Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alternative kind of high school movie
Without giving too much away this has some great black humour and makes a change from your run of the mill high school movie. If you're a Winona Ryder fan especially, pick this up!
Published 18 months ago by Kirstie Rowlands

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for the costumes and gardens
This was fairly watchable but I can't see why other reviewers rate it so highly.

It didn't really work for me as either a comedy, thriller or social commentary.

Maybe watching it sandwiched between Election and Edward Scissorhands has coloured my judgment too much (I thought both films far superior to this one)

The story of how a series of...
Published on 30 April 2009 by FelixP


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alternative kind of high school movie, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heathers [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Without giving too much away this has some great black humour and makes a change from your run of the mill high school movie. If you're a Winona Ryder fan especially, pick this up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A VERY GOOD FILM, 6 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Heathers [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
I wish I had watched this film earlier. I've never been a huge fan of 80's teen movies and so passed this over as another of the 'Brat Pack' type films that were all the rage at that time but I was very wrong.

Beautifully filmed with vibrant colours and great acting especially from Christian Slater who reminded me of a young Jack Nicholson in this role this is a very dark comedy with a very serious message.

Yes it is a little 'over the top' sometimes (but I think that adds to the film) and it could now be seen as dated (especially looking at the fashions worn) this still carries the same message in 2011 as it did in the 80's.

Perhaps it resonated with me more because, although my dreary UK school in the late 70's and early 80's looked nothing like this, I was badly bullied and was a bit of an outsider.

The film does run out of steam a little at the end and doesn't quite deliver the finale you want but I was still suitably impressed. Definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all the geeks and losers (over eighteen), 3 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: Heathers [DVD] (DVD)
Heathers is a film about cliques and physcos and perfects the style of extreme teen film. The story begins by watching how the evil clique of 3 girls all called Heather control and hurt the population of Westerburg High.
Veronica Sawer is a special member of this group of girls and is hating every second. But a new guy who goes by the name of JD is willing and ready to make Veronica free of this clique.
He has a way with words, women and guns.And uses his very unique talents to rid not only Veronica but the world of the warth of the Heathers.
The film uses lots of levels to potray high school in a way that just blows you away. It's very very!!!
Heathers has an impressive tone tha goes from bright to dark in seconds and has a funny and vibrant script that uses dark and sick ideas to create a masterpiece.
A must-see film that will knock you out in more was than one no matter how many times you watch it!!!! Say greetings and salutations to the best teen film in the history of cinema!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 2 Mar 2005
This review is from: Heathers [DVD] (DVD)
After hearing rave reviews about this film I decided to get myself a copy.Its always been mentioned in the list of great 80's teen movies so being a fan of those films I decided to see what all the fuss was about.This is definitely one of the best of the genre and blows all the rest away (literally!).After watching it I was completely hooked because everything in it is brilliant from the acting to the dark humour.No other film that I have seen has dealt with such controversial yet real issues (teen suicide) but yet manage to stay so damn funny and not cross the line into bad taste.What else can I say about this film its edgy,funny,satirical, great to watch and never looses interest.However not for everyone as you need to have a slightly twisted and dark sense of humour to really understand it.Great 80's movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gets my vote for best high school flick ever!, 24 May 2014
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heathers [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
I recently saw the wildly inferior Mean Girls, which owes everything to Heathers. I grew up on all those John Hughes films from the 80's and although I still love some of them, this much darker teen high school comedy has stood the test of time well. I also recommend Election for those who enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Have you heard? Schools been cancelled today coz Kurt and Ram killed themselves in a repressed, homosexual suicide pact...", 21 May 2014
This review is from: Heathers [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful, genuinely brilliant black comedy with career best performances from a never been better Winona Ryder and Christian Slater sparking off of each other like the Fourth of July / bonfire night. Also great here is Shannen Doherty in a fabulously bitchy role. Granted this film is not for everyone but if you want to appreciate a good film - watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heathers [DVD] (DVD)
The case was in better condition than I expected when I read "water damaged" it just looked a little aged and the DVD played perfectly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket, 18 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Heathers [DVD] (DVD)
Although product was pre-owned,it was in very good condition and at a great price.
Delivery very quick.Good seller will use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 15 July 2010
This review is from: Heathers [DVD] (DVD)
2 words for you.... christian slater!
he is beautiful in it!
the film is just amazing
if you havent seen this film then your life is unfufilled!!!!
:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ferris Buellers evil twin, 23 Nov 2014
By 
Top Tec (Leicester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heathers (DVD)
Great stuff, and a real classic. Black comedy with a great caste clearly enjoying themselves. Sharply scripted and lots of twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heathers [DVD]
Heathers [DVD] by Michael Lehmann (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: £4.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews