Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure At Their Best
This is one of the best and most haunting albums I have ever listened to. The dark, almost hopeless lyrics blend with the fantastic melodies to provide an amazing collection of classic goth songs. Robert Smith's voice accompanied by the famous flanged guitar sound are unique. Neither before nor since have The Cure captured the magic and energy of this album.
Published on 28 Jun 2002 by SubgirL

versus
7 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misery turned up to 11
Oh the agony of that acne, those 'A' levels! 'Faith' is an album that's hard to take seriously once you've left further education, comprising, as it does, eight routine slabs of doom. It's an album you want to shout at, like an exasperated parent to a truculent teen, "Oh for goodness' sake just GROW UP!!"

The moody, seductive, twilight feel of 'Seventeen...
Published on 16 Feb 2007 by Kevin Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure At Their Best, 28 Jun 2002
By 
SubgirL (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
This is one of the best and most haunting albums I have ever listened to. The dark, almost hopeless lyrics blend with the fantastic melodies to provide an amazing collection of classic goth songs. Robert Smith's voice accompanied by the famous flanged guitar sound are unique. Neither before nor since have The Cure captured the magic and energy of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly expressive, 6 Aug 2005
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
There are a finite number of similies for 'brilliant' and 'expresive', and I daresay they've all been used to describe this album by The Cure in some form or another. I'd almost forgotten how good they were until I heard this again; it's feel-good music. Perfect for falling asleep to, not because it's so dull it has a soporific effect, but because the music is so charmingly soothing it's difficult not to. It's layered and textured and achingly beautiful. And typically, I think it's much more about the music than the lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful.........., 1 Dec 2004
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Let`s be clear from the start, "Faith" is not that accessible for the first time listener.
I`ts very,very, far from being at all "Jolly!" & could happily be played from start to finish,at any given wake!
Having said all that,It is still my favourite Cure album.
It has a more Orchestral feel than anything else they have done & truly flows, as each song blends the next.
Robert Smith is at his poetic best here,linking seemingly unrelated sentences into songs & offering subject matters that only he really understands, but we all can somehow relate to.
His lyrics paint pictures that are mostly tragic, but always beautiful.
This album was & is, perfect,"End of the party music"
No individual hit singles here,
But a beautiful offering as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most beautiful and haunting albums of all time, 15 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Way back a few decades ago many of us aged hippies were spellbound by 'Seventeen Seconds' which launched The Cure into the hall of fame. I can never understand why 'Faith' (which followed 'Seventeen Seconds') was never raved about that much. Did anyone listen to the words, or submerge their souls into those rarely visited realms of ecstasy and oblivion?
A much quieter and more melancholy work than 'SS', it showed the spiritual depths of exceptional talent. The slow unveiling of 'All cats are grey', the plaintive reaching out of 'Other voices' and the relentless passion of 'Faith' serve to make us very aware of life's pains and sanctuaries.
To me, 'Faith' remains one of the most beautiful, haunting and spiritual messages of all time. And the Cure's untouchable masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Faith, 30 Dec 2008
By 
G. Young (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I cannot recommend Faith too highly; exitstential obliqueness, stark emotional terrains of bleak lyricism and poetic sketchings on the absurdity of the human condition. Quietly disturbing and infused with a subtle melancholy, the album evokes a cool still calm that is both soothing and contemplative.

Haunting, desolate soundscapes that evoke images of walking through a mist filled forest at midnight, of monolithic buildings and wispy, stick like figures, floating in a swirling fog. Faith is an album that will take you in and out of yourself.

Strange, beautiful, otherworldy music that stirs the imagination and awakens the soul.

Sublime and profound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A benchmark in bleakness, 11 Aug 2006
By 
M. Hunkin "stoogesfan29" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Described in a recent NME article as one of the most miserable albums of all time (in a good way), Faith makes for an extremely bleak and unsettling listening experience, something akin to slivers of razor sharp ice gently piercing the head and ears.

Less atmospherically playful as earlier material such as Boys Don't Cry, Faith saw The Cure further developing the blueprint for goth, and whilst the music retains much of the compressed rythms and brittle, serated guitar sound of Robert Smith and cos earlier efforts, the overall atmosphere is much icier, sombre and echoey, like trudging through an empty graveyard in a snowstorm.

Where earlier tracks like 10:15 Saturday Night and A Forest burst forwards with a kind of skipping, if subdued, relentlessness, tracks like Holy Hour, All Cats are Grey and the stately, doom-laden masterpiece, The Funeral Party, take the form of slow and ponderous dirges, whilst remaining musically and lyrically expressive enough not to become tuneless, sluggish trash. By keeping the disc focused at a short eight tracks the album never wears even the most cheerful listener down, even at its blackest and most despairing.

All in all Faith ranks amongst The Cure's finest albums, if not THE finest (Pornography is the one). For those who enjoyed the Cure's more famous singles and want to move on to something heavier, for any fans of the dark stuff, and for those sickened by the doleful whining masquerading as poetic melancholy served up by privileged fakers such as Thom Yorke and the rest, this is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it for the bass line, 18 Aug 2012
By 
Ian Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Remasters are sometimes a bit of a disappointment - typically the treble is boosted to increase "detail" but the result is hard to listen to. This remaster has focused on the bass and the level of detail is very involving and draws the listener in. If you know the album well I'm sure you will be delighted to hear it on such firm foundations, if you are new to The Cure, and have formed a taste for their quieter more reflective work then buy without hestitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars glad to be grey, 28 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
All credit to The Cure for making being glum into an art form. Of course no-one at the time called this 'Goth'. I doubt I even heard that term before 1983. But with The Cure's albums of 1980 and 1981, the popularity of Siouxsie and the Banshees, Bauhaus, Joy Division and, on a lighter note, The Cramps, there sure was something melancholic and morbid in the air in early 80s Britain. Hip kids of the time thought a good night out was reading Kafka novels by a full moon in the local cemetry (and that's a fog-bound Bolton Abbey pictured on the LP sleeve in case you were wondering). Had i-Pods been around "Faith" would have been the perfect soundtrack to some late night crypt kicking (actually they were; we called them Sony Walkmans).

"Faith" starts on cue with the toll of church bells and ends with the line "I went away alone with nothing left but faith" and in between you get, er 'party favourites' such as "The Drowning Man" and "The Funeral Party". Bring your own razor blades. There's a continuation here of the dysfunctional mood music of their previous album "Seventeen Seconds", only to these ears the tracks on "Faith" have more sophistication and contrasts and a nice atmospheric use of layers of synth. This time the music is more emotionally engaging. There's a haunting sadness to it.

Although "Faith" sees The Cure sleepwalking further into depression, it was the album that followed, "Pornography", that was the real dark one. There's no epic here like "A Forest" on "Seventeen Seconds" but to me "Faith" is a more satisfying listen; I can hear the progression. And yes the music is mournful but it doesn't actually drag you down. I was 17 when this came out and, along with a mountain of similar musical miserablism, it chimed perfectly with my self-pitying adolescent self. Now I'm older and with real reasons to be angst-ridden listening to "Faith" is almost comforting, like a soothing, slow motion aural soma. Odd how The Cure can be a real tonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 4 May 2010
By 
Tom (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
I listened to this over & over again as a teenager, but hadn't heard it for many years. I'd forgotten how utterly fantastic it is. Even the song titles are deeply melancholic. There are few albums that convey a mood as vividly as Faith conveys depression & despair. Second only to Joy Division in this respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Rape me like a child...', 29 Jun 2004
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
As downright, self-obsorbed, self-pitying, violent, bile-filled and bitter an album as you're likely to get. This is not a bad thing.
Totally and utterly uncompromising - The Cure's finest album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faith
Faith by The Cure (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews