Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of bowie - and more!
There are a lot of Bowie compilations on the market but this is probably the most comprehensive.There are three discs in the collection - 1969-74, 1974-79 and1980-87 and a total of 57 tracks. So there are plenty of examples of his extraordinary talent as a performer and songwriter.

Highlights of the first disc include "Space Oddity", "Changes" and "Life on...
Published on 26 Nov. 2009 by haunted

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Problem burning to mp3 CD
I burnt the tracks onto an mp3 CD to listen to in the car using itunes. Every track starts with a burst of white noise.
Published 8 months ago by S. Garforth


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of bowie - and more!, 26 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
There are a lot of Bowie compilations on the market but this is probably the most comprehensive.There are three discs in the collection - 1969-74, 1974-79 and1980-87 and a total of 57 tracks. So there are plenty of examples of his extraordinary talent as a performer and songwriter.

Highlights of the first disc include "Space Oddity", "Changes" and "Life on Mars" but there are also some lesser-known tracks like "Velvet Goldmine" and "Drive in Saturday".

The third disc includes the hits from the "Lets Dance" album as well as "Ashes to Ashes" "Under Pressure" and "Fashion". There are some welcome songs from the post "Lets Dance" period such as "Time will crawl", "This is not America" and "Day in Day out".

The second disc probably deserves a review of its own. It starts with familiar hits like "Sound and Vision", "Golden Years", "Fame". There are then some very interesting if less familiar songs. Cover versions such as "Wild is the Wind", "Knock on Wood". and second version of "John I'm only Dancing". There are also some songs co-written with Brian Eno such as "Heroes", "DJ" and "The Secret Life of Arabia".
On this disc alone we see how Bowie has used so many influences to produce a startling variety of top quality music

So if you have decided to get a compilation to see whether all the fuss about Bowie is justified (it is), I'd highly recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man In Black........Oh Wait Thats A Different Legend....., 6 July 2006
By 
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
After hearing about David Bowie for ages and not knowing any of his songs other than a select few, I wisely picked this up from one of my local shops for the bargain price of £5, as i didn't really want to explore the unknown for any higher price i was delighted to of found this so cheaply, however, the best bit was when I listened to the discs and oh-my-god this is unbelievable, the first two discs are simply flawless and the third disc only fires a couple of duds, all in all this is the best fiver I have ever spent (bar a particular mixed kebab), i really cant stress enough that if you have any interest in Bowie or are just widening your musical horizon, how much of a worthy purchase this is, since I have bought this I have so far bought four of his albums and am looking to get the whole collection, after this I would strongly advise you to get 'Hunky Dory' or 'Aladdin Sane' not because they are the best of his stuff, but they are easily accesible and massively enjoyable!Happy Bowie hunting people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MAN WHO........IS AN ABSOLUTE HERO!, 2 Feb. 2007
By 
S. Knight (Wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Looking through my vinyl collection recently i came across my old Bowie albums,bought some 20 odd years ago.

After dusting them down i played them again on the old record player and appreciated them a lot more than i did when i was a teenager.

What i found was a real mixture of songs ranging from the sublime to the ridiculous with the album 'Heroes' being the prime example.

I know,i thought,i will treat myself to a cd collection of all David Bowie's best songs and after much deliberation choosing between the numerous collections available,this 'Platinum' collection was the obvious choice,especialy at Amazon's bargain price.

All Bowie's best work is covered here on a 3 disc set ranging from his early work of 1969 to 1974 on disc1,74 to 79 on disc 2 and disc 3 covers 1980 to 87.

Too many great tracks to pick out personal favourites and this collection easily gets a 5 stars rating.....only because it wouldn't allow me to give 10!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A full and comprehensive collection 1969-1987, 14 Feb. 2007
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Bringing together three recent and quality compilations, this compilation covers the same period as 1993's The Singles Collection - from 1969 to 1987. However, this gives a much fuller picture (it's another third again as big), including more sinlges (i.e. 'Up the Hill Backwards', 'Loving the Alien', 'Underground' and 'Time Will Crawl') and also some album tracks (i.e. 'Beaking Glass' and 'The Secret Life of Arabia'). Best of all, it also includes some sinlges that never appeared on albums (i.e. 'John, I'm Only Dancing (Again)' and 'When the Wind Blows'), and desirable oddities such as Bowie's original version of 'All the Young Dudes', which he wrote for Mott the Hoople, and 'Drowned Girl', a strange track from the 1980s, produced by long-time collaborator Tony Visconti.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Collection, 13 April 2006
By 
H. Ziemke "Marion Ziemke" (Darmstadt, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
This CD collection contains David Bowie's most beloved songs and also some vergotten masterpieces. It's a good feeling to have this now alltogether.

David Bowie changed his style during his music career, but he always creates gorgeous stuff. He is the starman, the thin white duke and the melancholy Hero. And of course, an unique genius.

This CD collection is a great thing for fans, thos who wanna become one and peoples interested in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best at his best, 26 Mar. 2006
By 
M. Davies (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Bowie: The Platinum Collection is (rather obviously) a collection of David Bowie's greatest songs spanning almost 20 years of his fantastic and inspiring career: 1969-1987 (his better years) across 3 CDs, which is an overall impressive CV.
Disc one contains the majority of his better known hits such as the sublime "Space Oddity", "Rebel Rebel" and "Changes" as well as album tracks from 1969-74 (which, in terms of just 6 years, 20 excellent tracks is extremely impressive).
Disc two contains his greatest songs from 1974-79, which includes the cocaine-influenced "Station To Station" and the "Berlin trilogy" (Low, "Heroes" and Lodger). This disc has a particularly unique and more conceptual feel to it compared to the other 2, but it is perhaps the weakest of the three in my opinion, but still essential to the David Bowie collection-plus it contains the sheer breath-taking "Heroes" (It also includes the excellent "1984", an album track from the brilliant "Diamond Dogs" album).
Disc three is probably my personal favourite disc, it spans 1980-87, ultimately Bowie's weakest years for albums (aside from 1980's "Scary Monsters") but perhaps his strongest era for hit singles, such as "Let's Dance", "Modern Love" and "Ashes to Ashes". This CD also manages to put the minority of great album tracks and singles from perhaps the worst albums "Never Let Me Down" and "Tonight". The final track being "Labyrinth (OST)"'s "Underground" is a great finishing touch to a superb- and essential- collection of the greatest male solo artist's finest work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing value for money - even with no gnomes, 23 April 2007
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Having thoroughly enjoyed BBC's Life on Mars, I was finally moved to plug the hole in my music collection left by the absence of David Bowie.

Growing up in the 70s, there were many Bowie tracks that seemed to capture an important mood of the time. What is astonishing about this collection is that it manages to fit 58 tracks on three CDs for less than £10. OK not all tracks are ones I would have picked myself, but even the first CD covering the main 70s period has more than a dozen tracks I wanted. Add to this half a dozen from the second disc (including the fabulous Sound and Vision) and a few from the 80s disc (including Ashes to Ashes the sequel series to Life on Mars) and this collection is a bargain beyond bounds!

(OK - there's no laughing gnome)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but cynical., 13 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Most Bowie fans will already own the two best of's:- 1969/1974 and 1974/1979, so to shell out just to get the hold of the third disc - 1980/1987 does seem a bit of a rip off and a waste of money (xmas time again). Luckily, I believe that in a few months time the separate disc of 1980/1987 will be available, so all is well.
That said if you don't happen to own any of the separate cd's then this is almost god-dam perfect. The period 1969 - 1979 is very comprehensive and covers more than just the hits and a few album tracks, it covers unique gems such as:- 'Velvet Goldmine', 'All The Young Dudes', 'John I'm Only Dancing (Again)' and 'It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City' etc.
The Eighties started off so well for Bowie with albums:- 'Scary Monsters' and even 'Let's Dance', but after that Bowie got too commercial and very cheesy. Luckily this third disc has been so carefully put together that you wouldn't ever believe that he stuffed up. On this you not only have the three hits off 'Scary Monsters', but also 'Up The Hill Backwards', plus rarities like:- 'The Alabama Song', 'Drowned Girl', 'Cat People (single version)', 'Underground', 'When The Wind Blows', and the best cuts off the 'Alway's Lets Me Down' album (you wouldn't want to play all of it!). Luckily, they've ommited 'Dancing In The Street', which is, let's face it, cheesy, embarrassing pants.
Finally, I dare say that in a few years time, there will be a best of:- '1989/1997' and '1999/200?', - so bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ZIGGY STARDUST' = 'DAVID BOWIE', 19 Mar. 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
'david bowie' is one of the all-time greats, for me he probably inspired
the 'glam-rock' era, yet he was so much more than that, he wrote many clever
and distinctive numbers that charted for him down the years, curiously 'the
laughing gnome' his 1967 novelty release rarely appears on his many albums.
yet it did chart at number 4, 'space oddity' was the number that made us take
'notice' of this artist in '1969' yet he had to wait till '1972' before his
career really took off after the release of 'starman'
despite the quality of his music he only had five number 1's in all, probably
deserved more in truth.
on this 3-CD collection most of his hits are included along with many covers
of iconic songs such as 'knock on wood' and 'all the young dudes'
it's curious that his ''big hit'' 'dancing in the street' sung with 'mick jagger'
isn't included...
along with the earlier mentioned 'laughing gnome' of course.
not sure which of his numbers is my favourite, the choice of great songs is vast.
great album as is his 'best of' 2CD collection also available, this 3CD set is
a collection 'pop fans' should own in my opinion.........enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best compilations ever released, 19 April 2007
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
In short, this is the ultimate Bowie compilation. Spanning 20 odd years of his career, it's bursting at the seams with classics such as Starman, Alladin Sane, Heroes, and his later hits such as Ashes To Ashes. Failing to miss out any memorable tracks, and containing such rarities as Bowie's own versions of It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City, and All The Young Dudes, this is also highly collectable. All presented in a fabulous collectable case, and for £9.99, any truue Bowie fan would simply be mad to miss a collection like this

Top Tracks (My personal top 5)

Heroes

Changes

Starman

Sound And Vision

Alladin Sane

(an excruciating choice, there's so many classics here)

In a nutshell:

Quality: 10/10

Value: 10/10

OVERALL: 10/10

A timelless dedication to one of rock music's greatest artists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Platinum Collection
The Platinum Collection by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews