Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars63
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2002
Titan AE is one of the best non-Japanese animated movies I've seen in a long time. With a rousing soundtrack, some excellent choices as voice-actors, and well put together set-piece scenes, it's a highly enjoyable romp.
The plot is nothing particularly complicated, but then the film doesn't really claim to be anything other than a shallow but action packed extravaganza. The Drej are very well portrayed as an unsympathetic and seemingly invincible alien race, while you do get a proper sense of the impending doom of the human race after the destruction of earth (which is a great opening scene).
The film occasionally seems to find it difficult to decide whether it's aimed at adults or kids, leading to situations where you wish it hadn't pulled its punches at crucial moments, but generally doesn't slip into implausible sentimentality like many Hollywood movies do.
There are a couple of plot twists, but nothing too unpredictable, and while it's not a film you'll remember for a long time, it's certainly a fun way to spend a couple of hours. It doesn't even come close to the quality of any of the top anime movies from Japan, but certainly the best stab that Hollywood has had at a more adult animated feature. Well worth a view.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2001
Previous to watching this dvd I had heard many negative reviews from critics, but the trailers looked so good i had to watch it. I was definitely not disappointed. The graphics in this film were amazing,with a cleverly combined mixture of both 3D and 2D effects, to produce a stunning look to both the characters and backgrounds.The story wasn't the most complex but I still enjoyed it immensly. There were some very funny moments alongside the serious, the romantic, the exciting and the moving. In how many films will you get to see an alien shout 'who's the daddy!!'. The soundtrack is extremely good and complimented the film perfectly, making me want to buy it as soon as I saw the film. So for anyone who is thinking of buying Titan A.E, BUY IT, you wont regret it.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2001
This is an absolutely cracking film for both kids and adults alike, I have to say it is one of the best I have ever had the pleasure of watching with my 8 year old brother. He constantly begs for it to be put on again and again and watches it with his mates who are also mesmerized by its fantastic storyline and stunning visuals. The characters are brilliant, the plotline compelling and the soundtrack... well, what can I say.. its absolutely stunning. And thats just the movie... add this to an excellent DVD package, featuring tonnes of cool extras, and you have one of the best entertainment packages around.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
Titan A.E. is a bit different in its approach to animation in that it combines traditional 2d animation and cgi which is done to great effect.

The style of the animation is a little 'Akira'ish which is a compliment.

Don Bluth, a great animator - going back to the Disney days with Frank Thomas, Ollie Johnston and the like.

Great movie.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
Let me start off by saying that Titan A.E. is a 'marmite' movie - you'll either love it, or hate it with a passion. Released in 2000, and directed by Don Bluth and Gary Goldman, it was also the last film produced by Fox Animation Studios before their closure.

It is the year 3028 and mankind has made a powerful enemy, an advanced alien race known as the Drej, who fear what we have the potential to become and are on the verge of annihilating the human race.

The movie follows the story of a young boy, Cale Tucker (Matt Damon), whose father Sam (Ron Perlman) is a scientist working on a project to build a fantastic spaceship, the Titan, which has the ability to terraform an entire planet to serve as a new home should earth ever be destroyed, and is humanity's last hope for a home, and survival, in a universe where Earthlings are seen as little more than vermin. When the Drej attack and destroy Earth, the Titan barely escapes and the few survivors are left scattered across the galaxy, finding work and refuge wherever they can.

15 years later, Cale is working in a galactic scrap yard when he encounters a ship, the Valkyrie, and it's crew; Korso, the ships' Captain (Bill Pullman), first mate Preed (Nathan Lane), pilot Akima (Drew Barrymore), weapons and combat expert Stith (Janeane Garofalo), and scientist Gune (John Leguizamo) and together they head off to find the Titan and use it to create a new home for mankind (with the Drej in hot pursuit, of course). A couple of the scenes may not be suitable for really young kids, (for example in one fight sequence a character gets put into a headlock and has their neck broken) but this is kept to one or two exceptions, rather than being the rule.

Visually, the film is a treat, blending traditional animation with (at the time) cutting edge CGI. Some scenes, particularly the cat-and-mouse battle in the Ice Field are just as breathtaking now as they were the first time I watched the film, all played out to a decent soundtrack with a couple of rather catchy tunes.

The film is not without it's faults, however. For instance whilst the CGI has stood the test of time quite well, the hand painted animation is distinctly average, even for animated films of the time, and the plot will not stand up to even basic scrutiny. But it doesn't really matter, because Titan A.E. is a kids movie, not a film intended for hardcore sci-fi fans, and if you are prepared to accept that, and let that little part of your brain that never really quite grew up be in charge for an hour and a half, then this is a worthy addition to your movie collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2007
For a studio unknown for supporting and creating animated films, this time they created one of the most enjoyable science fiction animated movies in years.
A typical space action adventure for both the Star Wars and Star Trek generations, this movie will delight fans of both and is great fun for kids and adults alike.
The basic story centres around Cale, a young boy who was forced to leave the Earth when it was attacked and destroyed by an alien race called the Drej.
Humans have now become outcasts in the universe and regarded by aliens as second class citizens. Cale is 'rescued' from his life as a slavage worker by Korso, captain of the Valkyrie, who says that he is very important to the future of humanity and that he is the only key to finding the ship that Cale's father built, The Titan. He is propelled into an adventure that crosses the galaxy and back, with the Drej hot on his tail in search of the Titan.
The film has all the elements of a classic sci-fi movie; great locations, space battles, adventure, aliens, comedy and an evil species determined to exterminate the entire human race.
The animation is first rate, a mix of traditional hand painted cells and CGI giving a rich and clean image for the film. Some elements are almost photo-real, making you forget that this is an animated feature.
The characters are all well realised and voiced with talent by the likes of Bill Pullman, Nathan Lane, Drew Barrimore, Matt Damon and many others. The interplay between Korso's crew is well written, full of humour (especially the guard sequence on the Soros!) and fun.
There are some truly spectacular moments in the movie including when the Earth is detroyed and the amazing fight in the ice fields of Tigrin - a worthy successor to the classic Battle Of The Mutara Nebula in Star Trek II.
All in all, Titan A.E. is one of the best animated sci-fi films in the last decade and well worth a look.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2003
I bought this on sale, not expecting much more than little over an hour of no-brain fun. But what a suprise I got. The visuals in this cartoon/film was at a level that could easily match Disney-stuff like the Lion King or even match Shrek. The mix of objects made entirely on computer and the ones containing some 'old-fashioned' cartooning ( the characters, for instance) works successfully. The scenes in the Ring of Ice, were especially great, and the mothers of some graphic-nerds must be very proud.
The story line, even though it's very classic, works. Safe the human race from the hands of those terrible, spooky alien monsters. But it works.
Fun characters. You could expect some overfun character who's job is to destroy the plot and seriousness of the film (like Jaa-Jaa in Star Wars, throw that dude in the garbage, please). In TITAN A.E. there is a couple of goof-balls, but they have a purpose and some abilities. And they are neatly put in the background. Again it works 100%
Thanks to all who made this film...
BTW: the famous voices doesn't really matter. Sure it's some cool actors like Matt Damon and Demi Moore, but seriously, folks, it doesn't really matter that much :)
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
I must have been 10 years old when I first saw this gem and although I didn't know what it was called I instantly fell in love with it and it was another 10 years before I found it on Amazon and decided to relive one of my favourite childhood films.

This must have been the film that sparked off Science Fiction for me with a spread of aliens, technology and one great idea uniting them all. The idea being that in the future the spaceship Titan leaves Earth just as it is destroyed by the Drej, an electrifying blue alien race, taking the final hopes of mankind into the depths of space.
Watching it back at the age of 20 I now see that perhaps some of the voice acting isn't the best but as a child when I first saw this I didn't care about the voice acting. It had everything for a ten year old child, racey action, suspense, futuristic guns going pew pew pew and that was what mattered.

So for me this was a great science fiction started and even at 20 years old I still think that this is one of my childhood favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2002
The title reveals my preferences. I am a die-hard fan of the japanese anime genre, such as the magnificent 'Ghost in the Shell' and 'The Ninja Scroll'.
Therefore, I first saw this feature with these traditions in mind, and, I must say, I was not disappointed.
The story is set in the distant future, where earth is threatened by an electric energy lifeform, known as the Drej. The opening sequence shows the annihilation of earth by the Drej, but also the escape of an advanced space-ship, the Titan.
The son of the inventor of the Titan escapes the armageddon, and 15 years later, he's chartered with the mission to find the Titan and save the now scattered race of humans.
The story plot provides the background for an amazing journey in the capabilities of modern computer animation. The viewer is presented with a multitude of species and characters, some of them likeable, some of them not so likeable. But, in any event, they are all pretty interesting (especially the Gune character, voiced by a John Leguizamo in very good form).
The visuals are truly stunning, and with every viewing of the film, I find myself totally forgetting where I am, being consumed by what's going on on the screen.
One sequence takes place on a planet in part consisting of giant hydrogen balloons, which, of course, explode on contact. On this planet our heroes are chased by the Drej in a visual fiest, which, in my mind, is the signature sequence of the film.
The voices are provided by some of Hollywood's big names, and while their performances are professional, they do not quite reach the level of perfection we've come to expect from e.g. Disney productions.
Also, the background music is at times confusing. The rock-n-roll tunes dominating the music-video-sequences are a little bit out of sync with the mood of the film.
However, all in all, if you are a fan of either the sci-fi, fantasy or animated genres, this is a definite must-see.
4 stars out of 5.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 22 December 2005
'Titan A.E.' is a fun movie. I enjoyed it thorough, despite being well outside the demographic to which this sort of movie was intended to appeal.
--Basic plot--
Don't do any heavy analysis on the plot on this one. It won't stand up to expert scrutiny. But it is a reasonably good tale. The earth has encountered a powerful enemy which threatens, and eventually does, destroy the planet. During the course earth's destruction, various spacecraft escape, including one legendary, perhaps mythical craft, named the Titan. No one is quite sure exactly what this vessel is, save that it contains the hope of all humankind, for their survival in a hostile universe.
Enter our hero, Cale (voiced by Matt Damon). A child on earth, he has grown up in space to young adulthood as a person without a home, without a planet, and thus without respect. One drifter among many, as what remains of the human race have become cosmic gypsies and vagabonds, who live as best they can while travelling around, interacting with alien cultures. As with all human beings, some are good, and some are not, and it isn't always easy to tell the two types apart. And, as with all aliens, the same is true for them.
Our hero, Cale, being the son of the Titan commander, contains within himself (unbeknownst to himself) the key to locating the Titan. Thus, the cosmic chase is on! Befriended by some who try to help, relentless pursued by the dastardly alien foes, the Drej, betrayed by those he trusted, he finally finds the Titan. Will he be able figure out the key to its operation before its destruction? Will he be able to save the human race?
--Basic plot holes and other criticisms--
This review would go on far too long if I tried to go into all of these. One must remember that the intended audience for this movie is supposed to be early teenage boys. However, one thing that the producers of this movie failed to neglect is that many teenage boys will pay sufficient attention to realise the plot deficiencies. Suffice it to say, an enemy powerful enough to destroy earth in the first place would certainly be able to destroy the Titan solution. And given the unlikelihood of our hero even surviving to adulthood, where would the human race have been left in such an occurrence? Etc., etc. As I said earlier, the movie won't stand up to such scrutiny. But for those of us who like some scientific method with our science fiction, it becomes a problem. So, strike one for the movie.
Alas, we know nothing of the energetic alien enemies - why they are enemies, why they continue to be enemies even after earth's destruction, and how it is that this all powerful enemy is wholly contained within one ship, whose destruction signals the destruction of them all. Oh well, again, I'm thinking too much for this film...
Strike two comes from an under-promotion of the star power of the film. I know many who might have gone to see this had they known, for instance, that Drew Barrymore, Bill Pullman, Janeane Garofalo and Nathan Lane were character voices.
--The movie that saved the human race and lost a job--
Strike three comes from the targeting. The intended, intentionally-developed market for this was to be early teenage boys, a lucrative movie audience target. However, to produce an animated film for this group, who are just freeing themselves of being thought of as children, and thus leaving things like `cartoons' behind for being child-ish, was a monumental miscalculation.
Bill Mechanic, chairman-CEO of Fox Filmed Entertainment (the studio behind this film) lost his job because this miscalculation (among a few others that summer). In 1994 he spearheaded the creation of the very expensive Fox Animation Studios. While they produced the wonderful and successful Anastasia a few years ago, 'Titan A.E.' ended up being a box-office flop. Costing nearly $80 million to produce, it opened to less than $10 million the first weekend, and went steadily downhill from there.
Alas, Fox Animation Studios is now completely closed. And Mechanic is out. Which is too bad really.
--Stunning special effects--
Even for an animated film (which often gives more flexibility in doing such things as defying gravity, etc.) the effects were great. The cat and mouse game between the spacecraft in the ice region of space, with so many reflective surfaces and crashing/breaking sound effects was truly breathtaking, worthy of acclaim among any science fiction film.
In all, Titan A.E. is a good film for its genre, poorly targeted and somewhat lacking in the execution. However, if one is willing to overlook the plot holes (in the name of suspension of disbelief), this can be enjoyed. And yes, a teenage boy will most likely like it, despite it being a `cartoon'.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.