Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you remember how good they were?
I've been waiting for this to be released on DVD since forever and here it is at last and... I think it's brilliant! This concert is a perfect example of why The Police where the biggest and best band of the early eighties.
They've done a brilliant job re-mastering this footage, compared with the VHS version the video quality is excellent and the new DTS soundtrack...
Published on 20 Sep 2005 by Web'

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stingcronicity Concert
I'm going to get shot for this by those fans who seem to give anything 5 stars because they feel they have to, but it has to be said, This concert is more like Sting than the Police, I'm a mega Police fan, I worship them and I'm being honest, For the average fan, this is brilliant but for people like myself you'll know that the Police were capable of pulling of a better...
Published on 4 Jun 2007 by Erwin M. Fletcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you remember how good they were?, 20 Sep 2005
I've been waiting for this to be released on DVD since forever and here it is at last and... I think it's brilliant! This concert is a perfect example of why The Police where the biggest and best band of the early eighties.
They've done a brilliant job re-mastering this footage, compared with the VHS version the video quality is excellent and the new DTS soundtrack is really quite remarkable especially considering this was filmed in 1983. There isn't a lot by way of special features; however there are four (live) tracks that didn't appear on the original video and interviews with all three members.
Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stingcronicity Concert, 4 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Police: Synchronicity Concert [DVD] (DVD)
I'm going to get shot for this by those fans who seem to give anything 5 stars because they feel they have to, but it has to be said, This concert is more like Sting than the Police, I'm a mega Police fan, I worship them and I'm being honest, For the average fan, this is brilliant but for people like myself you'll know that the Police were capable of pulling of a better performance than this.
This concert lacks any on stage chemistry, all members are in there own world, You can see here just how much control Sting had over the band at this stage, Most guitar and drum solos are kept extremely short, while Sting parades around stage like Summers and Copeland are a rent a band, with three backup singers that do for Synchronicity what the horn section done for Ghost In The Machine Tour, Ruin any chance of a Policesque performance.
The Early Police were a band that dominated the world, with improvisation on stage accustomed with the great bands of the 60s and 70s, This performance though good to some sounds like a Greatest hits cd, with no live presence. Where's the stage presence the Police used to have in the early days, Sting has suppressed here with his threat of his way or the high way. Even Andy and Stewart would tell you that. 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great band and, 22 April 2006
By 
N. Dicksee "Nick Dicksee" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Police: Synchronicity Concert [DVD] (DVD)
An awesome concert film with cutting edge production (for the 80s) by Godley and Creme. This film shows The Police at the height of their powers and their adoption by the US as a great British group. The addition of the extra tracks (Don't Stand So Close To Me...) with multi-angle shots was well worth the DVD wait. Now all they need to do is launch The Police Around The World on DVD with extra footage and I'll be a happy person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Police Fans !!!, 8 Oct 2005
By 
T. M. Collins "Burmillaboyz" (Littlehampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Police: Synchronicity Concert [DVD] (DVD)
The main concert has been released on video before. It is a great concert from the final Police tour. The performance is packed with energy with 3 musicians at the peak of their abilities. They certainly bowed out on a high. They perform most of their hits.
The extra tracks are a true bonus - I especially enjoyed Invisible Sun (One of my favourite Police songs).
I would recommend this if you have not got the video, but it is also worthwile upgrade if you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than nothing I suppose, 13 Jan 2006
It's OK I guess, better than nothing I suppose but ultimately very annoying.
Everything from Stings over loud bass with his over the top stage outfit to Godley & Creme's useless direction. Engouh to make a grown fan weep.
Are we watching a Police gig, a Sting concert or a documentary about crowd behaviour? I'm not so sure!?
I'll just keep listening to the CD's, at least the guitar and drums come through loud and clear without the constant "Boing, Boing Boing" of the bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you remember how good they were?, 25 Sep 2005
This review is from: The Police: Synchronicity Concert [DVD] (DVD)
I've been waiting for this to be released on DVD since forever and here it is at last and... I think it's brilliant! This concert is a perfect example of why The Police where the biggest and best band of the early eighties.
They've done a brilliant job re-mastering this footage, compared with the VHS version the video quality is excellent and the new DTS soundtrack is really quite remarkable especially considering this was filmed in 1983. There isn't a lot by way of special features; however there are four (live) tracks that didn't appear on the original video and interviews with all three members.
Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Gift, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police: Synchronicity Concert [DVD] (DVD)
This was a gift for my son, who is a musician and it was to replace an album from
his childhood, The Police were an early inspiration to him. it arrived as promised and would recommend
this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic DVD, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police: Synchronicity Concert [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone, no matter what their taste, will enjoy this DVD. Sting is a master of the stage and his band colleagues are fantastic in their own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Police DVD, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police: Synchronicity Concert [DVD] (DVD)
A great dvd when the group were at the height of their powers before the egos took over, a super live performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Synchronicity Concert DVD, 11 April 2013
By 
R. Kapila "RajiBongo" (LONDDON Born & Bred) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police: Synchronicity Concert [DVD] (DVD)
A Must for the die hard fan. If you bought the VHS in the 80s this has got extra tracks with multi-angles of roxanne, don't stand, invisible sun and synchronicity II.

Great piece of history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Police: Synchronicity Concert [DVD]
The Police: Synchronicity Concert [DVD] by The Police (DVD - 2005)
7.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews