Reissue Bonus Tracks]
The Second Stage Turbine Blade [Reissue Bonus Tracks] by Coheed and Cambria (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews