Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It appears lightning can strike twice
I must confess, when I heard about this I was worried. The idea of Ricky Gervais following up the mostly brilliant "The Office" with a sitcom about wannabe actors featuring appearances from the likes of Ben Stiller and Samuel L Jackson, smacked of "difficult second album" syndrome in epic proportions.
Against all odds, though, it works. By and large, this is another...
Published on 18 Mar 2006 by Daniel Arnold

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dry comedy
I liked this series and glad I bought it on DVD to re-watch, however it's often quite a dry humour that can make you cringe so while I enjoy Extras I wouldn't put it on if I'm looking for something bubbly to cheer me up. Good set if you enjoyed the TV series.
Published 2 months ago by CoffeeandCake


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It appears lightning can strike twice, 18 Mar 2006
By 
Daniel Arnold "juggernaut217" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I must confess, when I heard about this I was worried. The idea of Ricky Gervais following up the mostly brilliant "The Office" with a sitcom about wannabe actors featuring appearances from the likes of Ben Stiller and Samuel L Jackson, smacked of "difficult second album" syndrome in epic proportions.
Against all odds, though, it works. By and large, this is another brilliantly observed, funny and cringemakingly embarassing minor masterpiece of a programme. Stephen Merchant's hilariously inept agent - whose qualification is, in the words of Gervais' character Andy, that he printed out some business cards saying "agent" - together with Ashley Jensen's gaffe-prone Maggie, ensure that, unlike in "The Office", Gervais is not the most embarassing and useless character; indeed, he often comes across as quite witty and smooth, especially when his response to a prima donna-ish Benm stiller's demand of "Do you know who I am?" is an indifferent "Starsky or Hutch, I can never quite remember".
Indeed, the fact that each episode has a different star playing themselves (and usually poking fun at themselves big time) keeps the programme fresh. The famous Les Dennis episode is a definite standout, and the sight of him demonstrating his sexual prowess to Gervais - while naked, of course - is one of those horrid
mental images that will stay with you forever.
However, there are also a wealth of diferent characters in each episode, who often contribute more to the programme; for instance the ultra-clingy Welshman who just wants to be friends defines the fifth episode to a far greater extent than Samuel L Jackson.
Overall, this is not quite as great as "The Office"; it lacks the subtlety and character development of that programme (and it lacks the dance too, but it seems unfair to penalise for that). Also, at times it takes the pleasure/pain balance of watching - which is an occupational hazard of Rocky Gervais sitcoms - too far in the "pain" direction. This is the case for much of the Kate Winslet episode, especially during the excruciting scene where Gervais tries to persuade people that he is Catholic by claiming he attended the sermons of Father Michael O' Flatley.
These are relative nitpickings, though. Gervais has, somehow, managed to do it again. Whether he can keep up the quality in series 2, though, remains to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure unadulterated joy, 12 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
They have followed the hardest act in the world with another piece of unique and brilliant television. The nuanced perfection of each episode is astounding. In Andy we get a very likeable everyman, intelligent, self aware and, despite what some critics might say, very far away from Brent (with the exception of an uncanny physical resemblance). Merchant excels as his hapless agent, providing a admirable haul of fall-off-the-sofa laughing moments. But the real gem of this series is getting to know the loveable Maggie. She is brilliant; funny, warm and just the right side of silly, it's like you've known her all your life. Brilliantly written and brilliantly performed, Maggie is actually the beating heart of the series (and as long we are using vital organ metaphors, Andy is the brain and his agent is the erm... spleen). The guest stars are all great in their own way, but I think Les Dennis shades it as the most darkly comic - can't imagine what they'll make of him in the US. Kate Winslets advice is hilarious, as is Patrick Stewarts idea for a script, but Ross Kemps collapse in the face of brutish Vinnie Jones is a class act. If you missed this on the telly, buy it, take the phone off the hook, close the curtains, and watch the whole thing from start to finish. It is further proof of the genius of Gervais and Merchant. Well done lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extra Special, 10 Oct 2005
This review is from: Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, Gervais (and Merchant) have done it again. A comedy that breaks new ground in many ways and will permanently alter the TV landscape. Once again, the currency is humiliation. And what could be more demeaning that working as an extra along side the A-listers from the TV/film world.
What is new is that real stars have been persuaded to appear, as themselves, and get ripped to shreds in the process. Only Gervais's huge credibility could have made this possible.
Gervais plays Andy Millman, a theatrical extra in desperate search of a speaking part. He comes close several times but his political incorrectness always trips him up.
Also new is the touching and very credible friendship between Andy and Maggie, a sort of female alter-ego of Gervais's character.
If you caught it on BBC2 you'll be ordering the DVD 'like a rat up a drain-pipe'.
TV comedy perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inevitably Great, 26 Mar 2006
By 
P. Haslehurst (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit, when "Extras" was getting it's first run on BBC2 I only managed to watch 2 episodes. This annoyed me, because I'm big fan of the Gervais/Merchant classic "The Office", and was very interested in seeing what their next project would offer.
So, thank goodness for this DVD, because now I know. I'm not disappointed.
Aspiring actor Andy Millman (Gervais) is desperate to become a credible actor, or at least see his screenplay garner some success (a reference to Gervais' pre-"Office" struggles perhaps?) but is continually pushed into non-speaking roles by his inept agent (Merchant). His sweet natured but incredibly naive companion Maggie (Ashley Jensen) provides moments of hilarity and non-belief in equal measure.
A simple enough format, but the central foundation of the show, and it's brilliance, is not the plot (which develops slowly and predictably) but the relationships between the principle characters and the variety of people that they encounter.
There are some high profile celebrity guest stars that merit mention here - Samuel L Jackson, Kate Winslet, Les Dennis, Ben Stiller, Patrick Stewart and Ross Kemp. All bring unique parodies of their "real-life" characters to the screen, Les Dennis standing out especially for his excellent performance of himself, all washed up and full of pent up sex and depression.
There's the usual Gervais material under the surface of this well produced and cleverly written sitcom - race, disability and machismo are all given smart treatment through Millman's eyes.
Andy Millman is effectively a slight extension of Gervais himself. This is a pleasure or a pain, depending upon your opinion of the man.
"Extras" has recieved a small bashing at the hands of critics who believe it to be "unoriginal", "not as good as the office" etc etc. Comments like this demonstrate a single minded lack of originality on the part of the critic more than the artist. Considered as a piece of work in it's own right "Extras" is both excellently written and acted out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what any great comedy series should do..., 20 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Which is?...make you laugh. If you caught a couple of episodes on its first run and wondered what on earth it was all about, or if you missed the whole lot, then this DVD is a real treat because the six episodes hold together as a "story" and, as you start to understand what's going on, the three main characters just get funnier & funnier. And, like all great comedy, it gets better with repeat viewing. Gervais' acting is superbly understated, Ashley Jenson is his perfect foil as the "put upon" extra, Stephen Merchant is a perfectly cast comic revelation as his fast-talking but hopeless agent, and the idea of making famous stars make fools of themselves is excruciatingly embarrassing and, as a result, brilliantly funny.

Sure, some episodes work better than others, but with the possible exception of Fawlty Towers, no "classic" comedy series has hit the bull's-eye every single time and there are more than enough winners here to put it straight into "classic" status. The result? A full evening's worth of great comedy that you'll watch over & over again. Not bad for a "follow-up".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 30 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
outstanding! incredibly hilarious and what a stunt to have all those celebrities make fun of themselves and enjoying it! quite a blast.
with every view you find new details that make the joke even funnier.
this is very intelligent tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absoloutly brilliant!, 14 Aug 2006
By 
Amy Johnson "comedy junkie" (Stoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I absoloutly love this dvd- could watch it over and over.

Ricky Gervais has produced an absolout stunner of a series and the celebrities in it do a great job and fit in with his comedy style well.

The dvd is realy well produced- and even though the series itself is so brilliant you can watch it on a loop for ages- it has really good features you can watch again and again too - not joking i almost wet myself laughing with some of the behind the scenes stuff!

and i must add- i have a very good taste in comedy- i am extremely picky and hard to please- but this certainly pleased me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!, 8 Oct 2005
This review is from: Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Side splitting stuff from Ricky Gervais' long awaited return to the
big screen. Different concept to The Office and takes a couple of episodes to get into but becomes compulsive viewing. One positive is I found Gervais' character Andy much more likeable than the cringe worthy David Brent. Manages to pull off a risky last episode tactfully leaving you wanting the second series now. Well luckily BBC have signed Ricky up for a second series and I just can't wait. More of the same please. Evidence that Ricky Gervais is a comedy genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF MY FAVOURITE COMEDIANS, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Never tire of watching this DVD over and over - so well written with so much meaning. An absolute genius in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd, worth watching and buy the next series, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd, worth watching and buy the next series, its just as funny if not funnier !!!!! You will get a good chuckle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD]
Extras : Complete BBC Series 1 [2005] [DVD] by Stephen Merchant (DVD - 2005)
£2.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews