Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're only human...
This year, I have mainly been listening to...The Human League! Being an old Eighties New Romantic, the League are a band that have always been high in my consciousness, but until this summer I had seen them as being very much in the past. On summer holiday in North Wales, I came across their 2003 double album release of 'The Very Best of the Human League' in a...
Published on 16 Nov 2005 by Glenn Austin

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's The Point?
I must agree in the main with Torch's review. It is difficult to see who this compilation is aimed at. Most really keen Human League fans will have all this stuff already (although not in digital form, granted), and for more fair-weather fans there doesn't seem to be much here that would be of interest. I agree that the "extended" version of Mirror Man is about as...
Published on 24 Aug 2006 by Jim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're only human..., 16 Nov 2005
By 
Glenn Austin "blip" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Remixes and Rarities (Audio CD)
This year, I have mainly been listening to...The Human League! Being an old Eighties New Romantic, the League are a band that have always been high in my consciousness, but until this summer I had seen them as being very much in the past. On summer holiday in North Wales, I came across their 2003 double album release of 'The Very Best of the Human League' in a chuck-out box, and it has been a constant on my car stereo ever since. This new collection of 'Original Remixes and Rarities' takes this retro feel a step deeper. It was great to hear again such classic b-sides as 'Hard Times', 'Non-Stop' and 'You Remind Me Of Gold' in particular, and to also have extended versions of some of their greatest singles on disc for the first time.
With the possible exception of the opening track, 'Being Boiled', a classic but a bit out of place to include here, this is a great compilation. There's always a long wait for new Human League albums, but this release will keep the many die-hard fans ticking over in the meantime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's even this up., 31 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. D McGrath (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Remixes and Rarities (Audio CD)
As a Human League die-hard since the age of 12 (and i'll be 40 in 2009)these reviews need balancing up. This release was intended for the die-hard fans ONLY - not the casual fan. Casuals fans won't want "b" sides or anything from an old master tape found in a cupboard from 20 years ago.

I for one was really pleased to see this released - great to finally have "You Remind Me Of Gold" on CD and "Total Panic" which I had on a 3" cd single that got worn out.

Yes...Virgin records COULD have done a better job of the track listing - a lot of stuff left off here (and why wasn't their back catalogue re-released in the UK with these tracks on anyway...like America got. Had to get them on import)

Great artwork though - nice play on the Secrets album - a fantastic Human League release. Having seen them in concert MANY times - The Human League will ALWAYS be my band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're only human, 19 May 2009
This review is from: Original Remixes and Rarities (Audio CD)
Although this collection of remixes from Sheffield's synth-pop pioneers is by no means indispensable, it is still a strong set of Human League favourites, most of which are not on any of their previous albums in these forms. 'Being Boiled' is the lighter and poppier original version (I prefer the edgier and more experimental single version); 'Non-Stop' is a bit Euro-Disco and for me the weakest song on the CD; and the full-length version of 'Hard Times' is as fresh as I remember it being, 27 years ago.
Unless you were an avid collector of 12" records in the 1980s (and I obviously wasn't avid enough!) then it's a timely reminder of how important Phil Oakey and co. were to pop music, and good to be able to have all these songs on one CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'An Odd But Great Beast', 31 May 2010
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Remixes and Rarities (Audio CD)
I don't think any group remind me more of the 1980's than The Human League. Whether it is because of groundbreaking singles like 'The Sound Of The Crowd' and 'Don't You Want Me', the classic 'Dare' album or the fact that so many of the artists I still love today were in the charts then I don't know. Whatever the reason, it has long been a sense of astonishment to me that the 12" versions of all those classic 80's hits have been unavailable on cd!

'Original Remixes & Rarities' goes some way to addressing that problem but it is rather an odd release in a number of ways. To being with we get the album version of 'Being Boiled' which apart from being rather out of step with the rest of the material here is neither a remix nor rare! Secondly, as nice as it is to finally see tracks like 'You Remind Me Of Gold', 'Non-Stop', 'Hard Times' and various other b sides here I would hardly call any of them rarities in the accepted meaning of the word. In fact, nothing on this cd would count as a 'rarity' in my book and in this respect for long-term fans this release is a bit of a disappointment.

The plus side to this album though is that it actually works very well as an album listen. A lot of the songs are either mainly instrumental or dub versions and as such this makes a pretty good companion to the 'Love And Dancing' album on your ipod. What is also good is that the compilers have stuck very much to the leagues classic tracks and have not say included the abysmal 'I Need Your Loving' 12" from 'Crash' (the worst record they ever made) after 'Human' when they could have done so. Instead we get perhaps the last truly great Human League single of the vinyl era 'Heart Like A Wheel' in its extended 12" form.

Another minor quibble about this release comes in the shape of the cd booklet. Sure we get an interesting essay from 'Becky Ross' about how influential the group are/were but almost all of the people buying this will know that already (hence their purchase!). Why couldn't we have had either some rare photos or something like a personal interview with band members thoughts on these old songs instead?

Summing up...

'Original Remixes and Rarities' is a great listen from start to finish and one sure to bring back happy memories (anyone reading this see them at Croydon supported by Drum Theatre?) but for its content of genuine rarities and as the chance to delight the groups longest serving admirers goes its a bit of trick missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. J. Cooper "big ears" (maidstone kent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Remixes and Rarities (Audio CD)
Another excellent buy the son is over the moon and the CD arrived within the time frame and in excellent condition so thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brought as a gift, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Remixes and Rarities (Audio CD)
Brought as a christmas gift, packaged well and arrived speedily. Hoping it is well received and works when played. Item looks perfectly fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great find!, 27 Aug 2013
By 
W. B. Kiehl (currently, Harrisburg, PA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Remixes and Rarities (Audio CD)
I was a big Human League fan (and I know I still haven't heard their entire discography), and happy to grab this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Remixes and Rarities (Audio CD)
As the title of the review suggests, this compilation was 'better than expected'. I have always been a fan of their 80s material, owned the albums but not many of the singles. This compilation provides an interesting overview of the 80s period but with a new slant. Rather than getting the usual run-through of the 7" singles A-sides, you get a mixture of extended versions and fairly rare B-sides. Personal highlights include: The Sound Of The Crowd (12"), Non-Stop, You Remind Me Of Gold and Total Panic.

If you can get the album at a decent price, well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tad Disappointing, 7 Dec 2005
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Original Remixes and Rarities (Audio CD)
I was pretty excited when I heard this compilation was coming out, but what did we get? A half-baked cash in from Virgin, but you wouldn't expect anything different would you.

The majority of these tracks have been available on some CD or other in the past, though it is nice to finally get stuff such as the extended "Sound of the Crowd" and "Non Stop" on CD. As for the rest...mmm...the "extended" version of "Mirror Man" is anything but and the rest, with exception to "You Remind Me...", "Life On Your Own" and "The Lebanon" are hardly rare.

Still, it get's four stars, because it's Phil, ain't it!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's The Point?, 24 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Original Remixes and Rarities (Audio CD)
I must agree in the main with Torch's review. It is difficult to see who this compilation is aimed at. Most really keen Human League fans will have all this stuff already (although not in digital form, granted), and for more fair-weather fans there doesn't seem to be much here that would be of interest. I agree that the "extended" version of Mirror Man is about as extended as an aerial in a car wash - I am a massive fan yet I've had to listen to both the "extended" and the original next to each other to tell the difference. However, it is worth getting just for the excellent "You Remind Me Of Gold" and "Non Stop" - possibly the silliest record ever made, with the exception of the ridiculous "Life On Your Own" remix that is also included here. The ending just sounds like them mucking about in the studio. If you are a massive fan and haven't got digital versions of this stuff then get it - otherwise I wouldn't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Remixes and Rarities
Original Remixes and Rarities by Human League (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews