Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glacial, Unsentimental and Memorable
The Consequences of Love is one of the best films I have seen this year. It focuses on an anonymous businessman who lives a very inactive, solitary existence in a Swiss hotel, and who, we discover little by little, is not in control of his own life and fate as much as he appears to be.
This is director Paolo Sorrentino's second film, but it looks like it has...
Published on 30 Nov 2005 by Colin C

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I just can't decide what I think of this film - hence the 3 stars
5 stars in place, 2 stars in others (inappropriate use of music and the main character's family relationships are the weak points for me), this is however, an unforgetable and beautifully constructed film with some very good performances.

One other minor gripe - the wonderfully enigmatic and charismatic Olivia Magnani is terribly under-used and deserved more...
Published on 22 Oct 2008 by Tonkfan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glacial, Unsentimental and Memorable, 30 Nov 2005
This review is from: The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
The Consequences of Love is one of the best films I have seen this year. It focuses on an anonymous businessman who lives a very inactive, solitary existence in a Swiss hotel, and who, we discover little by little, is not in control of his own life and fate as much as he appears to be.
This is director Paolo Sorrentino's second film, but it looks like it has been directed by someone with the confidence of years and years of filmmaking. Several scenes are extremely slowly paced, tracking gradual movements in the frame, and examining textures and settings so that they are quite reminiscent of 'Art' directors such as Antonioni and Tarkovsky. the look and pace of the film also reminded me strongly of the Turkish film Uzak, and if you saw and enjoyed that one, then this is a must too.
This DVD release has a great, sharp picture and includes two small 'making of'documentaries which are, for once, worth watching, and a trailer. The film on its own would be a necessary purchase for anyone who enjoys European cinema, and as for the ending..... you won't forget it in a hurry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and entertaining film, 24 Feb 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
"The Consequences of Love" is an unusual film about a taciturn and aloof Italian businessman who has been living alone in a Swiss hotel for several years. Underneath his surface greyness he hides a number of dark secrets which account for his unhappiness. Starved of friendship and love , he forms a romantic attachment to an attractive waitress in the hotel bar and from that spark of love , he becomes energised to embark on a high risk mission to reclaim his life and break out of his "virtual prison". "The Consequences of Love" can prove to be dangerous indeed. The acting, characterisation and cinematography in this film are all first rate and the plot is intriguing. The ending to the film is one of the most memorable I have seen for quite some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stylish, elegant and enjoyable, 22 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a beautifully shot film, with enchanting camera work and supreme editing. The film flows at a constant, graceful yet purposeful pace, interspersed with moments of speed & power. The geographical setting is captured wonderfully and all adds to the powerfully pensive performance from Tony Servillo as the taciturn Titta Di Girolamo. Like a Shakespeare tragic hero, Di Girolamo has a fatal flaw and surely he cannot be allowed to enjoy the benefits of his criminal past? But will the challenge come from Olivia Magnani's captivating barmaid Sofia or his former employers?
The film loses its way a little toward the end, when it almost changes genre, and that's the only reason that I'm not giving it 5 stars.
It is however more than worthy of 4 stars and is a clever, thoughtful and visually stunning story about redemption, liberation and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TREMENDOUS., 14 Jun 2006
This review is from: The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Middle aged Italian loner (Servillo) has lived in a Swiss hotel for 8 years. He spends most his days in the cafe playing cards, and observing the guests with a scientific detachment.

One day (out of character) he decides to speak to an attractive bar maid, and then the disturbing secrets of his inner world come to light. Soon his world is turned upside down.

This movie is a slow-burning masterpiece. Easily the best movie I have seen in 2006.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A best friend remembered, 14 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a thoughtful and evocative examination of loss, longing, and despair: loss of a life once lived; longing for an unattainable girl; and despair over an uncontrollable destiny. Chain smoking Titta endures his lonely existence in a quiet Swiss hotel with a stoic glumness until his long-suppressed desire for the hotel's bargirl is forced into the open. 'Perhaps sitting at this bar is the most dangerous thing I've ever done,' says Titta, prophetically. Then, in the third act, as Titta's actions bring everything to a head, he finally takes control - with dramatic results.

The movie's pacing is carefully, if a little self-consciously, managed and the direction and cinematography are always engrossing. It also boasts a marvellous soundtrack, segueing artfully from the Nymanesque to thumping electronica. Great stuff!

Definitely one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nemesis Slow Pursuing, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
To say almost anything about the film is to risk spoiling it for the viewer. It is a film that moves slowly, building up its pace until a number of key decisive moments. It reminds me of a martial arts form where the pace increases as the exercise continues. If you like frequent and regular action then you may find it too slow, but it is not just some arthouse special where no-one does anything for 120 minutes. The acting is excellent without the frenetic approach of some Italian films, the photography and setting (Switzerland) are both wonderful. The director plays fair with the viewer - in the end everything gets an explanation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Consequences of Love, 11 Jan 2007
By 
Jennifer (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant little Italian film every frame was interesting, the plot intriguing,

the characters well portrayed and convincingly acted, the music too was good.

Its not a fast moving film so be patient, you will be rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you should never underestimate them, 6 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
very good film. not much like i've seen before. extremely passive main character but manages to convey emotion very well on occasions. loneliness personified by anonymous hotel location and brief hopeless link with family. absolutely gorgeous actress who i'd happily lock myself in a hotel and learn italian for. brilliant soundless ending. saw it in cinema in london and fell asleep during transition from sleepy mystery to mafia hit movie and woke up very confused. but that's not a criticism. loved it and now understand the consequences of love fully. ciao.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and unforgettable..., 28 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
When you think of Italian films, images from La Dolce Vita, Il Postino or Life is Beautiful come up . Feelings of sentimentality. I must admit I was dubious when I sat myself down and The Consequences of Love began. But from the opening sequence I knew I was about to watch a very different type of movie. What writer/director Paolo Sorrentino has managed to create is a very atmospheric film, David Lynch-esque in places. The performances from Toni Servillo adn Olivia Magnani are superb and suprisingly moving in a very cold setting. This is a visual and narrative work of art. Believe the critics for once - don't miss this movie! Note: Try to stay away from any synopsis before you watch it... it will just ruin the experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a watch, 15 May 2007
By 
L. Dablin "The Bibliophile" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great little Italian film with a unique plotline. It's one of those wonderful movies which leaves the audience wondering whether this man really is immortal - or whether he's just completley insane. None the less, the important theme in this film is that of personal redemption, and this is explored exquisitley through the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD]
The Consequences Of Love [2004] [DVD] by Paolo Sorrentino (DVD - 2005)
5.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews