Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New or Old Amityville?
I went to see this remake of the Amityville Horror back in June at the cinema, before seeing the original 1979 film. I didn't know what to expect and as horror films go, the new Amityville Horror will keep you on the edge of your seats. Fans of the original may have a different reaction however, as the storyline has been changed slightly to suit the modern day audiences...
Published on 2 Sept. 2005 by Gus Hudson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Remake Of The 1979 Original
The Amityville Horror (2005 -Remake).

Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: Arabic, English, French, Hindi
Dubbed: French
Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.35:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 15
Studio: Twentieth Century Fox
Running Time: 90 minutes

Budget: $19 million
Box office:...
Published 5 months ago by Timelord-007


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New or Old Amityville?, 2 Sept. 2005
This review is from: The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I went to see this remake of the Amityville Horror back in June at the cinema, before seeing the original 1979 film. I didn't know what to expect and as horror films go, the new Amityville Horror will keep you on the edge of your seats. Fans of the original may have a different reaction however, as the storyline has been changed slightly to suit the modern day audiences with familiar modern horror traits. The original was much more in keeping to the "true story" and the house in the 1979 classic was virtually identical to the real house on 112 Ocean Avenue.
If you don't know the Amityville story, it is basically about the Lutz family who move into the house in Amityville, Long Island in 1975. Two years previously there had been 6 gruesome murders in the house as Ronnie DeFeo had shot his parents, sisters and brothers with a shotgun at 3.15am. At his trail, Ronnie said "voices in the house" had told him to do the shootings and it becomes apparent that the Lutz have the same feelings about the house. The film builds up to the dramatic climax on day 28 of the family living there, when after one terrific night of horror, the family flee the house, leaving all their possessions.
The 2005 version has a completely different house, more traditional gothic looking "haunted house" than the original. Compared to the original film, there is a lot more gore, and graphic images.
The original film is a classic and fans of haunted house films must see it. The remake actually stands up remarkably well against its original however (unlike other recent re-makes) and is a very enjoyable watch. It is more of an edge-of-your seat horror with lots of jumpy parts.
An identical remake it may not be, but the 2005 Amityville Horror will certainly open a whole new generation to the compelling "true story"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrortastic!, 22 Mar. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I saw the original years ago and was very frightened by that, I decided to watch this DVD just to see if it was any good. I usually find that remakes are never as good as the originals so I did not have many expectations for it.

I have to say I was scared all the way through. It makes you jump, gasp and question. Everything a good horror should. All the actors are brilliant in their roles and it was nice to see Melissa George again.

If you have or haven't seen the original you should still definately see this version. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Horror, 14 Sept. 2005
This review is from: The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I am, as it were, a horror nut and I can thouroughly recomend this film. After seeing the previous Amityville Horrors I wasn't sure how this one would rate as the first one appeared to be true strictly based on the true story and therefore un-scary, and the others were stupidly unbelievable. This film tops them in shocking horror whilst trying to stick to a semi-realistic storyline. It also goes more into the reason why the house is as haunted as it seems.
Without giving too much away this film has several very frightening bits which surpass many horrors of modern times. The lingering image of the little girl and the daemonic faces which haunt the familly are a great touch. The ending is good but seems to leave you wondering what happens afterwards.
This may not hold greatly to the true story but it is a fantastic supernatural thriller. A must see for any horror lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What do we want these days?, 31 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
What do we want these days? We seem to have built up incredibly high expectations for horror movies - based I guess on past classics. I've seen some pretty bad reviews for this film, and having seen it, I can't believe the writers watched the same movie. It is extremely scary. Watch it on your own, turn off the irony on your remote control, and prepare for some real shocks. Indeed if you like the jump cut terror of movies like Ju-On and Ringu, I think you'll love this film. There are sudden moments of utter fright that match these films, and other moments that recall the kind of shock tactics of Kubrick's The Shining. Okay, it is a bit stupid in places, but even classic horror films often are. I don't mind remakes. I'm old enough to remember the first Amityville (leave off the keyboard grandpa, etc)and this is a scarier film. No question. If this had been released twenty years ago or more, folk would have wanted it banned. Thirty years ago and we'd have had the whole fainting in the aisles saga of The Exorcist. Now I'm not saying it's life-changing (hence 4 stars), but it is a great horror movie. Our expectations, as I say, are very high these days. Compare the intelligence of this film to some others around, and I think it rates highly. Oh yes, and watch it in the dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Remake Of The 1979 Original, 5 Oct. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The Amityville Horror (2005 -Remake).

Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: Arabic, English, French, Hindi
Dubbed: French
Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.35:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 15
Studio: Twentieth Century Fox
Running Time: 90 minutes

Budget: $19 million
Box office: $108,047,131

Extras.
Commentary with Ryan Reynolds & producers Brad Fuller & Andrew Form
Deleted scenes with optional commentary
Two featurettes
Photo gallery
Trailer

Cast.
Ryan Reynolds as George Lutz
Melissa George as Kathy Lutz
Jesse James as Billy Lutz
Jimmy Bennett as Michael Lutz
ChloŽ Grace Moretz as Chelsea Lutz
Rachel Nichols as Lisa
Philip Baker Hall as Father Callaway
Isabel Conner as Jodie DeFeo
Brendan Donaldson as Ronald "Ronnie" DeFeo, Jr.

Trivia.
1)Ryan Reynolds wore special contact lenses in many scenes to make his eyes seem black with just a white ring around them.
2)Melissa George stated in an interview that she had supernatural things happen to her onset during filming. She truly was living the horror, and what you see on film was actual fear on her part.
3)Megan Fox auditioned for the role of Lisa the babysitter.

What's The Story.
George & Kathy Lutz with their three children move into a house that was the site of a horrific murder a year before, They decide to keep the house & try to keep the tragic events of what happened beforehand in the past.

This is until, George starts to behave weirdly & feeling cold while their young daughter, Chelsea starts to see people & paranormal event's begin to manifest themselves around the house targeting the Lutz family.

Timelord Thoughts.
This 2005 remake is surprisingly decent & has some great moments of tension that deliver several decent jump scares as director Andrew Douglas does a decent directing job of capturing the atmosphere of the story but doesn't seem to stamp his own authority on this remake & merely copies the original movie.

Ryan Reynolds actually isn't to bad in this film & puts in a decent enough performance as Geroge Lutz even though he's topless quite a bit & chops lots of wood throught this picture who seem to lose his sanity just a tad too early for the rest of the story to be truly believable while Melissa Geroge is brilliant as Katy Lutz who is the movie's the emotional anchor who endures the stress of the paranormal events while trying to hold her characters family & Douglas film together & does a good job & delivers the standout role of the entire movie.

ChloŽ Grace Moretz is superb & shows why she has since gone on to become a talented actress as Moretz has a great acting range & is able to deliver an effortless yet believable performance as Chelsea Lutz acting way beyond her young years.

Overall, The Amityville Horror 2005 remake is a far better remake than some horror movie remakes which are currently getting the remake treatment & contains some effective jump scare moments mixed together with moments of gory horror plus great performances by Melissa George & ChloŽ Grace Moretz who both add acting weight to the drama & proves the Amityville legacy still has the ability to scare moviegoers.

Timelord Rating.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resident evil!, 12 Feb. 2006
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a very good horror film in it's own right, as well as being a great re-make of the original. I haven't seen the original but many tell me this is the better version and I can believe that. This is a mix of film genres really, although classed as a horror it is more like a chilling thriller or ghost story for the majority of the film.
Loosely based on a true story of a family who move into the house where an entire family were shot dead some years before. The killer, a member of the family claimed voices in the house made him do it. Slowly the house begins to affect the new residents! The film is very good, well shot, directed and there are great performances from Ryan Reynolds (Miles away from his Van Wilder role) and former Home & away babe Melissa George. Not that scary or gory but very creepy. Seeing Ryans character increasing descent into some form of madness reminded me of The Shining. A great film with a story that also goes to try and explain the source of the evil at the house.
The DVD has plenty of extras, a 27minute making of which has interviews with the two main leads, the stunt work, special effects and some comparison with the original. A 16 minute feature on the case of the original murders, speaking to the cop who led the investigation and coroner which raise some odd facts still not answered. As well as a sort of medium who visited the house. There are also photo galleries, some deleted scenes and an option On set peeks which enables you to watch the film and then see how the scene you watched was done behind the scenes before resuming the film. Overall a very good film, well acted with a lot of extras! 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 20 Feb. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Anyone seeking a real thriller should buy this! There are many reasons to why that is. Firstly, i will say that this is one of your super greatly acted movies combined with a horror style film. Not complete horror but has some scenes of this genre. I looked for ages to find a good thriller and when i saw this i realized straight away i'd made a good choice.This film is brilliant in every way. I don't feel there could have been any improvements made in the amityville horror because the storyline/characters/acting was all just 10/10. Infact i'd be surprised if anyone got bored whilst sitting watching this because there is an actual 'suspician' to the story. This is what makes an excellent thriller, something that isnt as good in many other thrillers. I reccomend any fan of this genre to watch this. I also think the 'understandable' storyline made this a lot easier to know what was happeneing in the film and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Amityville Horror is much better than some other remakes, 30 Jun. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This movie remake was pretty good. Even though I saw the original movie and knew what was coming, I did jump out of my seat a few times for it also put a chill up my spin.

There were several scary scenes that were excellent; "The Amityville Horror" delivers just that, fast pacing and some pretty effective jumps by using some cheap shock effects. Since this is a remake it is forgivable that it doesn't come up with anything remotely new or original. There's the ever so familiar haunted house, Dad losing his mind, heads shaking à la Jacob's Ladder, weird shadows moving fast and making insect sounds and the more than overused spooky little girl (really, having such a kid in another horror movie is idiotic and didn't even make much sense in this particular movie). Still, all that makes for an uneasy atmosphere and there's one scene in the bathroom that's set up gloriously, toying cleverly with a classic childhood fear (going to the toilet in the middle of the night in a dark and spooky house). Another great scene is the one with the babysitter in the closet then soon encounters with the ghost.

The director, Andrew Douglas, did a good job by showing little differences in George's attitude and demeanor once he was out of the house. Ryan Reynolds also did a good job of portraying this to the viewers. He has come a long way. Melissa George could also leave her mark in Hollywood if the right roles come along for her. I was pretty impressed by her performance almost as much as Ryan's.

While not the best of its genre, "The Amityville Horror" has it's place amongst horror movies. It is worth seeing, as you can do much worse if you do not do your homework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short, but entertaining horror film., 20 April 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Dan Bell" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I was not expecting much from this and so I was surprised at just how much I enjoyed it. Whilst it is not particularly scary (although there are a few bits that make you jump) it is creepy enough to be thoroughly entertaining throughout.

The performances from all involved are very good and Ryan Reynolds makes the transition from nice guy to nut case very well.

The films running time seems strangely short (approx 85 mins) and it sometimes feels rushed at times as if there were large parts removed.

Overall though, a solid enough horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most scary Hollywood Movie, 18 Dec. 2005
By 
L. Chen (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a great one if you r looking for something scary, a good combination of Hollywood special effect and Japanese sentimentality and subtlety. You really can trace a lot horror symbols in it. After watching it, I changed my idea that Japanese horrors are the most scary one...
Although the story line is still abit pitty, not that refreshing....The ending is a good consolidated finish, leave you with a good horror trip but no side effect afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005]
The Amityville Horror [DVD] [2005] by Ryan Reynolds (DVD - 2005)
£3.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews