Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a summer!
There are some differing views on this DVD, from the guys who celebrate the achievements of the English this summer, to the review questioning the validity of this as the “greatest series” ever or from those who like to point out that England have only an 11.1% success rate in the past 18 years. Neither of the latter points I am going to discuss, suffice to...
Published on 7 Nov 2005 by Chris Chalk

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better..
Obviously the cricket was great, but the DVD series suffers to me from a lack of real thought in putting it together. It's simply a compilation of the channel 4 highlight packages, so we get a continual procession of 4s, 6s and wickets with not much in between. Fair enough- but it is irritating to sit through long interviews, pre-match pitch inspections, post match...
Published on 29 Jan 2006 by dgl1135


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a summer!, 7 Nov 2005
By 
Chris Chalk "Chris" (Croydon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ashes 3 Disc Box Set - England V Australia 2005 [DVD] (DVD)
There are some differing views on this DVD, from the guys who celebrate the achievements of the English this summer, to the review questioning the validity of this as the “greatest series” ever or from those who like to point out that England have only an 11.1% success rate in the past 18 years. Neither of the latter points I am going to discuss, suffice to say I do believe this is the greatest series I have ever seen and thoroughly recommend this DVD to any cricket fans out there.
The DVD is split into 3 discs with 2 games on each (a heap of extras with the 5th test on the 3rd disc – although you do get the feeling this extras were a bit rushed as they could have been better). This volume of footage feels about right for someone who isn’t looking to watch every ball of the series but instead is looking recall with glee the activity of the summer. It has brilliant commentary from Mark Nicholas who is ably supported by Richie Benauld, Michael Slater, Geoff Boycott et al. The latter coming up with the gem of a line “even a blind man would have given that out”. Priceless.
The cricket on show is simply stunning. Not wishing to belie the hype but this may go down as Freddie’s ashes but lest we forget the performance of Simon Jones, Kevin Pieterson, Marcus Trescothick and a whole host of other top class English players. Lets also not forgot the Aussies in this equation – a friend of mine who attended the 5th day of the Oval test regaled to me a tale of the chant that the crowd directed at Shane Warne, one moment they bowed to his undeniable great achievements during the game (and the series), then pelted him with “Warney’s dropped the ashes”. This really is the spirit in which the game was played and the DVD manages to capture this spirit and passion.
A truly magnificent test series, and a magnificent DVD that captures the action brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great record of a great series, 1 Nov 2005
By 
Proggie (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ashes 3 Disc Box Set - England V Australia 2005 [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely fantastic memory of a fantastic summer of cricket. Over eight hours of footage for fifteen quid - what a bargain! Ignore the sad anti-Englishness of a small number of reviewers this is sport as it should be, both sides acknowledging the abilities of the other, the partisan crowd applauding the opposition as well as their own heroes, the commentary team being fair to all. This is a DVD that should be in any sports fan's collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding DVD - Great Memories, 15 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: The Ashes 3 Disc Box Set - England V Australia 2005 [DVD] (DVD)
Wow!!! I received my copy this morning, 15/10/2005 and I am now avidly watching the footage. The box is huge and I can't quite understand why three dvds have been put into such a large package. You get three dvd boxes with one dvd in each box and the dvd boxes are housed together in a card sleeve. If you look at the edge of the dvd boxes you will see that it makes a picture of the Ashes Urn - nice touch. The first dvd has the first two tests on it, the second dvd has the third and forth dvd and the final dvd has the fifth test along with the extras. The coverage of the games comes from the Channel 4 coverage and it is very well done and they have nice quality. With Christmas coming I reckon that these dvds are going to fly off the shelves. Just watching the games brings back lots of memories and forever and a day I will rewatch these dvds - great memories or a wonderful summer's cricket!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Ripper!, 28 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. A. C. Gilbert "thegilb" (Chatel sur Rolle, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ashes 3 Disc Box Set - England V Australia 2005 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic value, (surprisingly) well-edited, this dvd gives 8 hours of just why sport is an integral part of being a human being. Aside from the fact that it tracks the remarkable turns of events which took us from "here we go again" to "we did it" via some of the most edge-of-the-seat, up-in-the-air, intense cricket England has ever seen, it also shows the fantastic attitude in which the series was played, and the strength, guile and courage of the men on both sides who contributed to such an enthralling series.
In the end England won because those individual strengths were more widely-dispersed and better-marshalled by a better captain. Luck also played a role in the shape of the ball which found itself under McGrath's foot. The whole thing reminded me of a boxing champion, full of the old tricks and pulling on every ounce of experience, finally being toppled by a fresher, stronger, younger pretender. On the ropes at the end of round one and victim to some serious counter-punching in the second, England finally took the ascendant and held on for victory.
Best bit of the dvd? Freddie's over which culminates in the dismissal of Ponting in the Aussie's second innings at Edgbaston; made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.
I'm also a football fan (am I allowed to say that?), but football players should be made to watch the way the 22 (23 if you count our ever-present sub fielders) players gave their all, offered no quarter, but then shook hands, helped the losers up off the floor, and in my imagination went for a pint at the end of each day. A great example of sportsmanship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cricket 3-DVD boxed set, 15 July 2006
By 
Philip Corneille (BELGIUM & CROATIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 3 Disc Box Set - England V Australia 2005 [DVD] (DVD)
Superb cricket DVD-box, the extra features alone are worth buying it !

Extra Features:

The Analyst

Simon Hughes analyses Bowling techniques for each Test

And gives 7 reasons why England won ( great computer drawings )

5 Great Performances with the Bat

Vaughan 166, Ponting 156, Flintoff 102, Strauss 129, Pietersen 158

5 Great Performances with the Ball

McGrath 5-53, Warne 6-64, Jones 6-53, Warne 6-122, Flintoff 5-78

Commentators' Moments of the Summer

A group of 7 cricket commentators talk about their best moment

Scorecards, Stats & facts

Ashes 2005 per test with interesting facts

Richie Benaud's Goodbye

After 42 years (1963-2005) his final 8 minutes of commentary while Pietersen was bowled out by McGrath

The Best of 4sight

Great slow motion images

Philip Corneille BELGIUM-CROATIA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted!, 19 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Ashes 3 Disc Box Set - England V Australia 2005 [DVD] (DVD)
Basically this dvd constitutes of all Channel 4's Today at the Test highlights programs, one after the other- which is exactly what i was hoping it would be beacuse to change from this format would've been a mistake. You get replays of all flintoff's huge sixes and the commentary comes from Mark Nicholas, Richie Benaud, Tony Greig, Athers, and Slats. The dvd is very well structured with menus allowing you to select which test and even which day you wish to view highlights of. You get over 8 and a half hours play time from this 3-pack dvd which for me represents exceptional value for money. I haven't got as far as the extras yet, but even without them this dvd would be a must for all cricket fans, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd forgotten how great Cricket is, 14 April 2006
By 
D. Stackhouse "Doug Stackhouse" (WINSLOW, ME USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ashes 3 Disc Box Set - England V Australia 2005 [DVD] (DVD)
After living in the US for the last twenty years and not seeing much Cricket, whilst watching this excellent DVD for the first time my memories of Cricket consisted of Botham, Boycott and the Tests against Thompson and Lillee.
This DVD brought the game back to life for me, and seeing not only a fabulous series but great sportsmanship during and after the tests was such a refreshing change. Long live The Ashes, and well done England and Australia for putting on a great sporting spectacle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Memories., 4 April 2008
By 
This review is from: The Ashes 3 Disc Box Set - England V Australia 2005 [DVD] (DVD)
Watching this DVD set helps me escape from the shambles of 2006/07, Harmison sure was a LOT different back then as to what he is now. I remember watching all these tests live and revisiting the pride I felt whenever I want is just great to have the option of. The Highlights are great, the extra features are also very impressive and entertaining. That said, if someone who owns the set could watch the "Ashes Finale" on disk 3 and tell me what the music is that plays during the last bit of that (the last 2 minutes or so), I've been looking for it everywhere on the set but it doesn't say. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When cricket ruled the World!, 17 Sep 2005
By 
B Greene (Tunbridge Wells, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ashes 3 Disc Box Set - England V Australia 2005 [DVD] (DVD)
Captain Cook, Dame Edna Everage, Don Bradman, Kylie Minogue, Peter Andre, Jason Donovan, Crococile Dundee - Your boys took one hell of a beating! In the sporting pantheon this will series will preside at the highest table. From Flintoff the Colossus, to Pieterson like Beowulf, and Vaughan the virtuoso conductor, this series had it all - and then some. We may not see its like again - and certainly not without paying a satellite subscription - but we will be able to relive it, from the opening morning at Lords, with Harmison unleashed through to Benaud's closing words some 8 weeks later. In a summer that saw the best of British Rugby capitulate in New Zealand, likewise Timid Tim at Wimbledon (honestly, Tony the Tiger would be a better bet) and England's footballers slump to new depths, who would have thought it turn out quite as it did? To have one of the greatest ever tests in a series is fortunate - to have three? The cricketing gods are spoiling us! But let us not forget what made this truly epic - though they slugged it out toe to toe like two great heavyweights, what defined the summer was Lee and Flintoff embraced at Edgbaston like the last two gladiators on the field of battle, the Aussies in sunglasses under the clouds, Warne and Pieterson, and Benaud's 'Its time to say goodbye - its been a lot of fun'. Channel 4 used to run '100 Great Sporting Moments' - this Test series could easily have its own collection. And yet this compilation promises 'previously unseen' footage - there's more? Did a camera team accompany the boys out on the lash Monday night? Will we get to hear what Pieterson said to Blair? - Because he certainly cannot remember. Will we get to see who watered the roses as nature intended at Number 10? And just what did Warne have to say to Ponting in the dressing room at Edgbaston? I watched/listened/followed this series by every means possible - on the box, via the internet, radio. Soon I will be able to sit and relive every delicious moment - it really did happen, and boy was it worth the wait. 5-0 Mr McGrath?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome England, 18 Oct 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 3 Disc Box Set - England V Australia 2005 [DVD] (DVD)
Awaesome series.
I generally never used to like the way England used to play its cricket (I am an Indian in the UK). I always liked to watch positive play from the players... such as Sachin, Sehwag or Australian cricketers....
However over the last one year Engalnd have been awaesome. And the Ashes was simply superb. India was the only country to have given any kind of challenge to Aussies over the last 5 years... No other country till now...well until Ashes.
Especially it is fantastic to see bigmouthed guys like Mcgrath (what was that....? 5-0???) and Hayden (he said we don't care about Engalnd, and it is all about us, Aussies, we using our skills, then no one can beat us etc) and then ofcourse Ponting (what did he say after Lords ?- we are pretty much covered, we do not need to improve at all...! Overlooking the fact that their batting struggled and Gillespie was more like a club bowler) running back to Aus with tails between their legs. However it doesn't take anything away the brilliant but in vain displays from Warne and Lee.
Eventually right team won, and won in style, thanks to Pieterson! Can't wait to watch this...hopefully I should get my copy today!
Whether one knows cricket or not, surely a much watch for everyone....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ashes 3 Disc Box Set - England V Australia 2005 [DVD]
£2.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews