Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars socom 3 us navy seals
Previous Socom's have been rated well and all lived up to the hype. However despite this i have never purchased one of them.But i decided to give this one a go and you know what it was a good choice. The graphics are awesome as is the gameplay. It also has a trainee mission to help you get familiar with the original and new controls and commands you can issue. The...
Published on 29 May 2006 by David

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOCOM 3
Having been a fan of the SOCOM series since it came out [though admittedly I didn't finish SOCOM] I bought this game for Christmas with anticipation. I'd picked up SOCOM II pre-owned and really enjoyed it. When I first put on SOCOM 3 I immediately noticed that the graphics seemed to have suffered for this version, with blocky and pixellated visuals which didn't make for...
Published on 14 Jan 2008 by Mr. D. W. Kenrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars socom 3 us navy seals, 29 May 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SOCOM 3 US Navy SEALs (PS2) (Video Game)
Previous Socom's have been rated well and all lived up to the hype. However despite this i have never purchased one of them.But i decided to give this one a go and you know what it was a good choice. The graphics are awesome as is the gameplay. It also has a trainee mission to help you get familiar with the original and new controls and commands you can issue. The different missions in it offer a complex and enjoyable lifespan of the game for example i played the game for 5 hours straight and didn't get bored one bit. If you liked previous socoms or medal of honours or even mercenaries at least give it a go! 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: SOCOM 3 US Navy SEALs (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is by far the best online tactical shooter. Having played the american version and the beta test, I can tell you it is a lot better than socom 2. however, the US version had quite a few glitches a errors, but hopefully they will be sorted by the time it comes out here. The maps a massive, and the lag almost non-existant - it does actually take 5 bullets to kill people, unlike the 2 clips in socom 2. The vehilces are fun, but if you don't like them you can turn them off. Single player has a checkpoint system, and it is more fun than the socom 2 one. Sniping is fun as you can silence a sniper rifle, but it will make the gun heavy so you walk slowly, which is really realistic.
I strongly advise anyone with an online PS2 to get this brilliant game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOCOM 3, 14 Jan 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SOCOM 3 US Navy SEALs (PS2) (Video Game)
Having been a fan of the SOCOM series since it came out [though admittedly I didn't finish SOCOM] I bought this game for Christmas with anticipation. I'd picked up SOCOM II pre-owned and really enjoyed it. When I first put on SOCOM 3 I immediately noticed that the graphics seemed to have suffered for this version, with blocky and pixellated visuals which didn't make for the most appealing game when you think back to the jungle swamps and snowy landscapes of the original SOCOM. That said all the fun you could want from SOCOM is there, tense sneaking up on enemies, the missions are interesting and varied and the ability to use vehicles is a nice add-on. So while visually it can be PS2 collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Online Gaming, 12 Oct 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SOCOM 3 US Navy SEALs (PS2) (Video Game)
I brought Socom 2 18 months after it was released, and found the game deeping engrossing. I then brought a network adaptor 3 months later because i was interested in what the online play would be like. I can tell you now i was not disapointed!

A few months later Socom 3 was released, i and many others had much antiscipated the release. The single player is great, there is much variety in the missions (from all out fire-fights to stealthy insertions), new weapons and the use of vehicles. I spent about a month playing the single player before i completed the game.

But as you can tell from the title, i brought the game for the online play and community. Everyone was welcomed by overhauled graphics and gameplay. However, i do think zipper and sony rushed the release, or cirtainly didnt fully test the game. Although they have reduced cheating there are still many problems with the online play. The main one being the quality of the servers and lag; if you want quality play go for an xbox 360, but if you want community spirit, fun and hours of endless gameplay go for the (free online) PS2. I have met some great people online, made some life friends and even been paintballing with some of them.

Socom is my far the best online game, forget hardware or battlefield buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall opinion., 31 July 2010
By 
Mr. R. Schofield (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SOCOM 3 US Navy SEALs (PS2) (Video Game)
Well personally,this game in it's own catagory is good.It's not too difficult(like Splinter Cell),even on the highest level.In order to enjoy this type of game it is a definate advantage to have good knowledge on firearms & assault rifles-machine guns etc.Especially when you replay the game,even on the same difficulty level(rank).Overall,I'd give this game a thumbs up.There is a disadvantage about it tho,All 4 Socom are the same - It does not tell you for each mission what your bonus objectives are.However,Walkthroughs giving this info are easily available on the net(I use the Google search box).Write them down down for each individual mission is what I did.The plots for the missions sound reasonable enough.One thing that is o.t.t tho,is when an assaut rifle or pistol is fired,especially an assault rifle on fully automatic,there's too much recoil.That means that the dot in the middle where the bullet goes jumps too high.Apart from that an enjoyable game if this is what the individual player/gamer in into.I will say that most missions can be completed without any bonus at all.If you complete all bonus's,you will simply be given a better mission completion overall grade.Same thing that applies to all the bright school levers - A,B,C maybe,there's no + 0r - tho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOCOM 3, 12 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: SOCOM 3 US Navy SEALs (PS2) (Video Game)
I´m a huge fan of SOCOM series and i´m playing the us version. If you liked SOCOM 1 and 2, you i´ll love SOCOM 3! It´s even better, bigger, realistic, challenging and less frustrating because now you have checkpoints during missions to save your progress. You must buy this game if you like action, stealth, military simulation games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars surprised to see so many positive reviews, 20 Jan 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOCOM 3 US Navy SEALs (PS2) (Video Game)
I did not find anything special about this game- assignments lack challenge and plot- imagination and suspense. Call of Duty, for example, is more fun by a mile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Socom, 22 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. Shane Walsh (Shrewsbury United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SOCOM 3 US Navy SEALs (PS2) (Video Game)
Well, the third greatly anticipated game of the series. The socom series, has only improved. I am greatly looking foward to getting my mitts on Socom 3, I played the second obsessivly, completing it five times over and unlocking all the goodies =D, that I thought was amazing to play, so when were told were getting bigger maps, betters weapons and combinations, even newer areas of operation and stuff to drive, It just adds to the fun. The graphics, judging from screenshots I have seen look amazing, and as always the gameplay will be realistic and team based. I don't know if it comes with the head set though, which is a bummer as my head set decided to die on me the other day. Otherwise, I seriously suggest to the Special forces buff, or just general army man gamer, BUY THIS GAME. It is going to be a killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SOCOM 3 US Navy SEALs (PS2)
SOCOM 3 US Navy SEALs (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews