Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure At Their Best
This is one of the best and most haunting albums I have ever listened to. The dark, almost hopeless lyrics blend with the fantastic melodies to provide an amazing collection of classic goth songs. Robert Smith's voice accompanied by the famous flanged guitar sound are unique. Neither before nor since have The Cure captured the magic and energy of this album.
Published on 28 Jun 2002 by SubgirL

versus
7 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misery turned up to 11
Oh the agony of that acne, those 'A' levels! 'Faith' is an album that's hard to take seriously once you've left further education, comprising, as it does, eight routine slabs of doom. It's an album you want to shout at, like an exasperated parent to a truculent teen, "Oh for goodness' sake just GROW UP!!"

The moody, seductive, twilight feel of 'Seventeen...
Published on 16 Feb 2007 by Kevin Clarke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 4 May 2010
By 
Tom (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
I listened to this over & over again as a teenager, but hadn't heard it for many years. I'd forgotten how utterly fantastic it is. Even the song titles are deeply melancholic. There are few albums that convey a mood as vividly as Faith conveys depression & despair. Second only to Joy Division in this respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping The Faith, 28 Aug 2005
By 
Steven T. Jarvis "Skarekrow" (Thanet, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Memory, it is said is a terrible liar; it takes everything out of perspective and, if not kept in check, can convince one to make the most alarming assumptions. Don't' worry, there is a point to all this rambling and the point is that I knew I needed to own "Faith"; I knew I needed it for a number of reasons, because it was The Cure, because I had last heard it several years ago and, most importantly, because I had completely forgotten what the album was like. What I didn't realise; for these very reasons what an outstanding album it was and, indeed, still is!
It is to easy to refer to any album as a classic by definition of its age and durability; but the true definition of a classic album is one that may not appeal immediately, but improves each time it is heard. I am afraid the clouding of time caused me to relegate this album to my things to buy list for far too long - and the cost was mine. This is a superb album, because it is quintessentially one of The Cure's finest albums; it represents the transition from the stark brilliance of "Seventeen Seconds" to the even more imposing and sublimely dark Gothic masterwork that is "Pornography", as the Three Imaginary Boys stand alone once more.
I did myself a great disservice by not buying this album before, but the Delux Edition carries with it the wonderful chance to listen to rarities and unreleased tracks, including the most delightful Charlotte Sometimes (I met a girl called Charlotte "Sometimes" at a N-I-N gig in July - Hi, Charlotte), this song being a personal favourite of mine.
I do not believe it is possible to identify a single Cure album as being a "Classic" because they are all classics in their own right - and this album is no exception.And, as I have found, I enjoy it more each time I listen to it (quod erat demonstrandum).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak and sombre, 15 Mar 2005
By 
B. Aggro (London, Wandsworth United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Although this album might not be everyone's cup-of-tea its certainly mine! This album is very different to albums such as: 'Kiss me Kiss me Kiss me' and 'Boys don't cry' as it focuses on more melancholic atmospheres and depressive lyrics that are bound to push any suicidal listener over the edge!
Some say this is The Cure's best and darkest album and i'm very tempted to agree however, 'Pornography' remains the bleakest and most atmospheric for me, despite 'Faith' being in a very similar vein. The real tear jerkers on this album have to be 'All cats are grey', 'The funeral party', 'The Drowning man' and the title track.
An aquired taste, not for fans of up beat 'music'.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Rape me like a child...', 29 Jun 2004
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
As downright, self-obsorbed, self-pitying, violent, bile-filled and bitter an album as you're likely to get. This is not a bad thing.
Totally and utterly uncompromising - The Cure's finest album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caligari turned into music, 3 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
This album breathes Gothic. But this without being simply scary or Dark Rock just to please the dancing passion of a disco gothic. Hardly any other gothic album has managed to be both so haunting and so tragic. The perfect soundtrack to expressionistic films from the Twenties. The greyish cloister nicely illustrates the sacral and expressionistic character of the album. Every piece picks up the end of its predecessor and turns it into another foggy thing. The calm of "The Holy Hour" changes into hysteria in "Primary". The poetic pictures of "Primary" make a strange contrast to its staccato guitar line.
"Other Voices" is a ghostly dance of desperation
fuelled by misunderstanding of personal desires.
"All Cats Are Grey" seems to be for the time when someone is through with life. No more tears to cry. Just the feeling of total emptiness and loss.
Still a choking feeling of grief. The keyboard lines are even more touching than the ones in Joy Divison's "Decades". As a contrast "The funeral party" is all wet with tears. "Doubt" is a fierce return to "Other Voices".
Though just made up of a simple thin guitars, fast drums and bass without the surealism of "Voices" it is perhaps one of the most gothic songs ever recorded. The violence of it is all futile. Just fuelled by total desparation underlined by the eerie whining of Roberts Voice all through the song. "The Drowning Man" and its cascades of chilling guitar delivers a setting of total sadness that the singer seems to drown in. The inability to help a lost soul. The heaviness of simple bass lines in faith acompanies the desparate search of Robert for something to keep him from getting lost in futility. "With nothing left but faith". When it comes to the end all that will be left is the belief that life had a meaning. You might call this a "serious" goth album just as Joy Divison made serious music. Other Comparisons may be some calm moments in the works of Virgin Prunes or Bauhaus. So enjoy this if you think that goth can be more than deathrock by 45 Grave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful, 16 Aug 2003
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
I've just been downloading a few of the tracks from this album. I'm now going to buy the CD again. Some 12 years or so ago this haunted me, as did 'disintergration'. Now at 30, the feelings are exactly the same - purely... haunting. I'm no music journalist so I don't have vocabulary to explain, but from an old fan - the substance is stil there after all these years and it can only be classed as classic. Not their best work, but close albeit very dark. I will not become a goth again but I'll be buying the CDs, DVDs for those insomniac nights. Recommended to any Cure dabblers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 11 April 2006
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Faith [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I have bought many Cure albums - on and off - over the years. There are many that I don't - and probably won't - return to, but this is an exception. "Faith" has always been my favourite Cure album, closely followed by "Seventeen Seconds". It has a lustre that I don't think the band ever managed to capture again. The sound is sparse, desolate and beautiful. Even bleak in places. The album includes my favourite Cure single, "Primary", which could easily have been followed up with "Other Voices" but Robert had already moved on and decided against releasing another track from the album.
The Deluxe edition is a real treat as it includes many demos and studio outtakes that give the listener a real insight into how the Cure sound was honed.
Bag yourself a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark masterpiece expanded to restore your Faith, 16 May 2012
This review is from: Faith [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
The remastered sound makes the original Faith album sound better than ever. If you have not heard it before you are in for a treat - a dark masterpiece full of great songs like The Holy Hour, Other Voices, The Funeral Party and The Drowning Man. The titles probably give you a bit of an idea of what to expect - 24 hour happy people music this is not. It is not a concept album but it has the atmosphere and continuity of a complete and integrated work, the theme based around intangible concepts like faith, doubt, death and helplessness. And a great thumping impressive drum and bass sound. At the price the two cd set is a bargain and includes some well written sleeve notes inside the cd box. As well as the Faith album, disc one includes the complete soundtrack to Carnage Visors, which I must admit I found a bit boring and repetitive. The extra disc of rarities gets off to a bad start with a series of not particularly impressive Faith demos - the finished album versions are so much better I cannot imagine me wanting to listen to these again. However things begin to look up once we get into the live tracks, with some excellent versions of songs like Other Voices, Drowning Man and particularly Faith (better than the studio version to my ears - I am no Cure expert but this has shot into my personal chart as probably one of my favourite recordings by the band and I remember that Robert Smith apparently compiled this collection himself - well done Bob!). I am sure both Cure fans and general music lovers will enjoy these live bonus songs. The whole package is nicely rounded off with the studio single "Charlotte Sometimes". "The words all left me lifeless, hoping, breathing like the drowning man..." Err...enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Cure Album, 19 April 2012
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
I wont go on, put simply this is (in my opinion) the best album the Cure made. I love it and still listen to it at least once a month all these years later.

The vibe has been described as depressing and bleak, which it can be, but its also beautiful.

Brilliant stuff from Smith et al....

if you like the Cure and dont have this, get it immediately, if you are a more casual listener and like the poppier stuff, probbaly best avoid this one.

5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a goth., 22 July 2010
By 
This album somes up all the cliches about music for sad people, if you like the Cure then you've already got this one and you'll know this music holds more then just feeling sad.
Other people probably have more to say about such a great album, it's hard for me to sum it up though. Synths started wading through the late punk scene like a shiney new toy at the end of a childrens party, some albums were made with the synth as a dominant souless noise. Others like Faith used the new sound to augment the dissilusioned heart of punk and make a record that sounds drenched in emotion. The deluxe version comes with extra demo tracks and the absolutely brilliant Soundtrack to Carnage Visors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faith
Faith by The Cure (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews