Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic it made me feel young again
I remember when i was 14 and used to stay up to watch this on a thursday night at daft o clock in the morning
its well worth the money the effects are basic the acting is questionable but the story and plot is spot on
i watched them all in 2 days its that addictive
seriously reccomend this title
Published on 19 Mar 2006 by johntaylor573

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An awful production.
One of the worst programs I have ever viewed. Bad in just about every way possible, It is surprising that Amazon offers such bad stuff.
Published 6 months ago by Glenn Richards


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic it made me feel young again, 19 Mar 2006
This review is from: War of the Worlds: Complete First Season [DVD] [1992] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I remember when i was 14 and used to stay up to watch this on a thursday night at daft o clock in the morning
its well worth the money the effects are basic the acting is questionable but the story and plot is spot on
i watched them all in 2 days its that addictive
seriously reccomend this title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Studio should bring out Series two ' now ', 23 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War of the Worlds: Complete First Season [DVD] [1992] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a review of ' War of the Worlds ' TV series

At this price its fantastic value.

Synopsis -

According to the series, rather than being outright killed by germs at the end of the 1953 film, the aliens had all slipped into a state of suspended animation. Their bodies were stored away in toxic waste drums and shipped to various disposal sites within the United States (ten such sites are known to exist in the country ), and a widespread government cover-up combined with a condition dubbed "selective amnesia" has convinced most people that the invasion had never happened.

Since the concept of vastly intelligent life on Mars had lost its plausibility by the time of the series, the aliens are revealed to actually be from Mor-Tax--a garden planet 40 light-years away in the Taurus constellation orbiting a dying sun.

Thirty-five years later, in 1988 (modern day when the series began), a terrorist group calling themselves the People's Liberation Party accidentally irradiate the drums containing aliens while raiding dumpsite Fort Jericho. The radiation destroys the bacteria that are keeping the aliens unconscious. Once free, the aliens take possession of the bodies of the six terrorists that overran the site. From there they use a series of human bodies and crudely-adapted Earth technology to find means of appropriating the planet, both in purging the plague that is humanity and developing a permanent means to inoculate themselves against the planet's indigenous bacteria. Their attempt to successfully make Earth into their new homeworld is imperative for in roughly five years, three million colonists from Mor-Tax are expected to arrive.

An eclectic group is formed by the government to deal with the new alien threat, and the series follows their missions and adventures (and, often, failures) in fighting the aliens. The Blackwood Project, named after its central member, consist of:

Dr. Harrison Blackwood (Jared Martin)--Astrophysicist whose parents were killed in the war. He was adopted following the events of the film by Dr. Clayton Forrester and Blackwood's character is played very much to resemble Forrester down to his demeanor, dress, and even speech and appearance. He is a pacifist and vegetarian, and is often seen practicing many alternative health techniques such as yoga.

Dr. Suzanne McCullough (played by Lynda Mason Green)--Microbiologist and single mother to Debi. She firmly embraces standard procedure in her work, which causes friction with Blackwood and his chaotic and eccentric work habits.

Norton Drake (played by Philip Akin)--A long-time friend of Harrison, he is a paraplegic computer genius granted mobility via a voice-activated wheelchair named Gertrude. He is often portrayed as being cool and laid back with a good sense of humour. In earlier episodes he had a pseudo-Caribbean accent; this was later dropped.

Lt. Col. Paul Ironhorse (played by Richard Chaves)--Native American military man. He is very conservative and often clashes with the other members of the team, especially Blackwood who is his political and philosophical opposite.

Now this should not be compared to War of the Worlds (2005 film), a film directed by Steven Spielberg as this is far better - yes I know it does not have the fancy CGI but that is part of its appeal.

the Studio should bring out Series two ' now '
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic choice, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First saw this series late at night back in the 80's and have been waitng to get it on DVD I already had the first 5 volumes on VHS and had recorded it off TV and now all I have to do is get season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I remembered, 4 May 2013
By 
Michael Cowell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This science fiction show was at the time it was made a miss match of science fiction and horror. By today's standards not really horror. Aliens taking over human bodies. Watching it now this show is not as good as I remember when I watch it on TV years ago. The stories are good to fair, special effects are not as you would expect today, but you cannot judge a show just by special effects. Not one of the best of science fiction shows but by no means one of the worst for the time it was made. I am waiting for the price of the second season to drop, before I purchase it. The second season change direction Earth society collapsing and the "team" working underground to fight the "second wave of aliens".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember staying up late on Thursday o watch this as a child and have been waiting forever for his to be released. A must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the money for happy memories, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brings back happy memories of late saturday nights when i was very young staying up late to watch with my parents led to a happy interest of anything sci fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the Turkey Lovers, 8 April 2006
This review is from: War of the Worlds: Complete First Season [DVD] [1992] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This was one of those little gems hidden away in the tv schedules as it needed air time but was mostly pants. The acting is wooden, the sfx blue peter like and the storylines shambolic.
So why have I given it a 4 star rating? Because it is hypnotic. In its sheer awfulness you can not help but watch in awe. Someone actually wrote this, someone actually audition for this and someone actually paid for its production.
Ironhorse is a bit of eye candy though, dont by this expecting great television, buy it to be amused and bemused!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80's sci-fi, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
did not realise this was as old but was a fun watch special effects quite good and gory in places for the date, would not watch again
this is going 2 be passed on 2 my son
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War of the worlds season 1, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
About time they brought this out on DVD . One of the best can't wait till season 2 the acting good story line ok following wheee the original film left off .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An awful production., 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the worst programs I have ever viewed. Bad in just about every way possible, It is surprising that Amazon offers such bad stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews