Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fungus the Bogeyman a must for the younger generation
a funny and charming film aimed at the younger generation but just as appealing for some if not most of the older community. a brilliant film based on a well written book, it is a must have dvd/ vhs, and it would be a shame to miss out. The life of fungus, a bogeyman from the land beneath the ground, criticising us and our ways just as we criticise theirs (if we believe...
Published on 29 Dec 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Thin plot, over-long and visually poor. Boring.
I found this to be a poor version of the beautiful book. The added plot was dull. I don't know who the target audience was, really. There is little to keep adults entertained. Not much attempt at humour. Such a missed opportunity. PLEASE spend your time and money on the fantastic original book instead. It is so much more entertaining.
Published 5 months ago by Danimalstitcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fungus the Bogeyman a must for the younger generation, 29 Dec 2003
By A Customer
a funny and charming film aimed at the younger generation but just as appealing for some if not most of the older community. a brilliant film based on a well written book, it is a must have dvd/ vhs, and it would be a shame to miss out. The life of fungus, a bogeyman from the land beneath the ground, criticising us and our ways just as we criticise theirs (if we believe in them). We are the 'topside', the land above ground, and there is some political satire and misquotes that will have the older generation cackling with glee.
dont miss out on this brilliant offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the 1977 book - but that was a brilliant comic strip, 2 Jan 2007
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fungus the Bogeyman [DVD] (DVD)
This TV series is quite different to the excellent Raymond Briggs book. The book hasn't got a real storyline, being more like an comic strip encyclopedia on the life of Bogeymen (Fungus) and bogeywomen (wife Mildew) and their bogeychildren. The book just charts a day in life of a bogeyman, who it seems, exists merely to torment us 'Drycleaners'. Briggs illustrated study of bogeydom delights in all things revolting, putrid, and lavatorial, and even raises deep questions on the meaning of Bogeydom life. However considering this TV serial has a lot of live action as well as animated bogeys, it works very well on the small screen in terms of visual quality. The only weak aspect is that the storyline is a bit drawn out and there just aren't enough visual and literary gags compared the book, e.g. in the book hidden on Mildrew's bathroom shelf there's 'FemStench' perfume which is real Eau de Toilete (toilet water). This BBC serial seems aimed at an even younger audience than the book, and tells the story of a crisis in the Bogeyman kingdom sparked off by Fungus's 14 year old son Mould's unhealthy obsession with the Drycleaner's way of life.

This TV series runs into three 40 minute episodes, and despite the good actors and visuals it can occasionally drag on a tad, particularly if watched all in one go. So if I had to chose, it would be the original 38 page 1977 Fungus the Bogeyman illustrated [Picture Puffin] book every time. The book's also generally a fair bit cheaper than the DVD and would be great for any kid over 7 - boys might go for it at an earlier age. However once you get to know the book, this TV series becomes far more tolerable, and like the book it's also very kid friendly [U classified, and probably suited to ages 5+, but I'd sit in with sensitive youngsters for the first 30 minutes]. Overall worth viewing for Fungus fans, as it's quite amusing in places, and besides any 'Fungus the Bogeyman' on TV is better than none at all, so 4*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Thin plot, over-long and visually poor. Boring., 29 Mar 2014
This review is from: Fungus the Bogeyman [DVD] (DVD)
I found this to be a poor version of the beautiful book. The added plot was dull. I don't know who the target audience was, really. There is little to keep adults entertained. Not much attempt at humour. Such a missed opportunity. PLEASE spend your time and money on the fantastic original book instead. It is so much more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fungus the Bogeyman [DVD] (DVD)
Grandson loved it. Worked well and very cheap. Perfect working order and perfect for boys. Would recommend it for boys of 5-9 years old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fungus the bogeyman, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fungus the Bogeyman [DVD] (DVD)
bought this for my 8yr old grandson as part of his christmas he had not heard of it before but was very happy with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good view., 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Fungus the Bogeyman [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent fun story with meaning and content for all ages and to those of a squeamish nature stick with it because it is worth it! Budgie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 July 2010
This review is from: Fungus the Bogeyman [DVD] (DVD)
Great for kids
Interesting animation and real people mix, with some funny and entertaining scenes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived on time and in perfect condition., 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fungus The Bogeyman (Special Extended Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter absolutely loves this and she lost her copy so as a surprise I got her another she was over the moon. She is 11 now and still watches it over and over again. Arrived on time and in perfect condition .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read book first., 7 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Fungus the Bogeyman [DVD] (DVD)
I hadn't read the book, but rented this film because of the book's rave reviews. Then discovered that my 7 year old grandson had seen it on TV a year or two ago, loved it and had asked his Mum to get it for him! So it was with quite a lot of excitement that he looked forward, as I did, of seeing it again. However, I found that it wasn't long before he was bored, and actually mentioned that there were parts that had bored him before. And as for me? I found half the time I wasn't sure what was going on and the rest of the time I found it quite repetitive and boring. Couldn't help feeling that it might have been different if we had already read the book and identified with the characters. I'm giving it 3 stars because of my grandson's earlier response to seeing it the first time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bogeyman, 11 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fungus the Bogeyman [DVD] (DVD)
This gets a viewing quite often, great with all the lights off, snuggled up on the couch.......ooohhhhhhhhh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fungus The Bogeyman (Special Extended Edition) [DVD]
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews