Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Short and Sweet Charmer from Simon Nye
"He looks like the elephant man - only not enough to go on tour".

This is how the Lord of the Manor, the reclusive Tom (Martin Clunes) is described by the villagers whom he avoids. With centuries of in breeding resulting in a deformed forehead and fleshy face, Tom keeps himself to himself and makes sure no one comes close enough to see him. He rattles round...
Published on 5 Jun 2008 by Scots Lass

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming but too short
This updated version of Beauty and the Beast is well acted and offers some very pleasing moments. However, with a run time of only 49 minutes, the production is just too short for full character development. The viewers hope, is to see the relationship between the reclusive Tom (Martin Clunes) and the beautiful plumber/barmaid Cathy (Sienna Guilroy) gradually build from...
Published on 12 April 2009 by M. L. P.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Short and Sweet Charmer from Simon Nye, 5 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
"He looks like the elephant man - only not enough to go on tour".

This is how the Lord of the Manor, the reclusive Tom (Martin Clunes) is described by the villagers whom he avoids. With centuries of in breeding resulting in a deformed forehead and fleshy face, Tom keeps himself to himself and makes sure no one comes close enough to see him. He rattles round his impressive home with only his elderly butler and his wife for company. But things change for Tom when the house plumbing finaly gets beyond his repair skills and a local man has to come and fix it.

When the plumber (Sam Kelly) is injured, his daughter Cathy takes over the work and after various shouting matches, she begins to see beyond Tom's looks to the man inside. In turn, Tom no longer needs his housekeeper to cut out pictures of eligible young ladies from "Tatler" - he has found the girl he wants all by himself!

But will village Casanova Ryan allow Cathy to be spirited away? The scene is set for a showdown which Tom must face - even if it involves a dreaded trip to the local pub.

At only 50 minutes long this is a short drama, but the laughs come thick and fast and the reworking of 'Beauty and the Beast' is a joy from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty is beautiful!, 11 Jun 2007
By 
AMG - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Beauty [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This film first aired on ITV 1, and is Simon Nyes modern reworking of the classic that is Beauty and the Beast.
It stars Martin Clunes as the reclusive, misunderstood Tom Fitzhenry, an aristocrat who rarely ventures out of his estate; until he meets Sienna Guillorys character Cathy.
She helps him to over come his inhibitions, whilst fixing his pluming!
Also starring is Gwenllian Davies and Peter Vaugh as Fitzhenrys hilarious servants, Sam Kelly as Cathy's dad, and Cristian Solimeno as the repulsive Ryan, who's funniest line in the film is to Cathy - "Come back! Are you wearing any knickers? I care about you!"

Any die hard Beauty and the Beast fans will have fun noticing the similarities between the 2 films {I did anyway!}
1. The mention of Roses
2. Cathy's love of books
3. The fact the girls in both films were brought to their Beasts inadvertently by their fathers
4. The line uttered by the girls as they enter their Beasts homes -
"Hello! Is anybody there? Dad? / Papa?"
etc, etc, etc!

The only bad things about this DVD are - 1. The fact that it has no special features, which is a shame (they could have shown how they applied the special make up to Martin Clunes' face, etc) and 2. The fact that it only lasts around an hour!

This film always has, and always will cheer me up when I'm feeling low {with lines like "its amazing the strength that happiness gives you" how could it not!} and anyone who has ever been bullied or felt different will develop an instant love for this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but Sweet, 17 May 2010
By 
F. C. Hawke "nzfiona" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beauty [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Being part of a series of short dramas, this version of "Beauty & the Beast" might be disappointingly brief. Certainly, a 90-minute programme would have been preferable. However, in the allotted time, "Beauty" is able to get across an interesting adaptation of this classic story.

Martin Clunes is perfect for this part. His dry humour enables the viewer to feel both exasperated and sympathetic at the same time - not unlike how fans of his character Martin Ellingham in "Doc Martin" feel about him in that role. In "Beauty", his snobbish and reclusive character Tom Fitzhenry hides away not only because of his looks, but because he still holds onto the old and crumbling class system of British peerage. It takes the old and crumbling pipes to get a local plumber and his daughter assistant (Cathy Wardle, played excellently by Seinna Guillory) to bring a change into his life - as much as he might not want it. Of course, there is the brutish, rather dim-witted village Casanova - Ryan - trying to gain he affections of the heroine, Cathy. His antics are hilarious and you almost feel sorry for him when he doesn't 'get the girl'.

The typical British humour will both amuse and shock many people - this is no Hallmark Channel film by any means - and some viewers might feel let down by the brutally honest speech and attitudes of many of the characters. But it is refreshingly different and will delight most fans of this classic fairy tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming but too short, 12 April 2009
By 
M. L. P. (Shrewsbury, Ma) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This updated version of Beauty and the Beast is well acted and offers some very pleasing moments. However, with a run time of only 49 minutes, the production is just too short for full character development. The viewers hope, is to see the relationship between the reclusive Tom (Martin Clunes) and the beautiful plumber/barmaid Cathy (Sienna Guilroy) gradually build from what at first is an awkward encounter into a perfect love match. Instead, what we get are some very pleasant vignettes which could, given a chance, develop into an interesting and enjoyable love story. That said, I recommend the DVD because of the fine acting and although short, very pleasing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Have wanted to see this version of Beauty and the Beast for a long time. Lovely film really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars golden globe /oscar to the makeup genius, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is maybe my favorite CLUNES DVD. He melts into a part so completely (note "goodbye mr. chips") The storyline is a good
one also. THANKS AGAIN!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i first saw this on tv and wanted to own it from that point., 5 July 2013
By 
Derek Jackson "simplesolutionstoyourimpossibl... (manchester.united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
this is martin clunes like you have never seen him b4 and at his most brilliant best with a really good story line to boot.
highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well done, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I'm a fan of Martin Clunes. So I wanted to see him in another film.
Acting was good - story was well presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty, 21 Jun 2012
By 
H. Neale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Lovely romantic story about a modern day beauty and the beast Martin clunes being the beast.I bought it for my husband who really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Martin Clunes - Beauty, 17 April 2012
By 
Mrs. Mj Barrington (Oxfordshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This was bought in part to remind me of the TV film which I watched some years ago and also to add to my "Martin Clunes" selection. Story line was fair but I do not think did justice to Martin Clunes' ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beauty [DVD] [2004]
Beauty [DVD] [2004] by Ben Bolt (II) (DVD - 2005)
£14.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews