Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEE HOTEL
Thought I would write a review for this product purchased end of April 2013, as I looked at the reviews of it before purchasing and didnt find them particularly helpful.Purchased in the last week of April and put in place at the end of the month,its been up approx. 5 weeks.It looks great, which other reviews had stated,however,not much point looking great,if it doesnt do...
Published 15 months ago by colette nolan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very badly made
At least seventeen tubes had not been hollowed out. There was glue everywhere and some tubes were loose. Im sending it straight back. I already have two boxes by another company and my bees love them. I dont recommend this one.
Published 3 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEE HOTEL, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof (Garden & Outdoors)
Thought I would write a review for this product purchased end of April 2013, as I looked at the reviews of it before purchasing and didnt find them particularly helpful.Purchased in the last week of April and put in place at the end of the month,its been up approx. 5 weeks.It looks great, which other reviews had stated,however,not much point looking great,if it doesnt do the job.Would like to report it does attract the bees,have 3 holes duly sealed up with mud/soil now,which I think is brilliant as it hasnt been up long.Would recommend it,in fact, intend to buy another one myself.
A couple of tubes were loose - I glued these back in place - and some had rough,flaky edges (the bees apparently like the inner part of the cane tubes to be smooth or they wont use them) - I smoothed the edges/inner part of the cane tubes with a small nail file.I attached it to a trellis,approx.5-6 ft from the ground,near wallflowers with a small pot of soil nearby.Have observed two bees going in/coming out today and now have 4 holes sealed up with mud/soil.Hope this review is helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bee Happy!, 21 Jan 2013
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof (Garden & Outdoors)
I bought one of these Bee nesting houses for my partners little boy for easter last year instead of a boring old egg! Chocolate is so over rated in my opinion! ;)

At 22cm high and 12cm around the base this bee house is a good size for the garden. It's made from naturally weather resistant wood and has a lovely zinc roof which looks brilliant.

This type of beehouse provides shelter for solitary bee types such as Mason and Leafcutter bees which are non aggressive.

The bee house is made up of around 70 tubes/hollow sticks. The female bee will use one hollow to make several cells. One will contain an egg and the others she will have stored a mixture of nectar and pollen to feed her larva once hatched!

The bee house will provide a safe, warm and dry place for the bees to live and will provide one of the most important insects known, that will pollinate your plants, flowers and fruit growing plants!

The best place to situate the house is between 1-3 feet upon a south facing wall with some shelter if possible so they get the sun most of the day and are protected from prevailing winds. Also provide a patch of mud nearby (underneath) as they use the mud to plug the holes up! Fascinating to watch.

Bees are attracted to mainly blue flowers. Ceanothus, also called California lilac, is a bee magnet with its bright blue tufts of pollen-rich flowers. Borage, thyme, and mints are all popular herbs that bees love! Lavender and many flowers in the Aster family, such as daisies and Coreopsis, will attract bees. True, they aren't blue, but many have special markings that show in ultraviolet light. Since bees see in the ultraviolet range, they can see these markings and go right for them more than any other!

But just growing any fragranced, showy, colourful flowers and plants will attract these amazing insects into your garden and newly aquired bee hotel!

Good luck folks. I hope this review helps a tad! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Green Paint, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof (Garden & Outdoors)
I ordered this expecting it to arrive looking as the photo and was slightly disconcerted to find that it arrived painted pale green. It wasn't a huge problem, the person I bought it for happens to like pale green, but had it been for myself I would have much preferred a plain wooden box and been disappointed to get a green one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bee Nesting Box, 3 Aug 2013
By 
S. Johnson (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof (Garden & Outdoors)
Bought as a gift and recipient was delighted.
Product is really good value for money, being sturdy and well made. Product was very well packaged too and arrived far more quickly than expected .... a bonus!
This is well worth buying for any nature lover, if you (or they) have somewhere suitable to site the box, encouraging more bees into your garden and helping prevent their overall decline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very badly made, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof (Garden & Outdoors)
At least seventeen tubes had not been hollowed out. There was glue everywhere and some tubes were loose. Im sending it straight back. I already have two boxes by another company and my bees love them. I dont recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking quality, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof (Garden & Outdoors)
Bought as a gift. No resemblance to the imagery - sloppily glued together, slap dash green wash and the base sheared off. Maybe a one off but it's been sent straight back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof (Garden & Outdoors)
I bought this as part of a present for someone, and I am pleased with the product so far. The zinc roof makes it a little more protected from the rain, although it does look a little fragile, but that is because of the materials used, some of the bamboo looks completely blocked, I'm not expert, and hope bees will be able to make full use of all the nests.
I look forward to seeing this little bee house full of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant gift for OAP garden lovers, 26 July 2013
By 
Clare (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof (Garden & Outdoors)
For a birdwatching, bee-viewing, garden-enjoying retired couple this was well received for Father's Day. No bees yet but as other reviewers said, better value than other similar products, the canes are as they should be and very attractive. Swift Super Saver Delivery too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely surprised, 26 May 2013
This review is from: Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof (Garden & Outdoors)
I bought this little bee house after reading about the decline of bees. Wasn't convinced it would work but at a good price I thought I'd give it a go. It was delivered quickly and I was really happy with the product, it looks lovely hung in the garden. Several weeks later I am happy to report a solitary bee has started making her nest in it! Well worth giving it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning home or hotel for bees !, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof (Garden & Outdoors)
I brought this lovely home/hotel for bees for my husband he loved it ! Its a great present for somebody loves the garden etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof
Bee Nesting Box with Zinc Roof by Wild on Wildlife
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews