Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An independent film better than 99% of Hollywood...
Personally, i think this movie is one of the best I've ever seen, and it's probably my second or third favourite movie. However, I can understand that a lot of people might not like the film. But just because you don't like a film doesn't make it bad.
The thing that defines this movie is it's dialogue. The amount of swearing earned it a high rating in most countries,...
Published on 30 Jun 2005 by Matthew Cresswell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Look At Bullying And The Consequences Behind It
Jacob Aaron Estes's first film is quite a hard hitting look at bullying, and how doing something can lead to you really regretting it. When young Sammy (Rory Culkin) gets beaten up by obese George (Josh Peck) - his brother Rocky (Trevor Morgan) gets rather angry - and without thinking, plans a revenge with his friends, which is pretty much harmless to a point, he wants...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by DL Productions UK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars mean creek, pre owned dvd, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mean Creek [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
All round excellent service, a pre owned dvd that was in perfect condition, very quick delivery, cant fault them in amy way. The film was very good, keeps us guessing till the end, and well acted. very happy, many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teen version of Deliverance but less disturbing, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mean Creek [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Great film. Very poetic camera shots. Slightly philosophical story line.

If long poetic shots of scenery or emotion are too slow for your mind which has been trained to love fast paced action films, I don't think this film is for you. Otherwise, do watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly powerful., 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mean Creek [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Its a indie film of course, with a Culkin in it, I bought it because it made me feel the same the characters felt if that happened to me. The solitude of the boat ride was also strangely comforting.

Anyway... The DVD arrive on time, and was packaged well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morbid!, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: Mean Creek [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Zoverstocks delivered super fast quality again.

This is a great film. Stand By Me-esque but much darker.
It's a shame there isn't a longer post-death sequence, but the children's acting of grief and remorse is absorbing and better than many higher end actors today. It's an enjoyable watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 19 Aug 2010
By 
Mrs. Rosalind A. Brennan "Roz" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mean Creek [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Loved this film it was brilliant. The acting was excellent and the film was so moving yet so shocking. I highly recomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning coming of age thriller, 4 July 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mean Creek [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The plot of 'Mean Creek' revolves around of a group of kids who plan revenge on a local bully, which ultimately leads to disaster. What sets 'Mean Creek' apart from similar films is that it dares to delve deeper into causes of child bullying, showing that what can cause one child to bully another is poor social skills, isolation, and a lack of acceptance by society. Another great aspect of the story is the role reversal twist that takes part within the film, the way the children who originally see themselves as the victims of the bully, through their act of revenge, themselves become the bullies. For such a young cast the quality of acting is nothing short of superb, mix this with the excellent script and the end result is a very powerful, very sad and one of the best coming of age stories since 'Stand By Me'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sunday Monday, Happy Days, 9 Dec 2009
This review is from: Mean Creek [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Gem of a movie which captures the ups and downs of getting payback on the school bully in this kids on a river boat outing. More Stand by me than deliverance, with a little bit of Happy Days and the Wonder Years thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mean creek, 28 Jan 2009
This review is from: Mean Creek [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
beautifully shot movie which shows josh peck in a very different role from his drake and josh character also stars the very sweet carley shroeder of lizzy maguire fame.its nice to see them both in serious acting mode as apose to comedy.i really like the atmosphere created in the movie .an unexpected gem 5stars .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One to Watch, 27 Dec 2007
By 
N. Pluck "Nats" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mean Creek [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
When I first saw this film in the TV guide, I thought it would be a trashy teen horror movie or slow paced shallow morality tale. Thankfully, I put my assumptions based on the title aside and sat down to watch.

It starts off in a wistful, slightly child like way with Rory Culkin being beaten up because he took the bully's (George, played with amazing understanding of the character by Josh Peck) video camera. This small event sparks his brother, Rocky, to take action and get revenge for the years of abuse he and his friends too suffered at the hands of George. The plan is simple - Set up a fake party and take him on the local river, play truth or dare and humiliate him.

Unfortunatly, they find that George is deeper than they thought and has issues they haven't considered. This, however, doesn't make up for his frequent lack of sensitivity and special skill for really annoying people. I'll leave it there with a description of the film, for it is one you truly have to discover for yourself.

The cast is excellent; all the actors know their characters inside out and play them with great skill. The setting and soft camera work adds to the child-like plot line (after all, we all wish to have revenge on our enemies, but often never can) and is often breath-takingly beautiful. The script has obviously been well considered and picked over. It's not at all rushed, and when it comes to the end you'll be wishing for more
(well, I was anyway!).

The only criticism is that this is not a film for all audiences - The target age range would be, I would say, between 15 and 35. Anyone older than that will probably loose the ability to emphasize with the anger of being bullied and sweet taste of revenge. It is also not an action film, with it being much more based around morality and punishment; is an eye for an eye a sensible mantra to live by, and when does it go too far?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obssessed film fan, 16 Oct 2005
This review is from: Mean Creek [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
First off, anyone who has not seen this film simply must! This is one of those very rare films that chooses to address the mentality of the effects of bullying in a mature manner, without the presence of adults.
Mean Creek has been compared to the likes of Deliverence, Stand By Me and River's Edge. River's Edge would be the most suitable comparison as both films deal with the topic of dissafected teens. Mean Creek is both heartbreaking and shocking, a film that will not lose any of its impact in the next few years to come. After first viewing the film at UCI Cinema's Diretor's Chair in merry hill, dudley, it became gob smackingly obvious just how important it is for EVERYONE over 15 to see this film!!!
The soundtrack is equally impressive, with a dedicated score from tomandandy, who have supplied music for other films such as Rules of Attraction and Mothman Prophecies. For those of you who think I am talking blabbing on, watch it and decide for yourself as this is a film that may change your whole perception on youth today. Seriously! See it, love it, buy it or hate it, whichever, just make sure you see this film. Highly reccomended for fans of accute drama, high quality acting or powerful emotive storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mean Creek [DVD] [2004]
Mean Creek [DVD] [2004] by Jacob Aaron Estes (DVD - 2005)
6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews