Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Sincerely yours, the Breakfast Club'
The Breakfast Club is one of the most touching films you will ever see. The only thing I find surprising is that more people don't seem to go crazy for it; after all, it captures perfectly that strange, confused person we all once used to be - a teenager.

Five students with nothing in common have to spend an entire Saturday in detention and write an essay on...
Published on 28 Feb 2007 by Mr. A. E. Hall

versus
22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this Region 2 version
I was so excited to see that my second favourite film of all time was finally getting a decent DVD treatment, yet there were no specs for the Region 2. All I could find was the Region 1 release which boasted of commentary with Judd Nelson and Anthony Michael Hall. Amazing right?
Sadly due to some nonsense or other the commentary tracks are not on the Region 2...
Published on 24 Sep 2008 by John Bender


‹ Previous | 114 15 1619 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant DVD, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Breakfast Club [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This is a brilliant DVD. I'm so glad I got it and watched, a really wonderful film that everyone will enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Breakfast Club [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Came in good time and look like a really good make. I love the film and am really happy to have it on dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breakfast club, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sent quickly ordered it for a birthday and it has come well in the time so very happy with this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The breakfast Club, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Breakfast Club [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I bought the item because my daughter wanted it and she is very happy with the product. She loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For My Wife, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Breakfast Club [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I had been moaned at for months telling me that i need to watch this, glad i did, pretty good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The archetypal teen movie of the 1980s, 21 Jan 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Breakfast Club is probably the archetypal movie of the 1980s, at least that of the youth in America. It is an indelible part of cultural history and remains as fresh and brash as ever today. While teenagers can certainly not be broken down into five distinct types, the five students forced to spend their Saturday at school in detention do a pretty good job of covering the basics. You have Claire, the popular prom queen type, played by the wonderful Molly Ringwald, the jock (Emilio Estevez), the brain (Anthony Michael Hall), the weirdo (Alley Sheedy), and the disrespectful criminal (Judd Nelson)--five students who are complete strangers to each other and totally different personalities. Terrorizing and threatening them is an older teacher intent on enforcing discipline among them. The criminal is determined to foment an insurrection, and eventually the strict supervision of the students breaks down. At first, the students yell at and fight with one another and are especially antagonistic toward the juvenile delinquent among them. As the day progresses, the students begin to tell their own stories--who they are, why they are in detention, etc. Their conversations weave back and forth between insults and incriminations and words of sympathy and concern. They eventually start roaming the school halls, leading to the classic scenes of them skidding across the halls in a mad flight to return to the library before the teacher returns to check on them. Somehow, the five eventually do open up to each other, confessing secrets, forming friendships, and realizing that the problems they considered their own are shared to some degree with each other.
This is a great movie and one that appealed directly to young people--everyone can understand problems with overbearing or neglectful parents, grades, peer pressure, drugs, etc. I must say that I sometimes felt the changes between hateful exchanges and sympathetic dialogue came a little abruptly, though; I for one never saw any redeeming quality in Judd Nelson's character. I also couldn't believe some of the destruction that was done to school property over the course of the day. Anthony Michael Hall was brilliant in his role and provided some very funny moments, but I as a former brain did not see much of myself in him. The real point of the film, though, is that teenagers all have problems they must deal with, that the folks not in your little group or clique are just as human as you are and worthy of respect, and that adults seemingly just cannot understand their kids for the most part, and that very fact only heightens the need for teenagers to depend on one another.
I should also mention the music. "Don't You Forget About Me" by Simple Minds was perhaps the most-played song of the entire decade, and it is rightly associated forever with this movie. Also, whenever you hear the famous whistling tune from this movie (and we've all heard it countless times since 1985, a fact which by itself demonstrates the much-deserved popularity of this movie over the years), you will not forget about The Breakfast Club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great cult 80s movie in spite of bad language, 14 July 2014
This review is from: The Breakfast Club [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Arrived on time, great cult 80s movie in spite of bad language :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Breakfast Club [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Love this film ..... Great price and fast delivery x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Breakfast Club, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Breakfast Club [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Great classic film, a must watch for all teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent condition and very good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1619 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Breakfast Club [DVD] [1985]
The Breakfast Club [DVD] [1985] by John Hughes (DVD - 2005)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews